We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up All Night!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Ranked #22 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Up All Night!”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We recently spent three nights at this property and would have exited after the first night if we had not pre-paid for our entire stay. The issue was an extremely loud and annoying furnace blower in our room. We were informed by their engineer that this issue was the same in all of their rooms and we would not benefit from a room change. Our only solution was to put the unit in the "on" position and then try get used to the "roar" so as to sleep. I have experienced quieter window units at "Motel 6"!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shuber, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am incredibly sorry for the HVAC noise you experienced while staying at the Inn and Spa at Loretto. I agree these mechanical sounds must have been disturbing and aggravating. Admittedly, some rooms have heating units that are louder than others. We are investing more than $300,000 dollars over the next two years to fix this problem. I hope to convince you to return and experience the service and accommodations we’re known for.

Please feel free to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Stefan Huber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    874
    507
    226
    128
    52
See reviews for
359
725
79
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This spot is a very well-run resort with very attentive and friendly staff. The restaurant is superb - we ate breakfast and dinner at the "Luminaria." Also, the lounge area with a gorgeous fireplace is very pleasant - the drinks and food there are also quite good. Further, the Spa is a wonderful treat - the Cafe Ole Scrub and the Hot Stone Massage were delightful.

The only comments I have that may take you back are the absence of any hooks for towels, coats, etc., the lack of exhaust fans in the somewhat small bathrooms and the lack of amenities in the room itself. But, if one is exploring Santa Fe for most of the day, these items are small inconveniences. Highly recommend this place for your stop in Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Room with the patio looking out onto the mountains is breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Every aspect of this hotel experience was top notch. The room was authentic New Mexico style, warm and cozy. Plenty of room, lots of convenient elevators.
The Living Room in the lobby was warm and hospitable,
Breakfast was true local flavors with excellent service.
Great view, and certainly perfectly located within easy walking distance to the best restaurants and shopping in Santa Fe. From the moment Julie welcomed us at the front desk until the valet closed the car door as we left, it was impeccable service. Reccomend a massage with Rachel if you enjoy a great massage. I tried the Sacred Stone 90 minute and it was fantastic. Valet staff had the car in a few minutes at the most. Always courteous

Room Tip: You have an optional upgrade rate if they have it available, and I would suggest it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MRbluegill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shuber, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Thank you for recognizing our Inn as being “top notch”. We look forward to sharing your positive comments about breakfast, excellent service, great views, the Living room, front desk, and valet. Everything we do is based around providing our guests with superior service. It is always rewarding to hear the specifics of a guests experience and is very helpful for other travelers to read. Additionally, we love our Sacred Stone massage and are glad you do too.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

Stefan Huber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Things to beware: rated 5 star but i would say it's more of a 2-3 star inn. the whole place, including the room, is run down, old, not well kept, dusty fixtures in our room, hair in the bathroom. small but annoying issue, the bathrooms do not have an exhaust fan. when we asked the front desk about it they said none of the bathrooms have fans...really?!? the food was pretty good, but certainly not worth the price. the dessert i had was a really bad chocolate turtle cake. they also tack on a $14 fee for every night you stay for housekeeping, business center, pool, etc. all of which we used none of, except housekeeping the day we checked out. we don't like housekeeping coming in our room so we hung a do not disturb sign on our door during the entire duration of our stay. the only time they cleaned our room was after we left. which usually we leave a generous tip for the staff (granted not everyone does). to be charged for something against our will plus we were never clearly notified of this additional daily charge at the time of booking or even at check-in is very frustrating.

the good thing about this place is the staff. everyone is pleasant and friendly. the location, good location to walk to most places. also, the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abigail_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shuber, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Inn and Spa at Loretto. We are happy to read your thoughts regarding our staff as “pleasant and friendly”. With that said, please accept my deepest apologies for the varied inconveniences you encountered while staying here. The $14.00 per day service fee covers our highly popular services such as, hotel-wide wireless internet access, local, credit card and toll-free telephone calls, morning newspapers, and in room coffee and tea. The fee also covers gratuity for room attendants, our morning coffee station, fruits at the front desk, access to our daily cooking, mixology, art and spa demonstrations, access to our fitness and business center, and water upon request at departure.

Our policy is for our front desk and reservation team members to clarify the above services to our guests at the time of reservation and during check in. I regret this may not have happened in your case. We’d love the opportunity to have you as our guest again. Please feel free to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Stefan Huber
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Having travelled to Santa many times in the past with my friend and family, this time we stayed at the Inn and were treated like royalty - from the valet through the concierge getting us to wonderful restaurants. Our suite was well-appointed, the fireplace was used almost constantly and the wood bin was never empty. This is the first time I have taken time to write a review of any place and appreciate the opportunity to award five stars from a personal viewpoint.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Betsey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stay at this hotel every January for a meeting. January is a very quiet month is Santa Fe and the hotel seemed fairly empty. So it is surprising to hear the stories from others in our group about their rooms -- for example the couple with five chlldren who were given two rooms down different hallways. My husband and I -- having stayed here four times -- asked for a room in a specific location. This was not the room we were assigned at check in. HOWEVER, the front desk was accommodating in looking for the room we wanted, which we did get. The reservations desk people need to pay more attention. That said, the public spaces in this hotel are lovely, as are many of the rooms. The staff is friendly and polite. We look forward to the many dining options in Santa Fe, so we don't usually eat in the hotel restaurant, Luminaria. However, we had dinner here one night and it was excellent.

Room Tip: Good luck with that. The reservations people should be fired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank biondabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of visiting Santa Fe. We decided we wanted the works, spa, food and a beautiful place to stay. We were not let down. We were going to go to Luminari restaurant the first evening inside the hotel. The food was 5 star. The duck, the short ribs, elk, Chilian sea bass, we tried it all, it was great. The following morning we did breakfast there, I got an oatmeal pumpkin creme brulee. My wife tried one of the southwest buritto, she loved it. The spa was like no other we had gone to. The dessert sage scrub and massage is a real treat. First a scrub, then a shower and finally a massage, I would go back just for that. The staff was all dressed very proffesional, clean, pressed, polite, a rarity. Keep it up, we will definately be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,345 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,222 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,270 reviews
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#26 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,059 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Property: Inn and Spa at Loretto
Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 136 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto
Inn And Spa At Loretto Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing