We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value in Santa Fe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Ranked #23 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good value in Santa Fe”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This is a nice hotel located right in the center of Santa Fe, only about a block from the Plaza. I think the building is older but the rooms appear to have been updated in recent years - they're comfortable and nicely decorated. The walls are thin so I did hear a lot of noise from the hallway and neighboring rooms, so bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper. Bathrooms are a bit small and don't really have counter space but are fine for a short stay.

The staff here was very friendly but not overly attentive. The bar area & fireplace is is a great, cozy spot to sit for a drink but our service on a Saturday night was not too great - I think there was one waitress for the entire bar area. One other complaint is about late checkout. The staff was nice enough to allow one for me, but apparently their room keys are set to lock you out at the normal checkout time, so we got locked out and had to get another key.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aw511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shuber, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding the Inn and Spa at Loretto, we really appreciated the time and consideration you put into this review. Also, thank you for highlighting the Living Room and the comfort it conveys while dining there. With that said, I am incredibly sorry for the few issues you encountered while staying with us, please contact me so I can apologize to you.

I hope you choose to stay at the Inn again during your next visit to Santa Fe.

Sincerely,

Stefan Huber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    503
    222
    127
    52
See reviews for
355
711
79
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Very nice people working there.
Be sure to check out the Loretta Chapel & the miraculous stairs. Junior Suite was great size. TOlietries stink- terrible!!!

Luminaria- great service ask for Jay!
Food was good not fab!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank texasfoodiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The Inn has a prime location near the plaza and close to everything but that's all they have to offer. The front desk service ranged from just unpleasant to down right rude; truly customer service is not important at this property.

The guest rooms are very small and while fairly recently renovated, they just feel old and outdated. The restaurant is fairly expensive and the food is just average. After one meal at the hotel, we decided to have all other meals off property.

The one positive about the hotel was the comfortable bed and high quality bed/bath linens.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SambaJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This hotel was recommended to us by the HR Coordinator that works there at the hotel. The atmosphere was excellent, service was great. Highly recommend!!!!
Room was nice and bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IcemanSith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Charming place located in the heart of town. Nice feel to the whole place. Lobby and fireplace were very inviting from winter's chill.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TRIPonacrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

+ decor was exquisite in my room and in public areas; unique architecture; restaurant was lovely and inexpensive in comparison with other local places.;good music and happy hour in the expansive lobby;Santa Fe has a small airport to fly into; my room had a huge outdoor sunny terrace; room had a bathtub plus shower. very close to Plaza and Canyon road, Mission, and Caathedral; free shuttle all around Santa Fe;

Room Tip: king room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CaliforniaCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shuber, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We take pride in our architecture and décor, in fact the Inn and Spa at Loretto is the most photographed building in Santa Fe! Also, thank you for mentioning Luminaria in comparison to other local restaurants and our happy hour menu. We really appreciate your time and kindness and will forward this review to our team. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Stefan Huber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I stayed here for a business trip Jan 26-Feb3, 2012. It's in a great location (just south of the Plaza and right next door to the Loretto Chapel). Also it has beautiful accommodations, friendly and helpful staff. I stayed in a Junior Suite (Rm 349) with a balcony. The view was so-so (of the employee parking lot and the Cathedral across the street). Ask if you can get one of the Chapel (the rooms down the hall had that).

In terms of the room, it was quite large, the bed was very comfortable (had a feather top) and the bathroom was quite large (had a double sink). I was there in the winter and the heat was adequate. But be a bit forewarned. At 72 degrees it was too chilly and at 73 it was too hot - not sure what was going on there. It also made the room very dry, so you may want to ask for a humidifier.

Another good thing about the hotel is that Wi-Fi is free and it's really fast, so that was a huge plus. They also have a fantastic restaurant on site. I didn't try the other amenities, such as the fitness room or the business center, but I'm sure they were adequate.

The only downside to the hotel is that the walls in my room were a bit thin (I think this is because there was an adjoining door to Rm 347) and one night (and the next morning) my neighbor in 347 was blasting their TV (the rooms have very nice flat panel TVs, by the way) and it was hard to sleep. I would have complained but it stopped after that (maybe they checked out). Otherwise things were very nice and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the Chapel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,151 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#26 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Property: Inn and Spa at Loretto
Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto
Inn And Spa At Loretto Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing