We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tremendous bar!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Ranked #23 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tremendous bar!”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Four of us snagged couch and overstuffed chairs and settled into great service, good drinks and very good appetizers (quesadilla and bison sliders). We really liked the ambiance and attentive waitress. We will definitely return. The kind of bar where one could just settle in for hours and never move. No canned music- the live performer that started just as we left was nice and not overpowering (allowed for conversation).

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ABQ-Marshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheri D, Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Living Room bar at the Inn and Spa at Loretto. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and appreciate your comment that the Living Room is "The kind of bar where one could just settle in for hours and never move." We hope you will join us again soon. Cheers! Marilyn Litton, Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    504
    222
    127
    52
See reviews for
355
712
79
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The staff, spa and dining was exceptional. Great location. Within walking distance of everything in town. The only issue we had was the heater that was loud and constantly going off and on. Ordered more blankets and was able to turn off fan

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Inn and Spa at Loretto in Santa Fe, New Mexico. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you as our guest again on your next trip to Santa Fe. Warm Regards, Sheri Decker, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is a lovely old hotel with an award winning restaurant. Don't believe it! Their prize winning tortilla soup was fair but the spinach salad was terrible. Small serving of spinach with tasteless dressing and hard to find matchstick pieces of Asian pear. The best thing about dinner was the ambience and the darling gentleman that served and described the bread. Save your money and skip this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here 2 nights, just before Christmas. Staff were very welcoming. We had requested early check in and got it. Location is perfect for walking around downtown Santa Fe. We had one problem with a package delivered to the wrong room, but they were able to retrieve it. Our only meal there was dinner at Luminaria, expensive but delicious. We had a junior suite, really just a large hotel room. The rooms could use a bit of paint/maintenance, but I would stay here again. (No problems with getting our car quickly. Just shows you how different a place can be depending on when you are there and perhaps who is on duty.)

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room with a good view. Change if you don't like it.
See more room tips
Green Features: I like the soap dispensers in the shower instead of little bottles. But like so many hotels that claim to be "green", the housekeepers change towels every day even if you rehang them. I can use a towel more than once. This is so wasteful, especially in an area where water is precious!
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mojo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Been to Santa Fe many times, first time at Inn at Loretto and will be last. Be prepared to wait a minimum of 45 minutes to get your car, even when not at all busy, and about double this time for a drink or any sevice in the bar. Worst service I've ever experienced. Many great places in Santa Fe and this is not one of them.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCC970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We just spent Christmas Eve in Santa Fe to enjoy beautiful music with the Santa Fe Concert Association, the farolitos on Canyon Road and a nice holiday meal. We have spent several 1 to 3 day getaways in Santa Fe at several different hotels, including the Inn of the Anasazi, The Eldorado (several times), the Hilton, Don Gaspar Inn, The Inn on the Alameda & El Paradero B & B. This was our first stay at the Inn at Loretto. It was also our last stay there. The exterior architecture is indeed enchanting; the interior not so much so. Our room charge was $251.00, which was touted as 30% off their regular prices. In addition, there was a $14 hotel services fee and a $19 parking fee. With taxes and fees, our room totaled $322.12 for 1 night. There was no one to help with bags or even open the door as we struggled in with our luggage & winter coats over our arms. When we checked in, the desk clerk asked if we wanted a key to the honor bar. My reaction was, " How tacky for what is supposed to be a top rated hotel." We schlepped our bags & coats to our room. What a surprise! The room was small and really dark. Turning on the lights was not much help, so we opened the heavy drapes on the small patio door to get a good look at the room. It was stylishly painted in dark colors that matched the heavy pillows, bed cover & drapes. The fabrics were so heavy that it was impossible to pull the drapes back all the way, and the decorative pillows weighed a good 10 lbs. each. The furnishings were dark brown, square laminate pieces, ala Comfort Inn. On the console cabinet, there was a basket of candy bars, containing among other treats, a $.75 bag of M & M's for $3.00, and 2 bottles of water for $5 each. Again, tacky, tacky!! The lamps were all fitted with low wattage, curly-Q light bulbs. There was not enough light to read a few pages of a novel before retiring, without considerable eye strain. The hotel touted itself as being "green", thus the ugly, inefficient lighting, but they used enough energy to keep the honor bar fridge running 24/7, whether you wanted it or not. The restaurant was another disappointment. In all honesty, the food was outstanding, if over-priced. The restaurant itself was drafty & cold. The décor was 1970's beach-front bar with tables that wobbled, wicker style chairs, next to nothing on the walls, poor lighting and absolutely no ambiance. The décor was certainly not consistent with the $285.96 dinner tab for 2 prix fee meals, 2 cocktails and 2 glasses of wine. Our advice - Santa Fe is a really fun place, but stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ABQCookie_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
93 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I stayed at the hotel for a business trip. I arrived after a red eye fight and the hotel was able to check me immediately into a room. I had breakfast at the hotel which I would rate as fair. The room was spacious and quiet with a wonderful view. The location was great with a number of very good restaurants within walking distance. There was a nice fireplace in the bar which was great place to unwind. I recommend the hotel both for business stays as well as for just visiting Santa Fe.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank South_Pacific_Seas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheri D, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Inn and Spa at Loretto. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and want to thank you for your recommendation of our property for both business and personal travel. Word of mouth recommendations are the best compliments and truly validate our teams efforts. Thank you again! We look forward to your return. Warm Regards, Sheri Decker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,181 reviews
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#26 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Property: Inn and Spa at Loretto
Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto
Inn And Spa At Loretto Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing