We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel- great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Fonda on the Plaza
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel- great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Great newly renovated room! The location is perfect for walking around downtown and Canyon Road is nearby. The Bell Tower is wonderful for afternoon and evening drinks and lite food. There is a parking garage. The restaurant is very good, but mostly, the location is fabulous!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sfpol40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,417
    457
    109
    47
    38
See reviews for
342
939
89
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
246 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We once lived in Santa Fe and now like to return in the summertime to enjoy the wonderful town.
The center of Santa Fe is the La Fonda Hotel. The history of Santa Fe is on the walls of this ancient hotel and in the old floors and in the very woodwork. We love the atmosphere and can easily imagine what it was like in the days of the Wild West.
Our remodeled room had a wonderful hand-painted red headboard. The rooms have all been thoughtfully remodeled to not lose the old charm and art of the original.
We ate both our dinner and breakfast at La Plazuela, their restaurant, and the prices were quite reasonable. We prefer to stay with the New Mexican food, rather than the continental food, as the kitchen understands chili peppers and great flavors.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grand old girl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Was there for business conference with my family. They were coming in from different originating cities. Flights got totally messed up with everyone arriving at least a day late. My son (minor) was the first to arrive and Hotel staff took care of all different arrivals with no fuss and let him check in and had him fed (most important part for him) until I arrived much later in the evening.

This hotel boasts about making you feel like family. It is not an idle boast or marketing tool. Staff from concierge to housekeeping were friendly, kind and flexible. I've been to the hotel a number of years around the same time (Spanish Market). Even though it is literally jam packed with people, there wasn't anything we requested (rollaway; extra blankets; towels) that they didn't deliver or hand to be reminded.

And unlike other 4-5 star hotels, you don't get the "attitude." Even during the peak front desk time, they have 4-5 people at the desk, helping guests check in, out and taking walk up questions from non-guests, everyone treated in a courteous and friendly manner.

Due to airline rescheduling, we had to check out of the hotel before 5 a.m.. Someone was there, had my bill ready and it was a breeze.

The hotel was such a welcome oasis during our trip, and it's the staff that made all the difference.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the La Terraza tower. If it is too expensive, then for a wonderful New Mexico sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank THSHong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prairie Grove, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

When we checked into the La Fonda, we found that our room was right next to the elevator. Concerned about the noise, we asked if we could be moved to another room. Not only did Patrick move us to a much quieter location...he also gave us vouchers for breakfast for two days!! We were very pleased with the location, the food, and the staff at La Fonda...we look forward to another stay in the near future!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pam0528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worland, Wyoming, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights at the la Fonda and it was a nice experience! The rooms have original art and it is really an experience to stay here. Loved it and would stay there again. They have great breakfast and everyone was so accommodating.



Very one w

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
330 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

It was July. It was hot and crowded outside during the Folk Festival Weekend. I decided to shop inside in the La Fonda Lobby. Where would I buy that painting I'd been waiting for? I had to look no farther than the gift shop where I selected from a group of Mary Beth paintings. I bought a landscape and a painting of a doorway with flowers from Canyon Road. Just down the hallway was a group of shops selling everything from handbags to jewelry to clothing. There was even an Indian gallery. When you wanted lunch, right there next to a painting of a Spanish dancer was the French Pastry Shop, the best restaurant in town with artistic animal breads and luscious chocolate mousse. In the atrium sat La Plazuela. Complete with public restrooms and its own parking garage, what more could you want? The Santa Fe outside La Fonda's doors was only second best.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

As all the reviews note, La Fonda has a great location in the heart of Santa Fe. It is a lively, bustling hotel, nicely decorated. However, should you have any reason to deal with a front desk clerk named Jeremy, run the other way.

High points - larger than expected rooms. We booked a one bedroom suite. We expected it to be a good size, but it exceeded expectations. It had a good size bedroom, large sitting room with sofabed, large walk in closet and supersized bathroom. Room was pleasantly furnished in an understated southwest style. Breakfast (included with our package) was well worth it - delicious food and large portions in the attractive interior roofed courtyard.

Lesser points - Despite being really large, most of the bathroom was empty space, and there was oddly limited room for toiletries, makeup kits, hair curlers, etc. Also, the hotel is not set back from the street at all, making the rooms on lower floors (which is most of the rooms) right at or just above street level. Finally, air conditioning didn't work real well, so it was always a bit too hot in the room at night (despite being cool outside - but street level room prevented us from leaving the windows open at night).

Our horrible front desk experience: Our introduction to La Fonda started out poorly, and then got worse. Knowing the narrow and crowded streets around the Plaza, we called the hotel from the road to get instruction on where to pull up and drop off our luggage. The hotel's website gives directions to their connected parking garage, but I didn't notice any instructions about bell service for luggage. In case, we called the front desk shortly before arrival to inquire about where to drop the luggage. We spoke to Jeremy, who told us that upon arrival we should pull up at the front door and bell service would find us. We were specifically told that bell service was available at the front door, but not in the parking garage. This turned out to be false on both counts. You want to go to the parking garage, and there is plenty of assistance available there. I have no explanation for the completely wrong information provided over the phone by Jeremy - the conversation was very clear and there was no chance for confusion - except that he messing with us just for the sadistic pleasure of it.

We when finally got the luggage straightened out upon arrival, we were greeted at the front desk by Jeremy. As he was pulling up our reservation on the computer, we mentioned that we hoped he could assign us a quiet room, not too close to an elevator. He shook his head, said that they had only one room in our category (one bedroom suite, one of their nicer rooms) available, that it was on the first floor, right by the street and right next to an elevator. He said that no one liked that room, and suggested that we cancel our reservation and that they might be able to help us find a room at another hotel somewhere in Santa Fe. We were shocked. We researched our hotel carefully, and chose it based on location, room size, amenities, and comfort for three people in one room. If we wanted to stay somewhere else, we would have booked somewhere else. We had never been welcomed by hotel so apparently eager to get rid of us. He eventually was able to come up with a room with two double beds, instead of the king and sofa bed, but that didn't fit our needs and would have been a smaller room category. Had two double beds been acceptable, we would have stayed at the Hilton where we could have stayed for free.

Eventually we located a manager who was much nicer, was able to show us one other one bedroom suite, and was generally a kind, concerned and accommodating person, totally unlike the first clerk. We eventually ended up staying in the room on the first floor near the elevator. The noise didn't end up being too bad, but the air conditioning never worked right, so we didn't sleep well for that reason.

In all, if you avoid Jeremy at the front desk, you should enjoy La Fonda if the other reviews make it sound like a place you want to stay. In the end, two of the three in our group liked it overall, and one hated it. If you want a bit greater chance of quiet, then perhaps choose somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerPGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFondaManager, General Manager at La Fonda on the Plaza, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear TravellerPGH

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at La Fonda. We deeply apologize for the misdirection you received upon your arrival to the hotel. It absolutely should have been explained in more detail to you that the garage entrance is where the valet service is located. More importantly, your reception at the front desk is absolutely inexcusable and should never have taken place. We were glad that Fermin was able to direct you to three available rooms, one being the one-bedroom suite that you selected and that you graciously accepted our conciliatory offer of champagne, chocolates and a discount on the suite during your stay. We hope that you will give La Fonda another chance to improve upon your initial impressions in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Property: La Fonda on the Plaza
Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501-2110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include no resort fee, Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. Upgrades such as spacious sitting areas, cozy fireplaces, separate living and sleeping areas, and balconies are available throughout the hotel. The Terrace private concierge level offers 15 exclusive, luxury-level rooms and suites built around a rooftop terrace with stunning views of Santa Fe. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda On The Plaza Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing