We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business hotel: comfortable, friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Thousand Oaks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I have now stayed here 5 x since Nov 2013 on business (with Amgen, which is a great company too by the way).

This is a conveniently located, comfortable and friendly hotel with reasonable rates and little added extras (like cookies, soap powder, coffee, newspapers).

The breakfast is good (can't say very good apart from the omelette), the omelette chef takes pride in his work = extra flavour because of this :). The big guy!

So although a comfortable business hotel it has all the amenities: small gym, nice pool etc

Staff are friendly and helpful and seem to know many patrons by name, so they obviously get regulars.

Close by are good restaurants and one great one called the Natural Cafe (yum). There is also a Vons 10 mins walk, CVS, Staples locally etc etc a short cab ride.

Room Tip: Room 154 is near the gym, avoid unless you get up early and go to the gym. Pool facing rooms are ni...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiamMonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaParrish, General Manager at Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell the Trip Advisor community about your stay at our hotel recently. We constantly strive to WOW our guests and it seems that German, our Food and Beverage Manager, takes care of you at breakfast and did a great job of exceeding your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, please give us a call at 805-499-3900 and we can pre-block you in a room of your choice, so you will not be near the gym during your next stay. Thank you again, I will be sharing your comments with our staff who loves to hear that their hard work and dedication is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Greeted by a friendly accommodating front desk representative who was able to give us a room in a location we requested. Although this property has not undergone the required Marriott renovation it remains very clean, comfortable and cozy. The restaurant is still a restaurant offering daily breakfast and dinner Monday - Thursday. They have not yet converted to the Courtyard Bistro as yet which is fine with me. I prefer this to the Bistro concept with is best compared to a Starbucks where you stand in line and they take your order then deliver it to your table. They still offer complimentary coffee and parking which is ample and free. Close by and within about a 1/4 mile we found two great locally owned restaurants: Pickles (great breakfast) and Sossy's serving excellent BBQ - both reasonably priced. There is also a Kohl's department store, CVS and Von's grocery within about a 1/4 mile. We have previously stayed here and will again in the future. Recommend it.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaParrish, General Manager at Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for the TERRIFIC review about our Thousand Oaks hotel. Our team at the Thousand Oaks Courtyard truly takes pleasure in providing excellent customer service. We are so happy that you enjoyed the full hot buffet breakfast with eggs made to order and your own personal omelet chef. Our staff really enjoys these great reviews.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Thousand Oaks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This location is easy off the 101 and within walking distance to good food. Chili's is right across the parking lot along with several other restaurant that will even deliver food to the hotel if you don't feel like walking. The employees are outstanding. Very friendly and helpful attitudes! The common area's are very nice and clean with coffee and morning breakfast.

Now the downside:

The bath amenities are the type you would find at a Motel 6. Not bad, but not what you would expect from a Marriott.

Our room (King Suite - room 212) had a couple of bad carpet stains and a stain on the couch. The bathroom lighting is very lacking, you will have a tough time navigating in the shower because it's so dark.

A little TLC here would go a long ways and would push me to give this hotel at least 4 stars.

However, the employees really make this a strong 3 star hotel!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank chitown73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaParrish, General Manager at Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

I want to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and as much as I appreciate the honesty, I certainly wish your experience was better. What you experienced is not typical of the type of service in which we pride ourselves. Our hotel Guest Satisfaction Scores are consistently in the 10% of Courtyards in the US. Needless to say, you caught us on a day we were not at our best, and that is never ok. We clearly have some training opportunities before us.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and give you the experience you expect from a Marriott hotel. If you need anything please contact me at 805-499-3900 and I will be more than happy to assist you with future reservations and an upgrade on your next stay if it is available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I've found the Courtyard brand to be comfortable and dependable. They deliver what they promise in accommodation and this one was no exception. Located near Highway 101, we asked for a backside room and found it to be totally quiet. Excellent breakfast. Great staff. Ask the check-in clerk for dining recommendations -- we did and found her reference came with a discount!

Room Tip: Avoid room facing the highway
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaParrish, General Manager at Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for the TERRIFIC review about our Thousand Oaks hotel. Our team at the Thousand Oaks Courtyard truly takes pleasure in providing excellent customer service and reading these awesome reviews. I am so happy we were able to assist you with dining recommendations and coupons during your stay.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Thousand Oaks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed over holiday weeks for 3 days. Normally we stay at another location, but thought we would try Courtyard for a change. The hotel is newer,and it shows throughout. The lobby and sitting area are clean,bright and very relaxing. The buffet is a little over priced for what is available, but it fills the bill if you want something without going out. The rooms are quite and comfortable. Bedding was clean and fresh smelling. The only issue we had was a dirty toilet that was addressed quickly. We didn't use the pool (xmas) but it was very clean, and inviting. The location was in a good area for all kinds of outings. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ground floor is more convenient (as always)
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaParrish, General Manager at Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your recent visit to our hotel in Thousand Oaks. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel and the majority of the team members you encountered during your visit. We take all guest comments very seriously and will use your comments for training purposes to provide better service in the future. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed for one night at the Courtyard in Thousand Oaks on our way to San Francisco. We were happy to see that it was near the business area and only a 10 minute drive to the Camarillo Premium Outlets.

Pluses
• Happy and helpful staff, pleasant check-in and check-out
• Free coffee downstairs in the lobby
• Good breakfast at very reasonable price in lobby
• Our room was clean spacious, and neat with lots of electrical outlets
• Easy-to-operate temperature controls
• Reasonably quiet and free of neighbor noise
• We were allowed a 2 pm check-out
• Plenty of free parking
• Many restaurants nearby

Minus
• Could hear the swish of traffic on the freeway, but it was not bothersome

We had a very comfortable one-night stay, and we recommend the Courtyard Thousand Oaks.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaParrish, General Manager at Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for the TERRIFIC review about our Thousand Oaks hotel. Our team at the Thousand Oaks Courtyard truly takes pleasure in providing excellent customer service. Our staff for breakfast room rate is a great deal on the weekends. We are so happy that you enjoyed the full hot buffet breakfast with eggs made to order and your own personal omelet chef. Our staff really enjoys these great reviews.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Thousand Oaks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed in November on the way to Santa Barbara. Had just flown in from the east coast. The facility is very easy to get to, and the building is beautiful. The room was perfect and all was in its usual Marriott order. Definitely would stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: doesn't matter…. we always request top floor, then we do not have to be concerned with those peo...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BUNNYBOYFLOHIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaParrish, General Manager at Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for the TERRIFIC review about our Thousand Oaks hotel. Our team at the Thousand Oaks Courtyard truly takes pleasure in providing excellent customer service and reading these awesome reviews.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Thousand Oaks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thousand Oaks
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
0.4 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thousand Oaks
452 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Thousand Oaks Ventura County
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Westlake
Hyatt Regency Westlake
#2 of 4 in Westlake Village
879 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County

Address: 1710 Newbury Rd, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-3403 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Thousand Oaks)
Region: United States > California > Thousand Oaks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Thousand Oaks
#4 Romantic Hotel in Thousand Oaks
Price Range: £120 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Thousand Oaks California, the new Courtyard Marriott Thousand Oaks is l mile from Stagecoach Inn Museum and within a few miles of Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza, Ronald Reagan Library, Camarillo Premium Outlets and the Strawberry Festival. Malibu Beach, Ventura Beach, Santa Monica Mountains and Channel Islands are all within 20 miles of the hotel. The Courtyard Cafe serves breakfast and dinner. Enjoy the outdoor pool or a beverage in the Courtyard Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott 1000 Oaks
Courtyard By Marriott Thousand Oaks Hotel Thousand Oaks
Courtyard Thousand Oaks
Marriott Thousand Oaks
Thousand Oaks Courtyard
Thousand Oaks Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing