We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautifully renovated. Quiet rooms on floors 3+. Slow wifi. Good for meetings.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Fonda on the Plaza
Ranked #8 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautifully renovated. Quiet rooms on floors 3+. Slow wifi. Good for meetings.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

This historic hotel was renovated in 2013, and it is lovely. The location is superb for tourists.

It's a great place to hold a meeting. I was there for a conference of about 110 people, and the facilities and hotel staff were perfect for the event.

Something to watch out for is room location. The hallway will be noisy outside many of the 1st and 2nd floor guest rooms. The hallways on these floors get a lot of traffic due to meeting rooms, offices, pool, banquet facilities, etc.

When I checked in early, I was offered a 1st floor room directly across from the pool/spa, on a heavily trafficked hallway. I declined, and happily waited a couple of hours, until the usual check-in time, so that I could get a 3rd floor room which was perfectly quiet.

The reason I deducted one point: the free wi-fi is often very very slow:

This very slow wi-fi happens during the day if there is a meeting going on, when attendees use their phones or laptops, and it happens during the evening as well. It was not good enough for a Skype voice call, much less a Skype video call. Sometimes I went to the free "business center" on the 2nd floor to use their desktop computers, because they had a much faster internet connection. I'm not sure what the problem is -- maybe the hotel just doesn't have enough wifi capacity, or maybe it's because everyone is using a single easily-remembered password that doesn't seem to change.

Room Tip: For a quiet room, specify the third floor or higher, not near an elevator. The first floor room I wa...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,365
    448
    109
    49
    42
See reviews for
335
905
88
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
669 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is a hotel in a historic building that preserves history as well as a tradition of confutable premisses and good service.

Not to mentioned that is located right in central Santa Fe, a walking distance to a series of nice shops, restaurants and museums.

The hotel has a charming restaurant called La Plazuela, located in its internal patio of Spanish style, which is also the place for breakfast. There is also a bar close to the lobby which has live music and space for dance during some nights.

The building was designed by the architect Mary Colter, who also designed many building at the Grand Canyon National Park area.She was hired by Fred Harvey to design hotels and lodges along the Santa Fe railway path for the company to offer quality accommodation and food to travelers at the end of the 19th century/beginning of the 20th century.

She was known for take care of all details, especially for decoration and for making environments that make people feel like if they were at their own or in somebody´s house.

This care for details is reveled all over the hotel, in its entrance, lobby, decoration at the corridors, objects and paintings in this areas and in the rooms. Even in the basement, where the garage is, the pillars are painted with pictures of branches and leaves. The rooms and also bathrooms were charming, well decorated places. The only down side from our room is that there was dirty water coming out of a tube right in the verandah outside our window. it was disgusting to see it and it could easily be directed with an additional tube until the drain. The hotel has a small outdoor swimming pool and a room for massage. There are plenty of shops in the level of the lobby with quality objects and souvenirs, and a convenience store. The hotel keeps a series of interesting photos showing the building in the past and now, after having had a wonderful and careful renovation that managed to preserve the buildings spirit.

The breakfast was good and only offered a la carte. I missed having dinner there. We tried at the night we arrived, but the place was packed and in the next night we went to another restaurant that we had already planned. It seems that it´s usually busy in the hotel´s restaurant. So, if wanting to go there, I suggest making reservations. Many pairings from local artists were added to the hotel´s art collection spread on its premisses.

Same goes for the terrace and bar on the top floor, which is famous for having a very nice spot to see the sunset. However, not only guests, but many people come there for that reason and in order to get a table, it´s necessary to make a reservation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JuPereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had such a wonderful stay at La Fonda. We enjoyed everything they offered very much; everything was perfect but especially the 5* treatment by the staff, their wonderful restaurant, and the wonderful staff at the Bell Tower Bar at the top!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nanstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, New Mexico
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is my favorite hotel in Santa Fe, The hotel takes up a city block and is truly a central point in the history of Santa Fe and NM. Old world charm combined with unique shops and classic NM dining. The rooms are nicely appointed. If it's your first trip to the 'City Different', I recommend this hotel. Wander the halls and check out the hotel's flyer on the history of the area. There are also ghosts from the past throughout the establishment. Being in the plaza, you are at the heart of Santa Fe and within walking distance to several sites, museums and art galleries. One day, Santa Fe will claim the title of oldest continuously lived-in city in the US (yep, older than St. Augustine, FL). La Fonda is a little on the $$ side, but in line with all the other establishments in the immediate area and certainly the best for the location.

Room Tip: no comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CTAWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed for a week in July, driving in. The hotel has its own parking garage which was easy to find. The staff was very efficient and courteous when helping with our luggage. We had the traditional room which at first glance might seem a bit small but we really spent very little time there. The hotel is right on the corner of the historic plaza and there was a concert in the park every afternoon and evening. The hotel has three restaurants plus a rooftop bar which was a great place to watch the sun go down behind the mountains. Many other eateries are within walking distance. Overall a relaxing stay in an historic area with unique architecture. And don't miss the neat little French restaurant and bakery right off the main lobby.

Room Tip: When checking in ask for a room with a view. We had the Loretto Chapel right outside our window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We make a yearly trek from Denver to Santa Fe with our best friends to attend the Santa Fe Opera. For the last few years we have stayed at La Fonda in the terrace rooms. We couldn't be happier with the rooms, service, location, food and staff. This year, our car broke down and we had to stay a couple extra nights. Adrian, head of guest services, was amazing. He helped us get a room, assisted us with a rental car and was genuinely enthusiastic in wanting to help us in whatever we needed.

Room Tip: All the rooms have been newly renovated and are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
493 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

The hotel has convenient off street parking right next to the hotel itself and it is located just feet from the central plaza. The restaurant in the hotel was very good for dinner and breakfast and there was an independently run French Bakery on premise for coffee and pastries. The gym is very limited and one of the two treadmills was not functional but the pool was nice. The terrace called the Bell Tower was worth a visit at cocktail hour for a great view of the sunset. I commend them on offering free wif. Overall an excellent choice and good value for money. It is what I would classify as a four star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,011 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Property: La Fonda on the Plaza
Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501-2110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include no resort fee, Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. Upgrades such as spacious sitting areas, cozy fireplaces, separate living and sleeping areas, and balconies are available throughout the hotel. The Terrace private concierge level offers 15 exclusive, luxury-level rooms and suites built around a rooftop terrace with stunning views of Santa Fe. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda On The Plaza Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing