We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms / No personality” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hampton Inn Santa Fe
Ranked #38 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice rooms / No personality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2006

Spent 3 nights here. It's okay, but lacks any hint of personality, which is unfortunate in 'the City Different". I've stayed in many Santa Fe area hotels. This one is forgettable.

To be fair, this Hampton has been remodeled ... well, at least the rooms and lobby/breakfast area.

The hallways and side entrances are pretty beat. But once you enter your room you'll find everything clean and relatively new. Beds have been replaced and guarantee a good night's sleep.

Indoor pool and fitness areas are okay. Breakfast is horrid ... head out and enjoy a native New Mexican breakfast experience at one of the many local restaurants instead.

It's a 15-minute drive to the Plaza down busy Cerrillos Road. Watch the red lights ... Santa Fe recently installed hundreds of intersection cameras to catch unsuspecting tourists running yellows and reds ... must need a boost to the city and county tax base!

Bottom line: safe, clean, comfortable. Just needs a little personality!

  • Liked — Updated clean rooms
  • Disliked — Ugly side entrances and hallways
  • Tips/Secrets — Skip the breakfast and try a local restaurant!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank JoeFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    146
    103
    52
    28
See reviews for
155
197
37
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2006

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights recently. We were delighted to see the clean breakfast area ajacent to the registration desk. The free internet PC was in this area, all well lit and near the coffee and refreshments. The front staff was very professional, especially for a hotel of the level.
Our room was large, very clean & fresh (a no-smoking room), well lit, and large. The comforter with pillows were clean and inviting. The bathroom was spottless and well lit, and large (it was a handicap room). Bed was very comfortable (for me).
The parking lot was well lit and entry to the hotel thru the side door was convient..and the parking is free, I am not sure if hotels around the Plaza charge for daily parking or not.. Our room was quiet, and for women travelling alone, I felt very safe during our stay.
Although I did not use the fitness center, I did take a look at it, and once again, for a hotel at this level, the equipment seemed to be in good working order, and just enough equipment that you could get a good workout.
The breakfast was great...fresh cut fruit, all kinds of breads, muffins, cereals, pastries, hot entree daily (eggs, or waffles etc.).
When I go to Santa Fe, I explore the city, and do use my car, so although it may be more convient to stay at the plaza area, it is also a lot more expensive. I need only a clean, safe place with comfortable beds. This hotel was that and more....well worth the drive to and from the city. I will stay here on all future trips.
Please keep in mind, although I state that this is a very comfortable hotel, it is not a luxury hotel...but, I found it to be tops in comparison with other hotels of this level.

  • Liked — clean, safe, comfortable beds...great breakfast.
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
10 Thank Musicwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2006

We stayed here for 2 nights and were very happy with the place. Our room was in very good condition, reasonably well equipped and spotless.

The breakfast was good and while, as other correspondents have pointed out, the break fast area is small it was never a problem for us.

Reception staff were helpful (and recommended the excellent Blue Corn Cafe for dinner)

Free internet access was good. Only possible problem is that the htoel is quite a long way from the Plaza and some of the surroundings are not great but presumably that is the downside of the price compared to more central establishments.

The hotel is wheelchair accessible (for ground floor rooms)

We would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Axwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2006

Have stayed in Hampton Inns all across the US and this one was very disappointing. Problems included: unfriendly staff, no elevator, noisy, very small breakfast area, and not that clean. In summary, I would never stay here again. This Hampton Inn simply does not meet the basic criteria I expect from the Hampton Inn chain!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Fe hotels

Oklahoma City, OK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2006

Not your average Hampton Inn; much worse. Check-in clerk was surly, air conditioner was on it's last legs and so noisy I couldn't sleep. Floor didn't get vacuumed during our 3 day stay. Breakfast was scrambled egg on a bagel bottom which was unedible and worst of all there is NO elevator. We checked out a day early because this hotel was so unpleasant. Hampton should drop this lemon from it's chain.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank goinallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2006

I asked the desk clerk for a room in a quieter part of the hotel, and I got an upstairs room next to a busy stairwell. I heard EVERYTHING in that stairwell - walking up/down the stairs, children complaining, adults having cell phone conversations, doors slamming (which shook my walls.) At breakfast, there were very few tables to begin with - then hotel staff encouraged children to take a table separate from their parents to use as coloring tables - all the while other guests had nowhere to sit and eat their meal. So if these things don't bother you, you'll probably have a fine experience.

  • Stayed February 2006, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerrySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol, ri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2005

Stayed 6 nights this October. I found it to be clean,
secure and a great value. Staff was friendly and helpful. The comfortable breakfast room offered fresh
baked biscuits and a good variety of items to start the day. I encountered no problems during my stay. Convenient location on Cerrillos Road, easy
commute into downtown, easy access for side trips out of town. Near many restaurants, stores, and services for the traveler.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bristolguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Santa Fe
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#14 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Santa Fe
La Quinta Inn Santa Fe
#35 of 60 in Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Santa Fe
Courtyard Santa Fe
#43 of 60 in Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Santa Fe

Property: Hampton Inn Santa Fe
Address: 3625 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87507-2908
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Santa Fe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Santa Fe New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing