We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel option for south Simi or visiting the Santa Monica Mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Thousand Oaks
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Great Hotel option for south Simi or visiting the Santa Monica Mountains”
Reviewed 27 September 2009

As said this was a Great Hotel option for doing biz in the south Simi Valley or visiting the Santa Monica Mountains, why do I know.. Because we did both. My spouse joined me on travel out here while in Simi for biz. The Courtyard shares the parking lot with a Chili's and several other restaurants are within one exit either direction. The hotel is minutes from the Santa Monica Mountains National Recreation Area just along the historic El Camino Rael. About a 1/4 of a mile from the hotel is an historic inn along the historic stage coach trial that ran along the ECR from the turn of the last century. The hotel is about three years old, but very well kept up to look brand new. The staff was very friendly and accomodating, as my buisiness travel always comes with special request. The outside parking area was well lit and the area appeared very safe. The only complaint I would have is that the hotel did not spend a lot of money on the A/C units as they make the room more humid than the air outside. The little kitchenette was a delightful suprise and all the fixtures were modern. The bathroom was clean as was all the linens. My wife thought the breakfast options were expensive and thought for $3.50 her outmeal was soggy, but all in all I believe we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerrythetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    88
    24
    7
    7
See reviews for
91
60
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

We have had the pleasure of staying several times at the Marriott Courtyard, Thousand Oaks. All aspects could not be nicer. It is a newer Courtyard property and it appears they have learned from earlier mistakes. Rooms are spacious, bathrooms are good sized and the beds are wonderful. The staff even makes cookies in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ron-diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2009

We decided to stay at The Courtyard By Marriott Thousand Oaks on a special rate (Target G.C. Promo). We were visiting The Ronald Reagan Library/Air Force One Pavilion on President's Day (Feb. 16th, 2009) and we decided to stay close to the library by getting a room here. As we checked in, the staff were very efficient and quite friendly. They congratulated me as a Marriott Rewards Silver elite member and allowed a nice upgrade for my parents and me. We got the keys to Room 354, a nice quiet room with views of the courtyard/pool area. Being a fairly new property, the room was fresh and clean. The beds were very soft and the fridge and microwave added a finishing touch. In & Out Burger and Vons were nearby. Right off busy Hwy 101 - Overall, A nice Marriott Property. I would most certainly return. Peace - JG

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goriajk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas Valley
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2009

My wife and I, along with our 3 month old daughter stayed for 2 nights a few weeks ago. The hotel seemed to be well kept. The front desk staff were friendly and attentive. Checking in was very easy. The lobby was simple but very nice and clean.

Our room must have, at one time, been a double queen room because it was fairly large, which was great for setting up the baby's cradle. The room was very clean and I must say that the shower/tub was the cleanest and whitest I can remember in ANY hotel. You won't really get much of a view, considering the area, but the property itself in kept in good order.

The Chilli's in the front parking lot was a plus, and there are grocery and drug stores nearby. Even the liquor store down the block was of the "non-sketchy" variety.

The breakfast buffet was fairly well appointed, though a bit pricey. I guess for the area it wasn't half bad, but nothing to write home about as far as the food goes. Still not bad. The staff were all very pleasant and right on time replenishing food items and drinks.

Though there were other properties in the area that offered cheaper rooms, I think the extra $10 or so per night was money well spent for the cleanliness and comfort that this place offered.

Kudos to the management and staff. We had a pleasant stay.

  • Liked — Clean clean clean!
  • Disliked — Nothing really negative to say.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Cube44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2008

Marriott is the best by far when it comes to reasonably priced, attractive , hotels with lots of perqs. After 3 nights being underwhelmed in three different Hilton Hotels, our reception at the Marriott was a nice surprise. From the desk clerk to the waitress serving coffee the next day, the help was great. Having free Internet (which allowed us to check e mail) after the irritant of Hilton's outrageous charges for same was the biggest bonus of all. Ergonomically, the best room we have had on this trip. Lots of thoughtful extras and well planned design. The beds and pillows were great.

  • Liked — Free Internet
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thinplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2008

The Courtyard by Marriott is a perfectly fine business hotel, with my only complaint being that it is a little bland. The hotel could be anywhere, there was no sign that you were in Thousand Oaks or even in California once you were inside. Saying that, the staff were excellent and I would stay there again if on business.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Penfoldio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2008

I stayed here for business in May. Nice new, clean building. The staff was far-and-away the best part of the hotel - they are great, friendly and always available. The rooms are large and very clean. Free wireless, coffee, cookies, papers and magazines - little perks that make the tired road warrior happy. My only complaint would be the "store" could use some more varied, healthier snack options and tampons!

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank KetchupFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thousand Oaks
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
0.4 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thousand Oaks
445 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Thousand Oaks Ventura County
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Westlake
Hyatt Regency Westlake
#2 of 4 in Westlake Village
848 reviews
6.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Westlake Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County

Property: Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County
Address: 1710 Newbury Rd, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-3403 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Thousand Oaks)
Region: United States > California > Thousand Oaks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Thousand Oaks
#4 Romantic Hotel in Thousand Oaks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Thousand Oaks California, the new Courtyard Marriott Thousand Oaks is l mile from Stagecoach Inn Museum and within a few miles of Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza, Ronald Reagan Library, Camarillo Premium Outlets and the Strawberry Festival. Malibu Beach, Ventura Beach, Santa Monica Mountains and Channel Islands are all within 20 miles of the hotel. The Courtyard Cafe serves breakfast and dinner. Enjoy the outdoor pool or a beverage in the Courtyard Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Thousand Oaks Hotel Thousand Oaks
Courtyard By Marriott 1000 Oaks
Courtyard Thousand Oaks
Marriott Thousand Oaks
Thousand Oaks Courtyard
Thousand Oaks Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing