We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we've come to expect in a Hampton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hampton Inn Santa Fe
Ranked #43 of 62 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reviewed 30 September 2013

WIFI IS TERRIBLE. . .TERRIBLE. . .TERRIBLE. This is so significant as we are all, mostly, so connected and it is extremely important that we have access to wifi. We are traveling cross country and are planning our day trips and future route day to day via the information available on the Internet. With most families now having more than one "connected" device, hotels have to step up and improve their Internet access. Having said all that, I'm going to first indicate the negatives of this hotel, and then the positives, as there are quite a few positives. Other than the wifi being incredibly slow, we were in a room in the smoking hallway. Although our room did not smell of smoke, as soon as you stepped out into the hallway, it was really bad. Then when we left, everything we had in the hotel room smelled strongly of smoke. We really didn't notice this until we were in the van, and we kept smelling smoke. We knew it had to be from our luggage and its contents. The water restricter in the bathroom sink caused the water flow to be really slow even to get a cup of water. The lighting could have been a little better. The beds were very, very soft (don't really like that). Actually, after 3 nights, my back was killing me. The comforter on the bed was very heavy in weight and warmth. The blanket alternative in the closet was just as heavy. The A/C unit was really loud. . .I mean really loud, although I should appreciate the fact that it worked. This particular Hampton was starting to show its age. It is just a little warn. Now for the positives. . .All staff extremely friendly and helpful; many outlets to charge all your electronic devices (although does it matter if you have trouble then getting wifi?); great large HDTV with HD signal; frig and microwave in room; great water pressure in shower; on busy road, but did not notice; more than ample Hampton breakfast with waffle maker, fresh fruit (really fresh with no sugar water added), breads, hard boiled eggs on 1 of the 3 days we spent here, really good and ample coffee service; young lady at breakfast very, very personable. I am only rating this with a 3 star because of the slow wifi. If you don't care about that, I would rate it a 4 star instead of 5 only because of the age. We got the 3 nights at a really good rate. Would not stay here again only because of the slow wifi and the really soft mattress. We were in room 233. If you are not a smoker, ask for a room away from this hallway

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank funhogs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcosPerez_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

We really appreciate your feedback as it helps us to take some decisions. We will look into the issues you brought up to our attention and make sure we fix them. We apologize for not completely meeting your expectations as we strive to satisfy every guest! We do appreciate you acknowledging our friendly staff and we do have a great breakfast. We hope you can come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

We were so surprised at the negative reviews for this hotel. We stayed two nights and had a very pleasant experience. We had a king suite that had a refrigerator and microwave as well as a pull out sofa. The room was clean and roomy. We had an opportunity to use the laundry facilties that were adequate, if a little pricey. The gym was also adequate and more comfortable than many Hampton Inns we have stayed in. We appreciated the extra plugs for our electronic devices, but the wi-fi was very slow. The hotel was about 12 minutes from the Santa Fe Plaza and other local sites as well as numerous restaurants. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast ladies were very pleasant and hard working during a busy time with a busload of senior citizens. It was a little hairy exiting the hotel as the traffic was very busy, but we are from Atlanta, so we are used to traffic.



Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcosPerez_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are thrilled that you had a wonderful experience at our Hampton Inn. We really enjoy giving our guests the best possible experience at the hotel. Thank you for choosing our Hampton Inn as your choice of lodging.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Staff was courteous, friendly, and knowledgeable. Maid service outstanding. Room was very clean and fresh. Breakfast was great and the afternoon lemonade outstanding and refreshing. The pool and exercise room were well maintained. Did not use the internet or business center. Only problem was the access door getting in from the parking lot.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
4  Thank Charles L. A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcosPerez_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

We really appreciate your great review. We pride ourselves in excellent customer service and delivering the cleanest rooms to our guests. Our entire staff appreciates your wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We spent the night here, checking in at 8pm. When we left at 6:30 am the next morning, we found our truck front door glass smashed out and our navi and radar detector stolen. The police when they arrived 1/2 hour later told us this hotel gets more cars broken into than any other hotel in Santa Fe by far and he couldn't believe they had no security cameras. Another car was broken into the same night on the other side of the hotel. The hotel is an older hotel and is the most outdated of any Hampton Inn we have ever stayed in. We walked to a restaurant 2 blocks away for dinner and did not feel comfortable or safe which should have been a warning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oldguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcosPerez_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

First of all, thank you for leaving your feedback of your recent experience with us. I sincerely apologize for the unfortunate experience you had during your stay. I appreciate your bringing this incident to my attention and allowing me to follow up with our security team. . I personally have contacted the police and they told me is happening everywhere not specifically at our Hotel, which has been addressed in the local newspapers. They are taking some additional measurements as well. The safety of our guests is our top priority, and we will be looking into options to make our property safer. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed her for one night driving Route 66 and had a wonderful stay. Staff at the front desk were really helpful and thanks to them we had a wonderful meal in the old town. We also managed to squeeze in some outlet shopping! Thank you to all at the hotel we really appreciated your help.

Stayed: August 2013
4  Thank MrandMrsTuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcosPerez_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you very much for your perfect review, we are really happy you had such an outstanding stay at our Hampton Inn. We really appreciate you sharing your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This Hampton did not meet the standard that we have come to expect from this hotel group. The pillows are worst we have ever come across in any hotel. There are a number of other hotels in the area that this Hampton is located. We would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcosPerez_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

First of all, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We have recently bought the pillows, we are using the standard Hampton pillows, however; we do want to apologize for not meeting your expectations. Once again, thank you very much for your feedback, we will look into the issues a little further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The hotel is conveniently located. The staff is friendly and helpful and our room was cleaned. However, the furniture is dirty and needs to be replaced, the hotel needs painting inside and the carpet needs to be replaced. We were in a non-smoking room, but, the hall smelled of cigarette smoke and the scent used to disguise it smelled unpleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcosPerez_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

First of all, thank you very much for leaving a review of your recent stay with us. I'm glad to hear that you found our location to be desirable. I understand you were unhappy with the smell in the hallway due to the smoking rooms, I am very sorry for this. We take a lot of pride in our guests being satisfied and apologize that we were unable to meet those expectations. I have notified our housekeeping staff to prevent this from happening in the future. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope that if your travels bring you back to the area, you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Santa Fe
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Santa Fe
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Santa Fe
Courtyard Santa Fe
#38 of 62 in Santa Fe
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Santa Fe
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Santa Fe
Comfort Suites Santa Fe
#15 of 62 in Santa Fe
977 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
#17 of 62 in Santa Fe
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Santa Fe

Address: 3625 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87507-2908
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 62 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range: £72 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Santa Fe 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Santa Fe New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing