We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way Beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Ranked #21 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Way Beyond”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The Inn and Spa is ideally located for the traveller who wants to immerse oneself in the character of Santa Fe. Located right in the heart of the Plaza Old Town, there is access to the best shops, museums, and eateries, all within easy walking distance.
The hotel itself is a full package and the staff especially the housekeeping (kudos to Pricilla)and the front desk staff are great. They go the extra mile to make everything work! One would actually be tempted to stay in the hotel and not even go out, as there are some great views of the mountains from the rooms terraces. Rooms are nice size and well appointed.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the mountains are fabulous. The sunset from the balcony makes a wonderful end to t...
See more room tips
Green Features: Really like the attention to environment friendly practices.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Inn and Spa at Loretto. We are very proud of our property and location, and so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate the time to you took to praise our staff, it is truly validating to our entire team. I have notified Pricilla and the front desk of you compliments and they are very honored.

Thank you again, we look forward to having you as our guest on your next visits to Santa Fe!

Warm Regards, Sheri Decker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    882
    510
    228
    128
    52
See reviews for
364
733
79
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, OK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We received a complimentary upgrade as it was our anniversary; great room, very comfortable king bed with chic linens; lodge-like feel, kiva fireplace and deck partially overlooking pool. We have stayed many times in Santa Fe and would definitely recommend this hotel. Right off the plaza within walking distance to everything; very friendly knowledgeable staff all around. I don't think you will be disappointed.

Green Features: This hotel is environmentally and dog friendly, love this!
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kitchenokc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Inn and Spa at Loretto. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the recommendation as well, word-of-mouth recommendations are the best compliment. Happy Anniversary and cheers to many more! We look forward to having you as our guests again.

Warm Regards, Sheri Decker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Besides thoroughly enjoying Santa Fe, our stay at the Inn and Spa at Loretto made the trip perfect. The people, regardless of whether it was someone at the front desk, the concierge, the wait staff, maids, porters, and I could go one but my point is that regardless of whom we spoke with or sought for advice or direction, they all couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. Even a lady who owned a shop within the hotel was more than gracious and happy to help with a plan we were putting together. Our room was fine, the bed comfortable, the room temperature was easy to adjust, the view out the doors to the deck was unbeatable.
Their Luminaria restaurant was superb and beautiful with an indoor/outdoor possibility for dining and the menu was VERY interesting and enticing.
The pool and garden area feels very secluded and private even though it's in the heart of Santa Fe. That really appealed to us!
We visited the Spa but didn't have any of their services but all seemed to be well thought out and inviting.
We can't say enough about it. Stay there when you visit Santa Fe......you won't be sorry!

Green Features: Excellent! They explain their comprehensive room cleaning practices and the food in all the dining areas are mostly home-grown, fresh and organic. Great attention is paid to preserving the environment!
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mavournine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Inn and Spa at Loretto in Santa Fe, New Mexico. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and love hearing about your wonderful experience with our staff and amenities.

Thank you again, we look forward to your return!

Warm Regards, Sheri Decker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larkspur, CO
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

We spent one night here on our way west. We've stayed many nights in Santa Fe in many different hotels. Unfortunately, I'd have to say this one rates at the bottom of the list. We had made a reservation for a king with a kiva fireplace, but when we arrived they informed us that we now were going to be in a queen room with no fireplace. Apparently there was a pipe break or something that precluded our having the room we reserved. The room was next to the elevator and overlooked the rooftop of the restaurant. Ugh!

Fortunately, a couple of things saved the night. The front desk staff discounted the room and waived the pet fee. The valet guy was great. In addition, the wait staff in the bar were awesome. They were trainees from Moldova and Romania, and not only were they very attentive and friendly, but we also got to practice our Romanian! Who'd of thought . . .

Liked the location and may give this hotel one more shot next time we travel through Santa Fe.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Editorchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Inn and Spa at Loretto. We are pleased you enjoyed the restaurant and bar, and have passed on your compliments to the valet team. We also love hearing about your pleasant encounter with our a few of our international staffers at Luminaria, what a fun experience that must have been for everyone!

Thank you again. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that occurred during your last stay. We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest on your next visit to Santa Fe.

Warm Regards, Sheri Decker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was our first time in Santa Fe and we chose Loretto based on its reviews and location. The location is ideal - I was able to run through and around the major areas including Canyon Road, Downtown and The Plaza. The room was excellent and size was perfect for us - we did have a junior suite however. The spa services were overall very good although the cranio-sacral sessions left a bit to be desired. The food was adequate and that was the only quirk - I asked for a very simple pasta dish - pasta with olive oil and garlic. I was told that the chef and kitchen had no pasta whatsoever in the pantry - huh? So I ordered the kids mac and Cheese expecting Kraft - nope Penne with lobster and cheese - huh again?? Obviously something wasn't being communicated! Mary is and was an awesome concierge as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a Junior Suite with an outside patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal Lake
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This was my second trip to this hotel. I would still go back because it is a beautiful place, but there is a kind of atmosphere that some might find off -putting. When we checked in, it was through Travelocity. The room was supposed to be a "secret room" which we paid more money for. In the end there was some mix up about the room. They were going to put us in the usual lower quality style room that they evidently assign to Travelocity. Unfortunately for them we asked questions. After being buffaloed with nonsense and showing them our travel confirmation, they told us that "oh that just means if we have something better available we will give it to you. It would be an upgrade. We don't have anything available." Really? No Way. We paid more money for the "possibility" to be upgraded? I don't think so. After talking to a manager they decided to solve it for us by giving us a better room. This room had a small balcony with a view of the mountains. My reason for exposing this on Tripadvisor, is to warn other travelers to make noise when there is obviously some sort of scam going on. Travelocity did not define the "secret" We were aware of a couple of penthouse type rooms at the hotel and kind of hoped that this might mean something like that. We felt we would have at the very least a decent room. The room that we did get was not disappointing but no one really wants that kind of encounter at the front desk after a day of travel. The bar restaurant was wonderful and service there was great. Their signature restaurant was a disappointment. It was beautiful, romantic and has great potential. There is a continual disconnect with service. We ate there twice and the third time we had to walk out. They just are not attentive to the customer. We were seated and sat for 15 minutes with no one coming to the table and several people available to at least provide water and coffee, but no one paying any attention to us. We had see this before at breakfast the last time we were there. It was not busy, it was just rude behavior. Breakfast is not a good time to be there apparently. The two other meals we had there one was outside in that courtyard are and it was okay, the second time was inside the restaurant and the meal and service were great. So you never know. Really. The location of the hotel is great, the looks of it, the style, the maintenance all great.We travel frequently and we are not fussy travelers, but we do have radar on rudeness and dismissive behavior. Fortunately for them, we would again stay there because for all that, we had some excellent service in other parts of the hotel and it is a stunning place.

Room Tip: The mountain view is wonderful. If you can, stay in the suite with the artist easel. We would have e...
See more room tips
Green Features: They do what most hotels now do. They do not change sheets or towel unless you request it.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The best staff at this hotel are the parking attendants. They are the most knowledgeable, extremely helpful and thankfully they were there because the concierge group was challenged...if you can locate them. Never present before 9:00 a.m.. I understand that this is a laid back city but visitors would like to get on the road before then...if they are hiking, shopping etc. The hotel is older, so the rooms are dark. Slowest elevators in New Mexico. Fitness Center is tiny. Pool is fabulous and location is excellent. I'm not sure how this hotel attains a 4-Diamond rating because it doesn't compare with others of the same rating.

Room Tip: Very dark rooms. Try to locate on the pool side and make sure you request a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,246 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,296 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
600 reviews
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#28 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Property: Inn and Spa at Loretto
Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 136 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto
Inn And Spa At Loretto Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing