We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Marcy Hotel Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fort Marcy Hotel Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

I wouldn't stay at any of the hotels in downtown Santa Fe near the Plaza because of the noise of loud mufflers until 2 am and garbage trucks at 5 am. Ft. Marcy is my favorite place because it is quiet! Plus why pay for a standard hotel room when you can get a complete vacation home (living & dining room) for the same price and beautiful walking trails?

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryfromNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    180
    62
    32
    23
See reviews for
220
194
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maple, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We travelled to Santa Fe for 10 nights and stayed at Fort Marcy Hotel Suites. It was a very clean, nice kitchen facilities as we cooked each day. The staff were very helpful and was close to downtown.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fern G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland, or
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This property claims they have wifi internet service, but don't come here if you need it to be reliable. Sometimes you can log in to one of the 12 sites they have and it will work fine for a while. Then, unpredictably, you will lose service altogether and when you check your browser, it will be on a different building site,without connectivity. I wonder whether this review will even get posted since I am at the hotel now and have a string of emails in my Outbox because the connection to the server is lost.

You can try calling the front desk like i did, but they have you call the internet provider yourself to discuss the problem (really??). The internet provider tries to help, but concludes with 'just keep trying one of the 12 sites until you find one that works.' Like I said, if you need an internet connection, don't rely on this property.

On the positive side, the location is close to the plaza and an easy walk downhill to get there. But if it is evening or you aren't fit, the walk back is treacherous (no sidewalks) and uphill (can be a chore at this elevation if you aren't prepared for it).

I originally booked a one bedroom unit with a sleeper sofa. However, the sleeper sofa was broken (difficult to undo, undercarriage bars disconnected, impossible to sleep on lengthwise due to bars sticking up through mattress, and impossible to get put back together again--the kind of nightmare sleeper sofa from the 60s). The management was very responsive to my complaint about the sofa and did a generous upgrade to a 2 bedroom unit instead.

If you are looking for a condo unit (especially good if you want to cook at home at all), this is a good place to stay, but buyer beware and don't believe a word about the internet.

Room Tip: There are a lot of steps to get to most rooms. If you are at all challenged with steps or need to ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ckat50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortMarcyHotelSuites, General Manager at Fort Marcy Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We do sincerely apologize about the internet service issue you had while a guest here at Fort Marcy. We are in the process of selecting a new service that is in-line with the growing needs of travelers today. I know this does not help with your last visit, but because of your feedback to us we were able to get the approval to move forward.

Luis Bayardo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Having the benefit of time share ownership and additional travel programs, I was able to secure this 2 bedroom condo for $321.00 for the week. Great price but we were a little taken back when we registered and was sent on a search for our unit. The resort is built on the hillside so the condos are tiered along the slope. It gives you a feeling of having open space yet the condos were confined to a smaller footprint than it seemed. The downside was the fact that 2 older women (me and my sister, both suffer from severe RA) had a very difficult time carrying luggage, groceries, etc to and from our unit. Our unit was on the third lower tier from the parking lot and while I have a handicap sticker for my car, it didn't help getting to and from the condo and the numerous steps that needed to be taken.

The unit itself was roomy and well furnished. I loved the Southwest rugs in our unit. The fireplace added a warm touch and we were happy to spend the money on the firewood and starter. They deliver to our condo & offered to set it up for us. We wouldn't have wanted to haul the wood ourselves.

We were well positioned to take short trips to local sights, restaurants and shopping areas. I would return to Ft Marcy again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Steep hillside and many steps to condo, office and pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cdaviso2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed in Santa fe for one night and fort Marcy’s suits was our home for the night. The suits are condo units owned by different owners but managed through a centralized operation that rents them out on nightly basis. My understating was that every unit looks a little different, so don’t expect your unit to look like what you see in the photos on booking.com or other websites. Ours was spacious, full kitchen, large bed and nice living room. There is a strong wood smell all over the unit, which is probably from all the wood work in the floor and walls and ceiling. The unit itself was clean and comfortable. Not much of a view since we were almost in the basement and our window was facing a wall. The front office staff is nice but not personable. There was a notebook in the room in which other guests have written about their experiences. That was nice to read and my understanding was that over the winter season the hotel is a better option for families visiting for skiing. The location is a little too far from the center for walking since it will be a steep uphill climb, but with car it take 5 minutes to get to the plaza. Also there was an information booklet, which we found very helpful. I liked the hotel, but maybe on my next visit I’ll choose a place closer to the plaza.

Room Tip: This is best suited for families with kids, not much for a romantic vacation. Try to get a room on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortMarcyHotelSuites, General Manager at Fort Marcy Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
“Best for families with children”. There is no question we are a great option and value when it comes to traveling as a group or with the family. We also find that couples traveling together love to have a place they can hang out (living room) but still have the privacy of their own room. As you mentioned the plaza is 4 blocks from the property and just down the hill, but it can be a bit taxing when you consider the elevation in Santa Fe is over 7000 ft. Also parking in the plaza area is often difficult to find and can be a cumbersome. This is why we offer a daily, on demand, shuttle service to and from various locations around the downtown area. We hope you come back soon to visit Santa Fe and northern New Mexico.

Luis Bayardo

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed in a two bedroom unit. Very nice and spacious and tastefully decorated in New Mexico style which I had hoped it would be. This is a sizeable resort but very nice and quiet. Room was clean and well presented. Our's included a fireplace but you had to purchase firewood from reception so we didn't bother using the fireplace. Rooms only get serviced if you stay a week so if you need more supplies you need to request these from reception. Unfortunately office hours are very restricted (8am-7pm) meaning the pool, laundry, shuttle can only be used during this period. Wifi only seemed to work during office hours also as I could NEVER connect in the evenings which was very frustrating. The walk into town would take approx. 20mins.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzeeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortMarcyHotelSuites, General Manager at Fort Marcy Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay with us. I am happy to report we are in the process of upgrading the internet to provide better and faster service. We hope you visit us again soon so you can take advantage of the upgrades to our system.

Luis Bayardo,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rapid city
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Clean. Exceptional. The location is ~3 blocks from Santa Fe square. It may be a challenge to some as it is downhill going to the square and (consequently) uphill coming back! Worked off those margueritas and tamales! Fort Marcy is an apartment, a home away from home. It has a pool and hot tub in the main building. Be aware, it all closes when the main desk closes-so, check their hours. The laundromat is open during desk hours, too.
Fort Marcy is THE place to be. I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Marcy Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Marcy Hotel Suites

Property: Fort Marcy Hotel Suites
Address: 321 Kearney Road, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort Marcy Hotel Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):

Perched atop a hill near the site of the original Fort Marcy from which the property took its name, the modern Fort Marcy provides guests with panoramic views of Santa Fe, the outlying deserts, and the distant Sangre de Cristo Mountains.

Fort Marcy's 1-, 2-, and 3-bedroom suites are spread throughout twelve different adobe buildings which sit on nine acres of natural and landscaped desert grounds. Stroll through meandering paths among shade trees, blooming cactus, and manicured gardens. Or return to your suite's fully furnished kitchen, separate living area, authentic kiva fireplace, or private balcony to enjoy the desert air or a famous Southwest sunset.

Of course, Santa Fe's historic downtown lies just blocks away - home to the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum, the Cathedral Basilica of St. Francis of Assisi, the Mercado, Galleria, and Sena Plazas, the San Miguel Mission, and an endless number of shopping, dining, and entertainment options. For the Santa Fe getaway that's the ideal blend of luxury, convenience, and beauty, Fort Marcy may just be vacation perfection.

... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Fort Marcy Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Marcy Hotel Santa Fe
Fort Marcy Santa Fe
Fort Marcy Hotel Suites Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing