We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for the Price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Santa Fe Suites
Ranked #46 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for the Price!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is a well-located, attractive, budget hotel perfect for our week at the Santa Fe Opera. Close to I-25, it has excellent access to the opera, shopping, casinos and sightseeing. A car is an absolute must, but a supermarket, Sandwich Shop, pharmacy, nail salon and Papa Murphy's is a 5 minute stroll from the suites. Old Town is about 15 minutes away, so it's the best of both worlds. Housekeeping was efficient and gracious (it helps to have a little Spanish), but sometimes it took until 4pm to have my room done.

The staff is excellent, the bed a bit soft, but comfortable, and the little kitchenette with fridge, microwave and dishwasher was great. I had dish washer powder and a sparse collection of silverware, while my family's unit had more dishes and glasses, but no dish washer soap. Anything you need can be picked up at the nearby Albertson's or asked for at the front desk where everyone was very accommodating.

Breakfast was from 5:30 to 9:30 and had variety of juices, Danish, breads, English muffins, cereals, and coffee. The only real negative was that unit doors don't have a chain or a bolt for added security, so bring your own old fashioned door stopper for especially if traveling alone. For the price, I'd say that the Santa Fe Suites gets 5 Stars as a budget hotel and is a great place to stay if you have access to a car. I'll definitely return for my next Opera Week!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maresy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    178
    107
    54
    42
See reviews for
92
186
53
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Everything is old, musky, carpets are gross, it looks like cigarettes were put out on it and it's been around for a very, very long time.

The rooms look like small apartment, quite cute from the outside, if one ignores all the cigarette butts everywhere.

Cigarette smell everywhere, not just in front of room.

Kitchen: One knife, one fork, one

Bathroom: Small, yet adequate. Shower was only luke warm for 10 minutes, and the water pressure wasn't great. Drain looks gross.

Front desk: Asked whether all the beds were the same (old futon on an old box spring), he said, yea, kinda." I then asked whether the sheets never fit (ours were way too small for the bed, he said "Well, I'm at the front desk, I don't know." So, I asked if he'd tell housekeeping, and he just said they were gone.
We needed to get soap and detergent since the housekeeping forgot... he did give us those items, along with a blanket we asked for (old, thin sheet and "blanket" on the "bed"). The reason for us not returning: Mostly his conduct.
Sleeping in the bed was no fun, considering it's a very old futon with not much for covers, and I'm glad we "only" paid $67.

Town is 10 minutes away, the lake around 20, driving. Plenty of restaurants, including a gluten-free bakery/sandwich shop. With a car, the location is fine.

VERY LOUD. Hearing neighbors talking, cars moving... constant. 7am: I'm not sure if it was the trash truck.. I just know that it woke everybody and kept everybody in the complex awake. Other than that, the noises in the room are crazy-loud. The fridge, the air conditioner, the fan in the bathroom... and other noises we couldn't figure out where they were coming from.

Allergies are high after the night here; breathing is difficult with the smoke all over the property, and the unwashed bed stuff combined with the old carpet didn't help either.

The TV was placed in a way that one could only watch when setting up a wooden chair a few feet from it. No way to watch from the "bed" or the "couch (which we kept away from)."

is this a joke... the webpage for this hotel says: "Stay at the Best Among Hotels in Santa Fe, NM" ????????????? They also speak of "generous amenities..." They are referring to wifi, laundry, full kitchen and continental breakfast included.

We didn't use the laundry facilities, we did notice that they had several washers and dryers available, though.

Room Tip: room 228 is upstairs, at the same level and next to 3 rooms; one of them is a smoking room. It smell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank rustyferrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Fe hotels

Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here twice while visiting family and just needing something basic and inexpensive. The pros are that it was clean, it has a small kitchenette, and the staff are friendly and helpful. However, the mattress and bedding are definitely substandard. The sheets are thin and the two small pillows were not adequate or comfortable. The bottom sheet was not fitted, and continually came loose from the mattress. The mattress was lumpy. Two other suggestions..please add a hook tho the bathroom door, and add a blow dryer.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank faedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunkirk, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We were a late arrival, so I guess the "good" rooms were all gone. The first room had filthy pet-stained carpets and smelled like smoke so bad that we immediately asked to be moved. We knew we couldn't sleep there. Smelled like someone had been smoking in there 10 minutes ago. We had SPECIFICALLY requested NON-SMOKING ACCOMMODATIONS! The second room was a bit better; it had cigarette burns in the carpet and smelled slightly of smoke, but we stayed there one night because they had no more rooms. We saw the manager in the morning and demanded to be moved. He was very accommodating and gave us another room. The third room had some electrical issues that were being repaired so we could not get in until later in the day, but that was okay as were were gone the entire day anyway. We just left our bags in the car and moved them in that evening. The rest of our stay was uneventful. The decor of the rooms was dated and in the 2nd room the coffee pot was broken and there was no hairdryer, but they gave me one at the front desk.. The continental breakfast was adequate, but not good--mostly starchy foods, little fruit, and no hot food unless you count instant oatmeal as hot food. It was okay, but I wouldn't stay there again. We had booked through Priceline.com so the price was non-refundable unless we went through them, which we would have done if the manager had not been able to offer us an adequate room.

Room Tip: This looked like a charming and quaint hotel from the internet pictures, but it was really rather da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My night at Santa Fe Suites was spent tossing and turning in sheets and an undercover that were one size too small for the Queen size bed. The couch was worn out and broken in, and the blankest looked like they had been in someone's grandparent's house for 20 years. Don't bother coming here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jturkle56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

To begin with the reception person was not at all accommodating. One bedroom did not have enough towels for three people and a noisy a/c. The second room one of the beds had a torn box spring. When we mentioned this to the front desk. He just simply ignore the comment and made no effort to move us. We had to constantly call the front desk for towels. Would not recommend for anyone to stay here. Like another reviewer mentioned, we got this room through Priceline and not able to cancel. Won't ever do that again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Property needs major renovation. Beds need to be replaced!!! Box springs very worn and mattresses very lumpy. Musty smell to the room. Would not recommend for anyone to stay here. Unfortunately we got this room through Priceline and not able to cancel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quenina55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Inn At Santa Fe
#32 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites
#15 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Downtown
Santa Fe Motel and Inn
Santa Fe Motel and Inn
#8 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Santa Fe Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Santa Fe Suites

Property: The Santa Fe Suites
Address: 3007 S Saint Francis Dr, Santa Fe, NM 87505-6964 (Formerly Camel Rock Suites)
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Santa Fe Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Santa Fe Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
The Hotel Santa Fe
The Santa Fe Suites New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing