We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Love the atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown & Anchor Pub

Crown & Anchor Pub
Ranked #17 of 211 Restaurants in Thousand Oaks
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Love the atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I went there to watch the World Cup. Cute place. Extremely nice staff AND customers. I felt super comfortable there. I'll be there again in a week to watch some more games. I even made a new friend there. :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DrSiliLili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    18
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, USA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“British Pub Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

While visiting my uncle in Thousand Oaks, we tried a new dinner venue (at least to us). The Crown and Anchor is a typical British Pub in ambiance. The dining area and outdoor patio were sparsely utilized the evening we were there, but the bar seemed the gathering place for locals. For food, I had Kings Fish and Chips (average, typical pub food), my wife ordered the Cornish Pastie, a meat pie (again, just average, a little on the disappointing side), and my uncle ordered the “Toad-in-the-Hole” (his first, which he said was pretty good, but not good enough to order again). I thought the UK selection of beers/ales a bit wanting, so I ordered the Union Jack IPA, a brew by Firestone-Walker (excellent choice), my wife enjoyed a red ale, and my uncle chose a cider (which he rated as ‘not too bad’). At least for our first visit, we would have to say, the Crown & Anchor was a typical Pub with average food (maybe a little above average) and pretty good draught beer.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robbgrimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria CA
Level Contributor
158 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Wish it were closer to home!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We love this pub, it's authentic food and atmosphere are hard to come by. We love the tall leather booths in the dining area that shield some of the noise from the actual bar area. However, having said that, the noise is not overwhelming or intrusive, just people having a good time while drinking a pint, nothing wrong with that mate!! The menu is large so there are many options if you're not into traditional English faire, we on the other hand are into English food and love their many choices. There are only two drawbacks, the first is what to order because there are so many good things to choose from and the other is how far away it is from where we live (approx 2 hours away). Other than that we have nothing but love for this place!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zekesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Love”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

I love getting to visit here when I come up to see my family. It doesn't matter if we come for lunch or dinner the food is always great. They also make a great Bloody Mary and my husband loved the variety of British beer on tap. Have to try this fun little place.

Helpful?
2 Thank CheetahBre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Hidden oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

British Pub in a strip mall on the corner of Skyline and Thousand Oaks Blvd. Authentic pub food, including Steak + Kidney pie, Scotch Eggs, Curry's, and Bangers. Good Beer selection, reasonable prices, and great attitude.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank osohub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crown & Anchor Pub also viewed

 

Been to Crown & Anchor Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing