We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maintenance issues were annoying”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lodge at Santa Fe
Ranked #36 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Plano, Texas
1 review
“Maintenance issues were annoying”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

My husband, 2 kids and I stayed her for 2 nights as part of our vacation to NM and CO. It was easy to find off of St. Francis and it faces a National Veterans Cemetery. We arrived around 7:30 p.m. after a long drive from Carlsbad Caverns. We were hungry and a bit tired and were hoping to quickly check in, unpack the car, and get to the restaurant at which we had dinner reservations. The check in at the desk WAS quick and the staff friendly. We were given a room at the back of the property on the 2nd floor with a window that faced the pool area and the mountains beyond. First problem was that there was no elevator we could find to get upstairs, annoying, but we went ahead and lugged up all our things. We never saw an elevator the whole stay and no, we never did ask about one because once we got our luggage upstairs, the stairs were not an issue. We got into the room which was a bit stuffy, but looked clean and had the view I mentioned above...problem was the window covering was broken and we could not keep the covering up to look out... might as well not even have a window. We tried to get it to work, but it would not stay up. We called the desk and reported the problem. They were nice and quickly assigned us another room next door, same view. They brought up the new room key cards for the new room, but they didn't work, so the staff member left to get a different set which also did not work. The staff member decided the key card reader was broken and said we would need to move to another room. He said we could have a room across the hall, but husband did not like the view of the parking lot and requested another room with a better view. We ended up in a room a few doors down from the first two with a view of the pool and mountains. This room was hot and stuffy upon entering, so we turned on the AC and set it to cool/continuous to get the room cooled off. It stayed on for 1 minute and shut off. We tried resetting it and it came on again, but shut off again after 1 min. Still the room was hot, so we called the desk and reported the problem. A maintenance guy came very quickly and we explained the problem to him. Turns out the AC was "secretly" (on the inside where we did not have access to) set to shut off after 1 minute (according the the guy). The guy switched it so we could use the continuous OR automatic option and he did not say anything when my husband said the AC should always be set that way because otherwise it seems like the hotel doesn't want their guests to use the AC very much. So, we get that settled and the room cools off just fine. The room is decorated nicely in a southwestern/native American theme. It was comfortable and visibly clean everywhere except the tub which did have some hairs in it (gross). I rinsed the hairs down the drain and sprayed the tub with the Lysol I carry on trips. We only took showers, no baths. The linens all looked clean except for one pool towel we got which had yellow stains all over it. The room was comfy and roomy enough for the 4 of us. The hallways looked dated and in need of sprucing up... paint and new carpet are needed. Outside was nice as was the pool area. The hotel was very convenient to all the restaurants and attractions we wanted to go to... nothing was further than a 10 minute drive. Overall, we were disappointed in the broken window covering, broken key card reader and the AC issue because they all made for a long time getting settled in our final room. Also, this was the first hotel I've been to that I saw hairs in the tub. The service of the staff was friendly and they were quick to respond to the problems we encountered, but I wouldn't choose to stay here again unless I knew they were more on top of maintenance and housekeeping.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool or National Cemetery view and inquire about elevator access for upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texasbased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LSF_AM, Manager at The Lodge at Santa Fe, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
I’m sorry your experience in our hotel was so unsatisfactory. The elevator is located just across from the front desk and I am so sorry our desk staff did not direct you to it initially.

Our Maintenance staff has been directed to check the A/C units in each room to insure that they are all set correctly and are functioning properly.

I am also working with our Housekeeping staff to insure that the rooms meet the highest standard of cleanliness.

Should you decide to stay with us again, I can assure you that your experience will be more satisfactory.


Lily Wilson
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    257
    190
    108
    82
See reviews for
187
324
51
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

The Lodge At Santa Fe is a well-maintained , full service hotel conveniently located about a mile from the city center. It has all the amenities one would expect from a hotel of this type. The only problem we encountered was that the pool was closed due to some water clarity problems. We understand that things of this nature happen every so often but we also feel that the hotel management should offer its customers some type of compensation (bar or breakfast voucher,etc.) because many people choose a hotel with swimming as a criteria for booking there. Other than that, The Lodge offers free shuttle to town, free parking, clean rooms with a southwest feel and a friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dodger16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We needed a dog friendly / kid friendly hotel near downtown at a reasonable price. We paid $100 per night via hotel.com. The staff is slow with the exception of Lilly who was responsive, took initiative and was very kid friendly. The only real negative was the pool which was closed and emptied due to algae.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RADK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

When I booked this hotel, the pictures on their website convinced me to book it. When I arrived, the room and lobby resembled a motel converted into a hotel. The rooms had the smallest bathroom I have ever seen in a hotel. Some poor quality paint and cheap furniture give the hotel a less than pleasing stay.
The services provided at the hotel are terrible! Housekeeping services took way too long to clean and make the room. It took more than 8 hours for them to make the room up.
If you have another option to stay at please do so. Do not stay here

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MasCabron23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Fe hotels

Wills Point, TX
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Thank you for making our stay so great.
I would recommend this place to anyone holding a small or large event, they went beyond normal to make our event a success.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be great. The suites give more room if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WOKRCARS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottonwood, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

We recently stayed here for one night while traveling through the area on vacation. We chose it because it was the right price on priceline ($50 a night). For that rate it was certainly a good value for the money, no doubt. If you are looking to stay in a nice resort style hotel for multiple nights as a destination, I would not recommend it. It is definitely showing some age, and the maintenance is behind. As others have reviewed internet reception is poor, and parking is odd at night (with strange characters that seem to hang out there-fortunately they didn't do anything to our car). We didn't go to the restaraunt, but did get appetizers ordered poolside and they were expensive, but not over the top, and were very tasty. The staff was helpful while we were there, no issues there. Just seemed a bit dated and run down, would not be my choice as a destination hotel, but fine for passing through, or business.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jm222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

We got a pretty good deal - BOGO so that 4 nights in a "Kiva Suite" cost us about $650; just a little over $150 per night. This might sound like a lot, but usually this will get you a pretty small room in this area. Our rental was HUGE and consisted of one HUGE room (about 30' x 20') with a King Bed on one side, and a living area on the other (a nice leather sofa, chair ottoman combo + small table + TV amoire. Off to one side of the living area was a full dining table, and small bar area with sink, microwave, and mini-frig. The main bathroom consisted of a jacuzi whirlpool bath tub (that actually worked quite well), a seperate shower stall (kind of cheap and flimsy), and a toilet. Outside the bathroom were two seperate dressing areas, each with their own sink.

Our understanding is that the Lodge has several rooming options, everything from top-of-the-line timeshare-like rentals (with full kitchens), to individual hotel rooms. The Kiva room was about 1-step down from the full-kitchen suites.

Pros include: 1) good deal for the money (again, we got a good deal), 2) biggest rooms in Santa Fe (actually, the biggest room I've ever stayed in), 3) very nice pool and whirlpool area (nice loungers, chairs, umbrella shades, pool-side bathrooms, pool-side menu and drinks), 4) excellent bar and lounge area, 5) friendly and efficient staff (we didn't have any of the problems some other guests reported earlier this year), 6) plenty of parking, 7)good air conditioning, 8) onsite restaurant (didn't partake this time,..again, just too busy).

Cons: 1) not really within walking distance of the plaza unless you're into jogging about 1.5 miles (there is a shuttle that runs from about 9AM till 9PM at night, but you have to phone ahead to "reserve" it), 2) rooms can be kind of dark (seems to be a motif-thing,..i.e., a lodge is supposed to be dark, it keeps it cooler, etc.), 3) some indication of maintenance-related issues (the bed we had was one of those Sleep Number Beds and the controls didn't seem to be completely working well so that our bed was just a wee-bit lumpy); also the dryer wasn't working.), 4) the exercise room isn't worth much though the "Santa Fe spa" is truly just next door which is entirely state-of-the-art. Supposedly, you get a discount there, we didn't have time to try it out, but the parking lot seemed to be always full which was a good sign.


One other thing. The flamenco performances in the John Siddi theater (on site) are extremely excellent. Best flamenco we've ever seen. These are real world-class performers and the show is a must see, even if you're not into flamenco. You will be impressed.

My final recommendation is that if you can get a good deal, then this is a pretty good stay. Try to get a room where there are windows either facing east or west so you get some light either in the morning or evening respectively. Try to get a room with a balcony, so that you can go outside and get light also. Don't book anything in Santa Fe that doesn't have a pool. You will really enjoy cooling off in it, especially inthe summer. I will stay here again, if I can swing the good price. for $150 a night, you can't beat it!

Room Tip: Try for a room with a balcony on the 2nd levels as this will give a better view than just the parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheZipMeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Inn At Santa Fe
#31 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
El Rey Inn
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
#14 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Comfort Suites
#16 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Downtown
Garrett's Desert Inn
Garrett's Desert Inn
#43 of 60 in Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Santa Fe

Property: The Lodge at Santa Fe
Address: 750 N Saint Francis Dr, Santa Fe, NM 87501-5100 (Formerly Radisson Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Santa Fe is fully decorated to celebrate the wonder and awe of the Southwest’s most notable city. Located just five minutes to the Santa Fe plaza and historic attractions, the Lodge at Santa Fe is a unique hotel with cultural style. Gardunos restaurant onsite serves fresh 'New Mexican' cuisine, and our guests enjoy hand crafted furniture and breathtaking architecture. Beautiful stone flooring, Native American weavings patterns and weavings, and spacious suites with Kiva fireplaces are all part of the experience. The Lodge at Santa Fe has a complimentary shuttle to the historic Santa Fe plaza, plus free WiFi and parking. Experience the magic of Santa Fe when you book your visit at The Lodge at Santa Fe. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodge at Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe
Lodge Santa Fe
The Lodge At Santa Fe New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing