We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish it were closer to home!”
Review of Crown & Anchor Pub

Crown & Anchor Pub
Ranked #29 of 213 Restaurants in Thousand Oaks
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Santa Maria CA
Level Contributor
191 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Wish it were closer to home!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We love this pub, it's authentic food and atmosphere are hard to come by. We love the tall leather booths in the dining area that shield some of the noise from the actual bar area. However, having said that, the noise is not overwhelming or intrusive, just people having a good time while drinking a pint, nothing wrong with that mate!! The menu is large so there are many options if you're not into traditional English faire, we on the other hand are into English food and love their many choices. There are only two drawbacks, the first is what to order because there are so many good things to choose from and the other is how far away it is from where we live (approx 2 hours away). Other than that we have nothing but love for this place!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zekesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    19
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Love”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

I love getting to visit here when I come up to see my family. It doesn't matter if we come for lunch or dinner the food is always great. They also make a great Bloody Mary and my husband loved the variety of British beer on tap. Have to try this fun little place.

Helpful?
2 Thank CheetahBre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Hidden oasis”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

British Pub in a strip mall on the corner of Skyline and Thousand Oaks Blvd. Authentic pub food, including Steak + Kidney pie, Scotch Eggs, Curry's, and Bangers. Good Beer selection, reasonable prices, and great attitude.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank osohub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cap-d'Agde, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great dive bar!”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Perfect to grab a beer after work. Food is ok, it's bar food but its a great dive bar to unwind after a hard week at work

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Spot!”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Crown & Anchor was a great little spot with an outdoor patio. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Drinks were great, food was great, prices were great. Would highly recommend.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crown & Anchor Pub also viewed

 

Been to Crown & Anchor Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing