We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful but a Little Pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We chose this hotel for its Southwestern ambiance and walking distance to the Plaza. We were met by a friendly valet but were surprised that we weren't given a choice to park our own car. We were fortunate to have a AAA discount but were informed at check-in that there would be additional charges for valet, hotel service fees (wi-fi) and state and city taxes which totaled $48. Not too bad but we were on a budget. We loved our spacious room with desk and two chairs and comfortable double beds. It had a colorful Southwestern theme. We could view the pool and grounds from our room. The toilet and tub/shower were in a separate room from the sink and closet. We had a lovely, decorative sink but it lacked counter space. Luckily there were glass shelves to hold our toiletries. The concierge was helpful in finding a nearby restaurant and gave us brochures on local artists. We checked out by 12:00 the next day but they let us store our bags and use the pool again which we thought was generous. It made up for the extra charges. Situated on a quiet, clean and tree-lined street you will love this high-end hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yumaborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,845)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,069 - 1,075 of 1,845 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

It's a very pleasant place to stay but just a tad 'laissez-faire' to be five star. The staff are slightly too casual. For example, when we were having breakfast, the waiters were not busy and were having a loud, almost raucous conversation; discreet they weren't! The room was small but comfortable. However, we were surprised that there wasn't a safe. The early evening dining option is worth considering as it's the same fare as later but much less expensive - you have to order by 6.30pm.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Tom,
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Inn and Spa at Loretto. I appreciate your feedback on our staff. I certainly will be addressing the "casually approach" some of the team displayed during your stay.
The associates need to be aware that they are always "on stage" and should be more aware of their immediate surroundings.
Thank you for the visit and we look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely,

Tom McCann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We always enjoy this hotel for its close to the center location - yet a step away to give it a peaceful feel. It is one of the few hotels with a nice pool too! For the price however - it would be nice to see another courtesy amenity like so many other hotels do .... like an all day coffee service, or a water station, perhaps a well priced happy hour special.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank averylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear averylin,

Thank you for providing a review of your recent stay at the Inn and Spa at Loretto. We are truly honored to be your hotel of choice in Santa Fe and delighted that you continually enjoy our location, ambience and garden pool. Your patronage and feedback are very appreciated. Thank you again. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Santa Fe!

Sincerely,

Tom McCann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I recently stayed at the Inn and Spa at Loretto while visiting Santa Fe for the fist time. We loved this hotel. It had a great location to get to the plaza (with-in walking distance), 5-10 minute walk to Canyon Road, and several great shops and restaurants are all nearby. It made our trip so nice to be able to park the car and not have to get it out of valet until we left for the airport. (If you drive to the hotel, you are required to use valet while there and is an additional charge per night) When we checked in the hotel staff was very nice and answered all questions. We got there early, and were lucky enough to check in a couple of hours early. So nice to not have to store luggage and then come back and check in to room. Rooms were a little small for my liking, but has nice décor (stuffed animal bear on the bed), and most importantly very clean. We stayed on the 4th floor, which had a shared patio for the floor very close to the room with a great view. Our room did not have the best view, but could still see the mountains. Bathrooms were nice and clean as well, but I did not like the sink. There was not enough counter space for all of my stuff, but that is my only complaint I went down to the hotel bar two different nights. One night there were only a few people there, and the second night it was very busy. Good service both times. Be sure to check out the ceiling there. Very cool artwork. They also pour very generous glasses of wine. Bar tender was friendly and still working fast with a broken hand. This hotel is great and I recommend staying here on your trip to Santa Fe. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We went with my Mom and Dad and they has the Junior Suite which had a much bigger room and a firepla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whitney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear whitsaunders -

Thank you for choosing the Inn and Spa at Loretto for your first visit to Santa Fe. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. It is always so nice to hear such wonderful feedback about our staff, décor and location. I'm so pleased that the staff was able to accommodate an early check-in and delighted that you enjoyed the views from the adjacent terrace. I also enjoyed reading about your experience of exploring the many nearby shops and restaurants on foot. Santa Fe is a great walkable city and our location is well suited for leisurely strolls to many of city's most noted attractions.

A fun fact about the artwork you noticed on the Living Room ceiling. These hand carved and painted wood panels are original to the property and were commissioned from the renowned Native American painter and sculptor Gregory Lomayesva. You may have also Gregory's stunning work in the elevators and spa. We are fortunate to boast an incredible selection of original artwork and love sharing the history and significance of each piece with our guests. So delighted to hear that this enhanced your already memorable experience with us.

Thank you again, we appreciate the time you took to post a review and are truly honored to receive your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn on your next visit to Santa Fe!

Sincerely,

Tom McCann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

There's a phenomenon in Santa Fe - life's so easy that you don't have to try hard, particularly in the Service sector. This hotel is afflicted with this malaise. Reception promised to ring back with an answer - nothing for 90 minutes, but an answer came when I rang them again. The pool was scummy, but in a beautiful location.
The restaurant was busy at Dinner, but there was no need for the service to be so slow. The food was at best mediocre, which is simply not good enough given the high prices charged. A more reasonably priced bottle of wine was unavailable, so I was recommended to one costing 50% more.
The hotel does a lot in the Conference market, so maybe neglects normal travellers.
This may seem like a grouchy review, but we had great hopes for our 4 day stay here, but were sadly disappointed. The hotel would like to be seen as of International quality, sadly it is not up to that standard.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slippersailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Slippersailor,

Thank you for patronage and your feedback about your stay. It seems that you were happy with our location and your room accommodations, but clearly we did not meet your expectations on value and we had some miss-steps on our service.
I will be addressing your concerns on the pool with my maintenance team. I can assure you that we clean the pool daily, and I will be keeping an even closer eye on it, as it is one of our treasured amenities here at the Inn and Spa at Loretto.
I will also be addressing the speed of service with my restaurant manager. We take great pride in our overall service in our award winning restaurant, Luminaria, and we cannot let slow service impact a guest experience.
Thank you for making me aware of your overall experience and rest assured, these shortfalls in service will be addressed.
We do hope to see you back in Santa Fe and back at the Inn and Spa at Loretto!

Sincerely,

Tom McCann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

From the moment you arrive at this hotel, your breathe is taken away. It is a gorgeous hotel, inside and out! I actually danced a little in my hotel room after checking in...it was splendid...a dream come true!!! With its cozy Southwestern style bedding and welcome stuffed bear on the bed, to the fire place with its unique candles, to the outside terrace...it was fantastic. The staff was extremely nice. The pool area is very relaxing with a very private lounge area. Minutes from superior jewelry shopping. You will not go wrong picking this hotel, whether you are a single person or a couple. It is romantic!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CarolinagirlTeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were at the Hotel for our annual conference. VESTA, Viticulture & Enology which entailed alot of discussions in separate rooms and much activity for our group. The Hotel went beyond expectations to coordinate and make sure we had what we needed. Our group from all over the US had a great Santa Fe and beyond experience...New Mexico is great and enchanting and our wine industry is "blossoming". They are now more aware of NM wines and the Santa Fe experience.

Room Tip: Top floors near balconies....great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
645 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,450 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,665 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: £146 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 136 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto
Inn And Spa At Loretto Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing