We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique bad uniquely prepared Mexican Cuisine”

Sabor Cocina Mexicana
Reserve with OpenTable
Sabor Cocina Mexicana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 215 Restaurants in Thousand Oaks
Price range: US$1 - US$30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Amerikaner im Schweiz
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Unique bad uniquely prepared Mexican Cuisine”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Truly uncommon. The menu doesn't resemble a conventional Mexican restaurant in North America, and this makes it all the more interesting. I've taken both Spaniards and native Mexican citizens here and they leave roundly pitched with a smile on their faces. Weeks later each has e-mailed me asking, "what was the name of that place again? I want to send a friend there."

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abbadiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    40
    17
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westlake Village, California, USA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Weekend brunch”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Great Mexican food and awesome Margarita's. Diverse menu offering seasonal items as well as traditional, simple Mexican faire

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mitch W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Jicama Tacos and Guacamole!”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is the only place I have ever been to that serves tacos with the shell made from jicama--and they are fantastic. The jicama is sliced paper thin so it bends like a taco and is filled with chicken and mango sauce. They are the best!!! They also have jicama chips and the best guacamole ever. I cannot account for any of the other things on the menu because this is all my family gets....although the jicama may be out of season in the winter months. We usually eat in the bar or outside since the inside is a bit gaudy for our taste.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous8182014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Friday night experience”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Just been here again and want to say how nice it was. We started off in the bar, met some friends later. We had a great little table in a semi-circle booth, very sociable. I love everything here, the decor, the food, the staff. The staff here are very attentive and always look smart and well presented. The noise level was also good. We have been to a few restaurants in the area lately where you cannot hear yourself think, but I noted it was just right here, lively enough but we were able to have a decent conversation without shouting. I think by US standards the portions may be considered by some people to be small, but I still find the entrees very filling and I would rather have quality over quantity. Plus, we did put away at least three bowls of complimentary chips and dip prior to the meal. The salsa tasted lovely and fresh and spicy. The absolute best thing about this place for me is that you can make an evening of it if you would like. They are more than happy to go at your pace, and we lingered over more drinks and coffee and weren't rushed out of the door as can happen in many places. It is lovely to have an upscale place to go to at the Lakes that won't break the bank. We'll be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SophieG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in town”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I am a local and have lived in the Conejo Valley for more than 20 years. Sabor is by far my favorite restaurant in town. I have had dozens of meals here and have never been disappointed. The ambiance is fantastic, food is perfect and service is some of the best I have experienced. The wait staff is passionate about the food and can describe each meal and give excellent recommendations... I cannot reccommend this restaurant enough.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kasi_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sabor Cocina Mexicana also viewed

 
Thousand Oaks, CA
Westlake Village, CA
 
Westlake Village, CA
 

Been to Sabor Cocina Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing