We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check your bill!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Ranked #23 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Check your bill!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

The hotel is fine and perfectly located. But check your bill. In May 2014 I booked four rooms for a total of 16 nights. Surprise birthday party for wife and friends. Upon checkout, the front desk could not tell me if any of the Spa or Bar credits were deducted from my room bills. Computer screens and physical paperwork were of no help. I felt sorry for the front desk personnel as their computer system was clearly inadequate. The woman next to me was making the same request as to why she was charged for something that wasn't explained on her printout. As people lined up to check out, both front desk agents were unable to explain anything. Four calls and a week later, I was finally credited about $600 that otherwise would have been kept by the Inn. This morning, I found out that they double charged my sister (one of the guests in the party) for her room and thus double charging. They may have double charged some of my other guests as well - I'm waiting to hear back. On the whole, the staff has the regional apathetic medical condition whereby they just don't care much. Mary at the front desk was a big help and could not have been nicer. Carlos, not so much. Luminaria management double booked a side room we had requested so it was not available even though we were clearly in their calendar. The alternate room was cavernous for our small party. Concierge and valet service were spectacular. Front desk and management get a failing grade.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    498
    220
    125
    52
See reviews for
353
708
78
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
150 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Inn has truly lovely decor and advertises on their website "wine down Wednesday". Clever concept and my wife and I looked forward to a tasting of 4 wines for $12. Large place so my wife and I stopped at reception desk and clerk sent us down to their "Luminaria" restaurant. Receptionist there wasn't sure they were holding it that Wednesday, called her general manager and found is never in "Luminaria", but rather in lobby bar. So went to lobby bar (about 30 feet from reception desk we first stopped at). Given paper sheet for our tasting comments dated for March (visit last Wednesday in May). Each served 4 wine glasses each with about 1.5 ounces of wine (a large sip). Not wine experts, but know our way around a wine store. Thought wines undistinguished. Hoped for appetizers to clear our palette after each tasting, but none provided and no recommendations of matching between wines and appetizer menu. Asked waitress who seemed nice, but could give us no guidance; suspect a training issue. Finally ordered some olives and small piece of toasted bread. Total bill $36.79 before tip; wine prices in Santa Fe very high (400% markup over retail not unusual), but stop here particularly disappointing and will avoid in the future. Shame as so much could be done with this concept (e.g. "Battle of the Bordeaux" where 4 separate Bordeaux are served, "the best of New Mexico" as a sample of locally produced wines, etc).

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ret1re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I’m extremely disappointed to hear about your less than satisfactory experience and assure this was immediately addressed with our staff. I would very much appreciate the opportunity to discuss this matter with you further and can be reached at 505.984.7928. Your feedback and patronage are very appreciated. We do hope to have you as our guests in the Living Room again. I look forward to speaking with you. Sincerely, Thomas McCann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel over Memorial Day weekend. When we arrived at the hotel, we were turned away as there was a blackout in Santa Fe. It was interesting to read that another group was taken to their rooms via flashlight and the stairs, this option was not offered to my group.
We left to get something to eat and when we returned there was confusion around our rooms. It seemed there were no more available double rooms even though we had booked several months in advance with confirmation of double rooms. I was first put in room 109 which I was told had a patio. There was no patio, there was a little area about the size of the bathroom outside and there were no chairs or table. There was a dog in room 107 that constantly barked. When we were waiting when we first arrived, a man did come to the desk and he requested to be moved because of a barking dog. We asked to be moved, they put us in room 209, there was a dog in 203 that barked all Friday night, Saturday all day until I finally called the front desk. I am a pet owner so I have no issue with animals but they should not be left in rooms alone, that should be a policy at Inn and Spa at Loretto. I did visit a room on the top floor, it had a beautiful balcony but the room was very small. It was a double room, possibly the king rooms have more space.
On Saturday night, we went to the bar area. We waited and waited, there were probably about 40 people with two waitresses. The live music was very good so that help ease the pain of having to wait so long for service and to pay for our food and drinks. The location of the hotel is great for visiting the downtown area.

I was disappointed with this hotel, I thought it would be nicer, rooms larger, decor nicer. This is an updated review. The hotel manager contacted me after my first review, I have since tried twice to reach him and he has not contacted me again. I left a voicemail and I replied to his trip advisor email.

Room Tip: No room on the first floor No room on the side facing the parking lot, I think this is the lower od...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ectravelermd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were very pleased with our stay at Inn and Spa at Loretto. We drove to Santa Fe from Albuquerque, so had a car, but did not use it much except for a few day trips out of the area. The hotel is very comfortable and we felt welcome and pampered.

Room Tip: If you don't prefer a dark room, ask for a sunny room. Our window was so small and the walls wer...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ramthomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
151 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for her birthday week back in early April. Neither of us had ever been to Santa Fe & several friends recommended the Inn & Spa at Loretto. We were extremely happy with our choice of hotel, the staff was spot remembering our names and taking the opportunity to utilize them when and wherever they saw us (even off property).
The room was well appointed with a great Santa Fe feel to it and we had a private terrace area with great views of the area.
Do not miss dining at Luminaria for dinner. Yes, this is the restaurant in the hotel, the service & food were both five star (see the review that I completed for the restaurant during our stay in April). We dined at some very nice restaurants while in a Santa Fe and found Luminaria to by far be the best, even when compared to some of the more pretentious ones on near by Canyon Road.
My thanks to the entire team for a wonderful vacation!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you! We fondly remember hosting you and are so truly honored by your reviews of both the Inn and Spa at Loretto and Luminaria Restaurant. We are very proud of our property and your compliments to our staff, accommodations and dining are such a great testament to the team's efforts. Thank you again. We look forward to celebrating many more birthdays with the both of you! Warm Regards, Thomas McCann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is an excellent choice for visitors wanting to stay near downtown and enjoy the amenities of a fine hotel. It is located half a block from the historic Santa Fe Plaza and a 10 minute walk to Canyon Road (where 100+ art galleries are located). Room prices are at the upper end but competitive to other properties in the downtown area. Check to see if they have any specials for the time you are visiting since the specials often include parking, internet and resort fees. The restaurant is very good; however, if you are looking for a moderately priced meal it is best to visit one of the restaurants in/near the plaza. The accommodations are very nice and many rooms have a balcony to enjoy the unique weather and vistas of Santa Fe. Service is good.

Room Tip: Ask to see if a room with a balcony is available at your price point
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santafetravelers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just returned from 4 nights at this hotel with our family of 7. Black out the day we arrived and not able to get into our room without manager using flashlight up the stairs. Had to light a candle to find the bathroom. The lobby bar, thankfully, was up and running and very accommodating to all. After 3 hrs. in the dark, the hotel's restaurant was able to serve dinner - which many other local diners were not. The food here is just fine and we particularly enjoyed breakfast and lunch. The room we had (351) was noisy all night with refrigerator and heater noises that rattled. The tub plug was hard to work. Our view was over the exhaust fan outside and the room was located across from a service elevator and ice machine which were also noisy. We stayed here two years ago and had a much better room, so this was very disappointing to us.

Room Tip: A great choice close to all downtown shopping and plaza area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pres2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#28 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Property: Inn and Spa at Loretto
Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto
Inn And Spa At Loretto Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing