We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very dissapointed ... great location..not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Ranked #17 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very dissapointed ... great location..not worth the money”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

First the positive, location, location, location! felt very safe.
everything is within walking distance, the railyard district, Museums, Restaurants, Churches, etc.
there is water in the lobby all day, with lemon and with oranges, Business office opened 24 hours with 2 computers.

We arrived on Friday during an electrical storm, having just driven through the torrential rain happy to finally be at my vacation destination. I went in to check in and informed due to power outage I would be taken to Buffalo Thunder Casino, actually what I was told was "Leave NOW" .There was mass confusion, no back up power , guests were being sent out of hotel , only to be met by another electrical storm. I asked if we could stay in lobby till storm blew over and was told that it was against the law, too dangerous, codes, blah, blah, blah.
Out in storm in front of hotel met two employees, one employee was sneaking a cigarette the other was giving directions to the mall around the corner that did have electricity.
Once again I was told there was a van that would take me to Buffalo Thunder Casino.

I made my reservation for this hotel in February, due to its location and based on reviews from Trip advisor. I was so dishearten upon arrival. I should have called another hotel and walked.
But I am a Hilton Honors member, I booked my entire vacation with Hilton Brand, I so wanted this to be my Dream Vacation.

Around 8 we called the hotel and power had been restored. Again I went to check in and was met by several employees at the desk. I was not greeted as a Hilton Honors member, I was given room 127, wait I said, I emailed the manager and specifically asked to be on upper floor. there are only 3 floors, (see other reviews about the bottom floor) Carlos said oh no you don't want to be on 3rd floor, I want to put you on 2nd floor, handed me only the keys and directed us to elevator, after realizing we were already on the correct floor exited the elevator and proceeded to our room.

The room was very clean, the beds were adequate not as comfortable as the Hampton Inns we stayed prior to Hilton, the sheets were nice but the duvet comforter was heavy duty poly and not very comfortable. They do not use fitted sheets on the bottom so constantly waking up in wad of sheets. The bed consists of 1 flat sheet at bottom that does not cover the end of mattress, yuck! 1 flat sheet on top and duvet cover. There was a blanket in the closet, which by the way is in the bathroom.

The bathroom was large and well lit, very clean. The water pressure was not very good nor was there enough hot water. It was a holiday weekend so could be too many guests ?

The Hotel runs the heater all day, it has the smell of burnt air, I had to keep the air on 64 to keep the room cool, and had to adjust it at night down to 60 to sleep but it was still very stagnant.

The outside noise was minimal, but hallway corridors very noisy, doors had to be slammed to shut and the toilets were loud! yes horribly loud. We were constantly awakened by neighbors trying to shut the doors and late night toilet flushes. The refrigerator in the room makes a whirring noise and had to be turned off to sleep.

If you want coffee in the morning you need to get up between 4:30 to 6:30, I wasn't told this when I arrived, the free coffee is not very hot but was told they provide for the Europeans guests because of time difference. The Coffee shop opens at 6:00 if you want to purchase Starbucks.
there was a problem with door keys not working and internet connections as well.

We stayed 5 nights and throughout our stay observed many complications being handled by various employees, although very quick with apologies , the employees are accommodating but not overly friendly.

To Sum up the stay, Great location, safe and very clean rooms, but NOISY, HOT and way too expensive. Stay at a quaint B-n-B , or Eldorado next door, where the employees are very friendly and if you need to rent a car while you are in Santa Fe see James at the El Dorado, Hertz desk.

Room Tip: you definitely want to stay on 3rd floor if you choose to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. we would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced. This is not the level of service that we deliver to our guests.We apologize we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is uncharacteristic of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    749
    504
    216
    97
    57
See reviews for
330
657
104
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Ordered surprise strawberries and champagne to be in the room when we arrived or shortly after and it was delivered late in the evening. The promise maker is the not the promise keeper. Had to ask three times for a delivery. Hallways very loud and A/C was sluggish and hot tub was not filled.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate all of your feedback and comments and have shared them with our hotel staff, as this allows us to improve our services for you, our loyal guest. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

As Hilton Honors members, we were disappointed to be assigned a subterranean room after an eight-hour drive. While the front desk did eventually accommodate us with a new room facing directly into the waterless jacuzzi, the property was a disappointment. The hotel is very lackluster and uninviting. There were several times when we walked by an unmanned front desk. And when there was staff in attendance, we could overhear them dealing with guest complaints.

The facilities were not very well kept. The hallway carpeting was visibly dirty, even in the dimly lit corridors. Our bathroom was not very clean and showed evidence that guests who preceded us had very long hair, which we had time to notice while waiting for the hot water to heat up. After letting the water run for several minutes, we placed a call to the front desk and were told that the boiler in our wing was broken and that we needed to wait for the boiler from the other wing to send hot water to our section of the hotel. This was an issue throughout our four day stay, but I guess the hefty room rate doesn't entitle guests to the basics nor does it entitle you to proper notice about such an issue. We literally had to wait 20 minutes for the water to heat up. One of the most peculiar features of the room was the mirror, which was like something out of a fun house that distorted our features.

Location is just about the only thing this property has going for it.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Courtney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and Would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced. This is not the level of service that we strive to provide our guests. Our Executive Team is reviewing your comments to ensure they are used to improve our guest's experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomfield, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A great hotel at a relatively modest cost. We loved our beautiful room and enjoyed great service from a friendly staff. Perfect location in downtown Santa Fe, close to everything. We are experienced travelers and we wholeheartedly recommend this hotel, as it vastly exceeded our every expectation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
4 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We hope to see you soon at the Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a really terrific place. Spacious room, quick room service, large bathroom with great amenities. Empty fridge for us to fill with local stuff for snacking. Very helpful staff. A quick walk to historic Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear of the property are close to the parking lot if you have a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylSAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you so much for your comments; we truly appreciate all of your feedback. I am pleased that you were able to walk to your destinations. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great location near the Plaza (5 min walk). 10-15min to the start of Canyon road. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. If you go to the Opera this summer you can use the shuttle bus from the Eldorado hotel across the street. Being Hilton gold, we got an upgrade which was nice. Many of the room were upgraded last year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for all of your comment. We appreciate all of your feedback and have shared it with our hotel staff.
We look forward to hosting you again soon at the Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Lakes, Arizona, United States
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My sister and I spent the Memorial weekend at this hotel. Check-in was quick and efficient as was check-out. The front desk staff was both courteous and helpful. The hotel is clean; rooms a nice size with comfortable bedding. We had a room overlooking the pool, which was very nice. It was cool and rainy while we were there so there wasn't much activity going on around the pool.
We found it very convenient to walk to every destination from the hotel. It's only a few minutes walk from the plaza where you will find lots happening all day and night.
We didn't eat here as there are so many options in town that we wanted to try. Disappointed that the restaurant/coffee shop serves Starbuck's coffee as I am not a fan.
Most enjoyable stay, overall.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcella-Vega, Front Office Manager at Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed the service provided by the hotel and that you were able to walk to your destinations. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,248 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,303 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,610 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza

Property: Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Address: 100 Sandoval St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 2 blocks from the famous Historic Plaza, the Hilton is one of the best hotels in downtown Santa Fe. Not many hotels near Santa Fe, NM can compete with our excellent service and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing