We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alright, but could be better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn and Spa at Loretto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Ranked #22 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Larkspur, CO
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Alright, but could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

We spent one night here on our way west. We've stayed many nights in Santa Fe in many different hotels. Unfortunately, I'd have to say this one rates at the bottom of the list. We had made a reservation for a king with a kiva fireplace, but when we arrived they informed us that we now were going to be in a queen room with no fireplace. Apparently there was a pipe break or something that precluded our having the room we reserved. The room was next to the elevator and overlooked the rooftop of the restaurant. Ugh!

Fortunately, a couple of things saved the night. The front desk staff discounted the room and waived the pet fee. The valet guy was great. In addition, the wait staff in the bar were awesome. They were trainees from Moldova and Romania, and not only were they very attentive and friendly, but we also got to practice our Romanian! Who'd of thought . . .

Liked the location and may give this hotel one more shot next time we travel through Santa Fe.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Editorchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Inn and Spa at Loretto. We are pleased you enjoyed the restaurant and bar, and have passed on your compliments to the valet team. We also love hearing about your pleasant encounter with our a few of our international staffers at Luminaria, what a fun experience that must have been for everyone!

Thank you again. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that occurred during your last stay. We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest on your next visit to Santa Fe.

Warm Regards, Sheri Decker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    832
    492
    215
    122
    52
See reviews for
350
693
76
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
181 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was our first time in Santa Fe and we chose Loretto based on its reviews and location. The location is ideal - I was able to run through and around the major areas including Canyon Road, Downtown and The Plaza. The room was excellent and size was perfect for us - we did have a junior suite however. The spa services were overall very good although the cranio-sacral sessions left a bit to be desired. The food was adequate and that was the only quirk - I asked for a very simple pasta dish - pasta with olive oil and garlic. I was told that the chef and kitchen had no pasta whatsoever in the pantry - huh? So I ordered the kids mac and Cheese expecting Kraft - nope Penne with lobster and cheese - huh again?? Obviously something wasn't being communicated! Mary is and was an awesome concierge as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a Junior Suite with an outside patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal Lake
Level Contributor
109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This was my second trip to this hotel. I would still go back because it is a beautiful place, but there is a kind of atmosphere that some might find off -putting. When we checked in, it was through Travelocity. The room was supposed to be a "secret room" which we paid more money for. In the end there was some mix up about the room. They were going to put us in the usual lower quality style room that they evidently assign to Travelocity. Unfortunately for them we asked questions. After being buffaloed with nonsense and showing them our travel confirmation, they told us that "oh that just means if we have something better available we will give it to you. It would be an upgrade. We don't have anything available." Really? No Way. We paid more money for the "possibility" to be upgraded? I don't think so. After talking to a manager they decided to solve it for us by giving us a better room. This room had a small balcony with a view of the mountains. My reason for exposing this on Tripadvisor, is to warn other travelers to make noise when there is obviously some sort of scam going on. Travelocity did not define the "secret" We were aware of a couple of penthouse type rooms at the hotel and kind of hoped that this might mean something like that. We felt we would have at the very least a decent room. The room that we did get was not disappointing but no one really wants that kind of encounter at the front desk after a day of travel. The bar restaurant was wonderful and service there was great. Their signature restaurant was a disappointment. It was beautiful, romantic and has great potential. There is a continual disconnect with service. We ate there twice and the third time we had to walk out. They just are not attentive to the customer. We were seated and sat for 15 minutes with no one coming to the table and several people available to at least provide water and coffee, but no one paying any attention to us. We had see this before at breakfast the last time we were there. It was not busy, it was just rude behavior. Breakfast is not a good time to be there apparently. The two other meals we had there one was outside in that courtyard are and it was okay, the second time was inside the restaurant and the meal and service were great. So you never know. Really. The location of the hotel is great, the looks of it, the style, the maintenance all great.We travel frequently and we are not fussy travelers, but we do have radar on rudeness and dismissive behavior. Fortunately for them, we would again stay there because for all that, we had some excellent service in other parts of the hotel and it is a stunning place.

Room Tip: The mountain view is wonderful. If you can, stay in the suite with the artist easel. We would have e...
See more room tips
Green Features: They do what most hotels now do. They do not change sheets or towel unless you request it.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

The best staff at this hotel are the parking attendants. They are the most knowledgeable, extremely helpful and thankfully they were there because the concierge group was challenged...if you can locate them. Never present before 9:00 a.m.. I understand that this is a laid back city but visitors would like to get on the road before then...if they are hiking, shopping etc. The hotel is older, so the rooms are dark. Slowest elevators in New Mexico. Fitness Center is tiny. Pool is fabulous and location is excellent. I'm not sure how this hotel attains a 4-Diamond rating because it doesn't compare with others of the same rating.

Room Tip: Very dark rooms. Try to locate on the pool side and make sure you request a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syosset, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance to many attractions and restaurants. The staff was welcoming and helpful. The beds are great, the best sleep at a hotel ever! Would highly recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Terry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

This was our first visit to Santa Fe and we had a wonderful time. The hotel was beautiful and well-cared for and the staff was friendly, engaging, helpful and professional. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChellaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We just returned from four wet but marvelous days at this hotel. Upon checking in ,we were told that we had been upgraded to a deluxe room. It was spacious with a huge four poster bed and a nice sized balcony. Having such a comfortable and inviting room made our stay even more enjoyable.We also highly recommend the Lumineria restaurant at the hotel. Besides a delicious breakfast we had a memorable early bird dinner there one night. They even treated us to an extra appetizer of our choice. The entire hotel staff was helpful and friendly but special thanks to the concierge Pam who kept us calm with all rain and flooding in the area and at the front desk,Clarese who every morning greeted us with a smile.Even though the weather was not ideal we had a great stay and look forward to returning to Santa Fe with another stay at the Inn

Room Tip: If possible ,reserve the deluxe room.very appealing and relaxing atmosphere
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycles, etc.towels were only changed upon request. sheets also left on the bed during our stay
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Viajero-Alfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#28 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Property: Inn and Spa at Loretto
Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto
Inn And Spa At Loretto Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing