We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice neighborhood tratorria”

Vitello's Trattoria
Ranked #92 of 215 Restaurants in Thousand Oaks
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Really nice neighborhood tratorria”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We like this place a lot. Favorites include chicken parmasean, pesto pizzetta, spaghetti a la carbonara, and calamari. The service is usually friendly and efficient, but our last time there it was terrible. We came in hungary for our 6:30 reservation. The restaurant was not at all full that early in the evening as expected. What was unexpected and really frustrating is that main course wasn't served until 7:45. Our server apologized, but I could tell our friends who had never been there wondered by we liked this place so much. I still rate it very good because previous experiences were quite pleasant. And we'll probably go back, just not on a Saturday night.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank miandho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    6
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pahoa,HI
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Vince,family and staff are incredible!! The menu is ginormous and you really have a hard time deciding what to eat. My favorite is Farfalle a la Restivo. Delicious! I would eat there daily --if I could, SO Many choices! Atmosphere is lovely,comfy and cozy with wonderful music softly playing in the background.Staff is very efficient and knowledgeable.Can't say enough about this wonderful family restaurant!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshfield, Wisconsin, United States
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“An intimate Italian dinner at a reasonable price”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We took other Trip Advisor reviewers' advice and visited Vitello's while staying in Thousand Oaks and looking for a nice dinner spot. The dining room is small and intimate, and we felt a little under-dressed in jeans, but our waitress didn't seem to mind and gave us good service. No specials, but the menu is extensive, and the portions are large. A loaf of hot bread is brought to the table. Salads are ala carte, but reduced price with a meal. We couldn't finish all we ordered, but still choose to take some home and order an excellent canolli for dessert. Several other tables celebrating birthdays in the small dining room had the waiters singing, which made the whole atmosphere feel like family. Enjoyed our time there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Pizza! Great Food!”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

With the pizza chains and limited choices out here in THousand Oaks, my family could never agree on what place to get pizza, but when Vitello's opened, we finally found a pizza that everyone LOVES! The pizza is delicious, right amount of cheese to tomato to crust ratio and not overloaded with pepperoni. We've had spaghetti with marinara. where the pasta is thick and the sauce flavorful. My husband had the minestrone soup and said it was very good. The service is always fast and friendly. I would highly recommend Vitello's.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mama Mia It is great.”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Excellent cuisine, good service ,and nicely appointed, Vince, the owner will do anything to please us.All of our 14 group were very satisfied with al of the various dishes.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vitello's Trattoria also viewed

 
Westlake Village, CA
 

Been to Vitello's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing