We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Palm Garden Hotel(Thousand Oaks)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveller rating
131
95
24
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
95
24
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront desksofa bedpleasure of stayingwatch tvwalking distanceparking lotfreeway closestrip mallplenty of free parkingcomfortable stayone night stayclean roomsfitness centerdecent hotelcomplimentary breakfastnewbury parkoatmeal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 264 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We came for a soccer tournament last weekend. Our team reserved a block of rooms back in June. My reservation was somehow "not in the system" and my confirmation number was linked to someone else's name. They also tried to change the reduced rate we were getting the week before the tournament if you weren't staying two nights. I had a confirmation email stating that I had a room, but somehow when I tried to forward it over to management they couldn't receive it. After calling multiple times over the course of 3 days I was FINALLY able to make a reservation again on Thursday for the Saturday room stay. They did honor the first reduced rate. Check in was easy, but they required that my son sign a "noise agreement." He was the ONLY person on his team asked to do this and it was immediately following him turning in a lost phone so it seems like there wouldn't be any reason for him to be singled out like that. They closed the pool at 9:38 rather than 10:00 and started calling the police at 7:00 because it was louder than they are used to. When you have 20+ families with kids/teens that you allowed to reserve blocks of rooms for the tournament you would have to expect that it may be louder than usual. The police were called two more times due to "loudness" but unless you are in a business meeting or a church service this was NOT loud. We were families socializing and talking all things soccer. As for the rooms, breakfast, facility...it was great! But the customer service was on edge and unprofessional. We will not stay there again as a group for any reason.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank April J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaParrish, General Manager at Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

I am very sorry for the problems during your recent stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Thousand Oaks, CA. I spoke with Debbie Mahone, our Director of Sales, who told me about your problem with the confirmation number. Part of the initial confusion was that one person called in and made multiple reservations all under his name and was given confirmation numbers that he turned around and distributed to members of his group. Then when everyone started calling in, we started changing his name to theirs. So when you called in and gave us the confirmation number you had been given it seems the group leader gave two people the same confirmation number because that reservation was already taken in someone else's name.

Debbie Mahone tried to contact you three times regarding the duplication, but received your voice mail. She did call to let you know a room was reserved for you upon check-in. Debbie also called the group leader to make sure he got in touch with you, to put your mind at ease. Nobody was charged additional fees even though the groups did not meet its minimum night stay requirements.

The noise level in the lobby was too loud and guests were complaining. Andrew and Michelle were trying to make sure that everyone was safe and secure in the hotel. The pool needed to be closed down 1/2 hour early due to the noise level. In addition, the lobby noise was too loud and kids were running around halls, banging on doors, placing notes under guest rooms who complained and they needed to call the police due to requests not being followed.

The police, who had to be called back multiple times, suggested that we evict the problem guests, but due to the oversell in the area our Front Office Manager, Michelle, felt that it was in the best interest of the guests to stay because there would be no place for the evicted guests to go since there was an area wide sell out.

We do have a no noise policy that was signed at check-in. We need to make sure that all minors are accompanied at all times. We also need to make sure that we are taking care of the guests safety and security.

Again, I am very sorry if you had a poor experience at the hotel. The staff was trying to handle the situation to the best of their ability. Thank you for your understanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here while on a road trip through the Southwest USA. Nice hotel right off of the main highway into LA. Great service, clean room. Shower curtain bar was broken, but that was a minor issue. Enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdcpianoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaParrish, General Manager at Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

I want to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and as much as I appreciate the honesty, I certainly wish your experience was better. What you experienced is not typical of the type of service in which we pride ourselves. Needless to say, you caught us on a day we were not at our best, and that is never ok. We clearly have some training opportunities before us. If you would like to call me directly at 805 262-4101 I would be happy to discuss this further. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and give you the experience you expect from a Marriott hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We had a great overnight stay here recently. This is a particularly nice Courtyard. Nicole checked us in, and was very helpful in getting us settled. Courtyard is fortunate to have her on staff. Everyone there was pleasant. Chili's just across the parking lot is a good, convenient place to unwind.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muenchen60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaParrish, General Manager at Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for the TERRIFIC review about our Thousand Oaks hotel. Our team at the Thousand Oaks Courtyard truly takes pleasure in providing excellent customer service. We are so happy that Nicole was able to help you during your stay. Our hotel does have a great walk score to many of the local restaurants including Chili's. Our staff really enjoys these great reviews thank you very much for letting us know about your pleasant stay.We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Thousand Oaks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We decided to stop partway between LA and Ventura when I ran the Mountains2Beach Half Marathon. The previous year we drove the whole way and because the event is on Memorial Day weekend, we suffered in a lot of traffic.

Thousand Oaks was a logical place to stop, even though it's most of the way to Ventura. It turned out to be the peaceful, low-key place I'd planned on. We like the Marriott brand and particularly Courtyard. Most of our experiences with it have been very positive. The good reviews here were accurate. Everything was clean, up-to-date and pleasant. The hotel is on a side-road of 101 but we heard no traffic noise. There is quite a lot of distance to the highway and the hotel is set back more than the others along that road.

There are some restaurants walking distance but if you drive just a little (a couple of exits down the highway to the main part of T.O.) there are much better ones.

We would stop here again for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiggerflute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaParrish, General Manager at Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

We are delighted to have received such a positive review from you on TripAdvisor. Our team is committed to providing the best service and accommodations in Thousand Oaks. We are very happy that you enjoyed the Thousand Oaks area we are close to many attractions including the Reagan Library, Gardens of the World, Leo Carrillo State park and Ventura Harbor. It is a hidden gem.We look forward to seeing you again please contact us next time you are in the area, so that we can help you with your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here while visiting friends in the area.

The first room had an issue with the AC. Management changed our room without issue and provided free breakfast for us as a token for our inconvenience.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and clean.

Net-net: If you need a room in the area, you can't go wrong with this location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Firestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaParrish, General Manager at Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. Our team members work very hard and are always happy to hear about our guest experience. We are so happy that you enjoyed the full service restaurant at our hotel and I am very sorry about the limited hours. Luckily, we have many items available in our 24 hour market and there are are restaurants within walking distance to from the hotel including Holdren's, Sumo Sushi, Chilis and Spumoni. There are also several places that deliver please let us know next time you are in town and we can take care of anything you may need. Our staff really enjoys these great reviews. Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews