We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very rude staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 Thousand Oaks, CA
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Thousand Oaks
perris
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very rude staff”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The staff here in the motel need people skills. customers should be treated with respect and not like criminals. when we told them we saw bed bugs they got defesive. if you are plaining on staying in this motel i would look some were else.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank armando h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    41
    23
    17
    22
See reviews for
26
31
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Very rude staff. Filthy carpet and I wouldn't walk barefoot. Bath towels very thin and two were covered in black hair....ewwww. No pool, no shampoo, no hair dryer. One review I read mentioned breakfast, but that doesn't happen at this place. You have to pay for wi-fi, but we have smart phones that connect us.

Room Tip: I would never recommend this motel to my worst enemies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Thousand Oaks hotels

Mount Shasta, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The door to my room was terribly beaten so much that when I shut it part of the door remained opened. The rugs were old, worn and stained. The smell was "cigarette" and this was a non-smoking room. Out of all the Motel 6, this rooms was one of the most unacceptable. The tub had a rip on the edge and it was really small. Okay, I realize this is a cheap place, but there are other hotels out there that are a little more costly and take pets. LaQuinta is one hotel that does not charge for pets. Nothing that feels at home is working with me anymore. I have been on a long road trip and have had enough of Motel 6. Please make your rooms more inviting Motel 6. You have a great idea, but you are too stark and cold. No more generic for me.

Room Tip: Service is friendly! When I arrived, there were cops at the hotel. It is one of the larger of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

we were very pleased with the facility over all, especially with front desk service. they are very nice people and they do care about their guests.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slavo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2012

My daughter is staying at a motel 6 in Thousand Oaks Ca, she accidently locked her keys in the car. They are no help at all, asked for who to call they don't know! Called a locksmith he came out and charged her $40.00 to tell her she needs her key reprogramed,but keys are still in the car! He did nothing for $40. Now she has asked them for a screw driver, knife, or some sort of tool to get her window out NOTHING! Hope you never need a motel like this!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ca1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2011

This place wood be just fine if it didn't smell terrible. I bought a bottle of heavy duty febreeze bc I didn't want to bother changing hotels but I wish I had. I can't get rid of the smell - its a combination of sweat and dog. Since they charge a dog fee they should actually use that money to sanitize and deodorize the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachael888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I found this motel to be fine! It isn't a refurbished one, but aside from the gaudy bed-spread, the room was light and airy and smelt fresh and clean (it had a better smell than one of the refurbished ones we had stayed at prior) and has a much cosier feel to it. The bathroom is a little poky, but it didn't bother me. The service was great, the lady even called our room shortly after we'd settled in to make sure we were happy with it. Not on a very busy road, and if you have a room right at the back it's pretty much dead silent at night. Liquor store and various restaurants next door. I'd much rather pay a lot less and stay at this Motel 6, than almost double the drive and stay at a refurbished one, as nice as they are.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDM637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thousand Oaks
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
0.2 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thousand Oaks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County
8.5 mi away
Good Nite Inn Camarillo
Good Nite Inn Camarillo
#3 of 10 in Camarillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Thousand Oaks, CA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Thousand Oaks, CA

Property: Motel 6 Thousand Oaks, CA
Address: 1516 Newbury Road, US 101/Ventura Freeway at North Ventu Park Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-3440
Region: United States > California > Thousand Oaks
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Thousand Oaks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Thousand Oaks, CA 2*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Thousand Oaks, CA is located within walking distance to area restaurants. Shopping malls are nearby. California's beaches are only 21 miles. Relax in our outdoor pool. Wi-Fi is available in all of our modern guest rooms for a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel 6 Thousand Oaks, CA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Thousand Oaks South Hotel Thousand Oaks
Motel 6 1000 Oaks South
Motel Six Thousand Oaks
Thousand Oaks Motel 6
Thousand Oaks Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing