We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 March 2013

The Inn is beautiful, the staff are helpful, the location is great. The room was fabulous, who cares if the candles are not what they expected lol.They still lit (they were little bottles of oil with wax covers) and the hotel even supplied the matches. The bathroom was a 1940s dream - black and white tile with lots of chrome. I don't know when the hotel was built, but it has been redone and still shows its age in the AC/heating ducts - a lot of dust came through. We didn't try the restaurant, we walked to one the concierge told us about and it was perfect. We didn't expect the required Valet parking so I was a little disconcerted about that. The front desk upgraded our room. The bed was wonderful. The area was wonderful. Shopping and restaurants nearby made me wish we had more time. The Loretto Chapel is actually next door which was nice. Two things knocked my rating down from 4 to a 3. First, the AC/Heating ducts. There was a lot of dust coming out of the ducts when the fan was blowing. Second, there was a message on my phone telling me to contact the front desk. When I did, I was told that my credit card had been declined and that I needed to take care of that. After panicking and calling American Express we found out that the front desk had not even swiped the card. The person I spoke to had just assumed the card had been declined. If you have ever had that happen you know it can cause you a few minutes of panic!

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor, with a balcony over the pool. The large shared balcony actually had a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,332 - 1,338 of 1,829 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2013

This hotel feels dated. The rooms are small and dark and the fireplace is fake with a fake candle supplied in it. Check in was very slow and the staff were quite short and abrupt with us. Room looked out on a concrete wall.. Bed was reasonable but entire place seems to need a face lift. The bar, however is atmospheric and welcoming and breakfast in the restaurant was good although pricey. There are other places in SF which are far superior and less costly

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gladys3152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Stayed 4 nights on a business trip. Most notable when considering Santa Fe in general is the altitude. I was fine, another member of our group with existing breathing problems had to return home within the first day there. Huge conference rooms and great catering. Foods seem to be made on site including granola and yogurt; delicious chicken and steaks. They even made special accommodations for a member of our group that needed a gluten-free diet. The actual hotel room was peaceful and comfortable - the only downside was the balcony looked over an alley (not very scenic - but I wasn't in the room much during the day anyway :-)The ambiance inside the room was very nice with comfortable chairs by an adobe fireplace (candles only) in the corner. Wi-fi was free and worked great for finishing touches on my presentation. I would love to go back with the family for a vacation. The best part of the trip was a scavenger hunt/teambuilding activity. It really got us out around town to see the sights. Very fun, and we got a lot of work done too! (Note: if you have the front desk ship breakables back for you, make sure you provide them proper packaging/bubble wrap - my only sad face was returning home to find my scavenger hunt trophy had a piece broken off in shipping)

Room Tip: We had about 30 people in our group, all with rooms in various places at the hotel. No-one had any p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TCS90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I came here with my mom for a low-key spring vacation to decompress mid-semester of college. We loved the big balcony to let in natural light and fresh air and to enjoy a view of the mountains over coffee in the morning. The in room kiva fireplace is a nice feature and we burned the oil candle in it all night for a soothing ambiance/nightlight. Oh, and the bed was like a cloud!

We visited the spa on our last evening here. I got a massage from Caroline which included a full body massage starting from the scalp down, reflexology, and hot stone treatment. The massage beds are heated! My mother got the milk and honey treatment and looked very relaxed when we reunited after our spa escape. Nice for hydrating skin after being out in the desert exploring. Desiree, the spa coordinator was also exceptionally accommodating before and after our appointments. Ask for some of their green tea, it's the best we've had.

Mary, the concierge was wonderful and pointed us toward Broken Saddle horseback riding in the Cerrillos National Park. Highly recommended for an adventurous ride through the rocky hills with easy to ride horses, great for beginners or experienced riders. Harold was our guide, who came from the horse-racing industry in New Jersey originally. He showed us where all the old silver and turquoise mines were, and about the origins of Tiffany & Co. with turquoise in New Mexico. The Broken Saddle Ranch has Tennessee Walkers and Missouri Foxtrotters. Beautiful, well cared for horses.

As for those complaining about the bed linens being changed every 4 days, realize that water is more scarce in the desert than it is and the hotel is making efforts to reduce their water use. If you must, just ask the maid to change your sheets. Do not expect her to read your mind. But really, are you so dirty that you NEED your sheets changed every night? How about taking a shower instead?

Room Tip: Book through expedia, get the superior guest room it would feel pretty cramped and dark without the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ritalea228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to write this review of The Inn and Spa at Loretto located in Santa Fe, New Mexico. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and your horseback riding trip recommended by our concierge.

Also, thank you for acknowledging Caroline, Desiree, and Mary. They are certainly assets to our fabulous team and I will be certain to let them know they were mentioned by name.

Thank you again for this review. We hope you stay with us during your next trip to Santa Fe.

Sincerely,

Sheri Decker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We booked a 2 bed, 2 bathroom suite with fireplace and balcony. sounds great right!?!? WRONG!! Upon entering the room we immediately smelled the overpowering smell of soot and bacon! The walls and ceiling were covered in black soot! The rooms were dark, dingy and dirty. The ceilings were so low we could reach up and touch them! Caution basketball players *BEWARE* LOW CLEARANCE!! There were holes in the furniture, cracks in the walls, peeling paint, dirty air vents, and dirty painted switch plates! No coffee maker in the room, no mirrors in bedrooms, but they did provide a dirty robe and slippers! The front desk was unfriendly and unhelpful. They only wash the sheets every 4 days, apparently they aren't too big on cleanliness! The next morning we all woke up with burning eyes, sore throat and coughing, the symptoms quickly disappeared after being in the fresh air. The place was so bad it brought our granddaughter to tears!! We cut our trip short and returned home! I could write a novel on how bad this place was! Oh and did I mention it was almost $600 a night!?!?! Save your money and stay at a Super 8, It is much better!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis M, Director of Operations at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

I was extremely disappointed to read the current review on TripAvisor. I regret that our accommodations did not meet your expectations and I offer my sincerest apology for the inconvenience. Thank you sharing your feedback, the issues you brought to our attention will be addressed promptly.

We take great pride in the services we provide. Our General Manager, Sheri Decker, would appreciate the opportunity to speak to you regarding your recent stay. She can be reached at 505-984-7928.

Thank you,

Dennis Marcinik
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We were looking forward to this hotel, based on reviews we've read and assurances we had received from the "front desk" a week prior to our arrival. Having been assured we would receive a nice room, a shared balcony separated by dividers, and with a great view, we booked it. Although, for a hotel this big, we found it a little odd that they assign specific rooms in advance. We arrived early in the day and knew we wouldn't be able to check in early. But we thought we could at least see if there was any flexibility for a floor higher than second floor. We were told they were "fully booked" but that we had a great view of the mountains. We did pre-check-in and came back later once the room was ready. We were shown to the room and the view literally looked UP and over a vast concrete structure with a sliver of mountains above it -- and a shared balcony with no dividers. Dank and dark are the only way to describe it. With the bellman still in the room, we called the front desk and were put on indefinite hold. So we went back down to see what could be done. Surly and indifferent is the only way to describe the front desk employee. She was clearly put out with us, wouldn't speak to us, but slapped together new room keys for a room one floor up, and pushed them across the desk to us -- despite having told us earlier they were fully booked In general, the room is snug, worn around the edges, and has poor lighting. At these prices, you'd also think the sheets could be changed more frequently than every four days. The daily resort fee (for wireless and maid's gratuities is an added irritant). This hotel needs a lot of work.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
6  Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We have stayed at La Fonda many times but wanted to experience something new, this time with our dog, Tilly. The lobby/bar area was warm, inviting and cozy like an old adobe living room. The room was exceptionally nice, with a small patio and wonderful bed. We were across from the elevator but did not notice noise during the night. The only downside for us were the Luminaria's prices. For a special occassion, fine, but we were just passing through. Overall, a very classy yet casual hotel with an upscale feel in beautiful Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Request a room with large balcony, based on the time of year: south or west facing in winter, north...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank janie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis M, Director of Operations at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of The Inn and Spa at Loretto, we greatly appreciate it. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed The Living Room, your accommodations, and I hope Tilly enjoyed it as well. With that said, please consider dining with us in Luminaria Restaurant and Patio during your next Santa Fe stay. Chef Brett Sparman has created a three course Cena Pronto dinner menu for only $29.00 from 5:00 to 6:30. This is a wonderful chance for guests to indulge in his incredible cuisine and an amazing price.

Thank you,

Dennis Marcinik
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
622 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,394 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
621 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: £146 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 136 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto
Inn And Spa At Loretto Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing