We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to The Oaks - AND - very clean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Thousand Oaks Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Thousand Oaks Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Thousand Oaks
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oceanside, CA, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Close to The Oaks - AND - very clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Right off the freeway for ease of access. One of the cleanest BWs we've stayed in. Free DVD rental for guests. Breakfast included that was OK. Used this hotel for activity at Pepperdine in Malibu. No real complaints.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    155
    87
    24
    17
See reviews for
123
119
40
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

I ended up at the Best Western Plus for a wedding this past month. For the price it is a good deal. There is a free hot breakfast which is very nice - you actually put in an order, not just a buffet. The room was clean and the front desk very helpful. Some of the reviews complain about the "view" from their room. This hotel is right off of the freeway and to be honest, there is no room with any good view. Definitely the freeway is not an ideal view, but my view was of an ugly hospital.

Additionally, the hotel is in walking distance to the Oaks, Thousand Oaks' huge mall which was very convenient when I realized I needed things for the wedding.

Finally, there is hiking into the Santa Monica mountains within walking distance of the hotel (maybe 20 minute walk) - Los Robles Open space. Once you get to the entrance of Los Robles, there are various trails you can walk - one is as short as 20 minutes and one as long as a few hours. Great views of the town from some of the top of the hills. Definitely worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinLizzy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Easy to secure reservation, easy to check in. Nice room, relatively quiet given how close to freeway. Room got a bit stuffy during the night; air blower too noisy to use. Breakfast is definitely a plus at this place. I've stayed here twice in two years and breakfast was surprisingly good both times.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel is basic. With that said, it is extremely clean, the beds are super comfortable and the rooms quiet, despite being close to the Interstate. A hot complimentary breakfast of eggs or french toast and bacon is included daily, and there are yogurts, cereals and juices as well. We did not spend too much time there, as we would wake up early, eat breakfast and be on our way, but the times we did spend there, it was great. Friendly and helpful staff, a nice room to hang out in with free Wi-fi, a heated pool and hot tub. It fulfilled our needs and we paid $87/night. You can't beat that being so close to Malibu! It was a perfect hotel for our situation and I would highly recommend it.

Green Features: They left a note that if you re-use your towels, that helps the environment. This was great, so we did exactly that!
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank namastegroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I was informed at check-in that all "Priceline.com" bookings were for rooms facing the freeway (RT 101) and to opt for a "quiet" room away from the CONSTANT highway noise would incur a $30 upgrade charge. Overall a very tired looking property even with its superficial face lift!
Property will attempt to "nickel and dime" guest for additional revenue, and the front desk staff is very much in tune with that game plan, to the point of being dishonest to your face (from my experience) when challenged regarding room availability and options. The rooms available via third party bookings are the smallest/undesirable rooms (light sleepers are toast!) for which no sane individual would pay the "rack rate". I cannot, by any stretch of the imagination, categorize these rooms as three star accommodations!! In my opinion and recent experience, a classic "bait and switch" operation.

Room Tip: Third party bookings (e.g. priiceline.com) are handcuffed to undesirable small room all facing RT 10...
See more room tips
Green Features: Did not witness any environmentally friendly practices that merit comment. Did see many operational cost saving and corner cutting measures to bolster property profitability.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAB611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fxwang, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Thousand Oaks Inn, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your Priceline.com experience. Unfortunately, we (both guest and hotel) are at the mercy of Priceline.com when it comes to their reservations. Our hotel has 6 different room types with 6 different rates. Aside from our suites, we have a standard king facing the freeway, a larger deluxe double queen, a deluxe California king with sofabed, and an Executive King room, and with each increasing room type, size, and amenity, our rates do increase. (At a beach resort, for example, smaller hotel rooms that face the "garden" or "mountain", are usually less expensive and face a road than the larger, nicer rooms that face the ocean.)

With nearly all reservations, including third-party sites, you know exactly the room type and rate you are paying. Unfortunately, with Priceline.com, Priceline chooses your room type for you, and enters your reservation directly into our hotel system without any notification or involvement of the hotel and its staff. In addition, Priceline does NOT provide the hotel with any information about the guest, number of people staying, special requests, contact information, etc. They only provide name, dates, and room type. Unless the hotel looks up the guest reservation, even the hotel will not know the guest or the room type until arrival. Under the terms and conditions at Priceline.com, they do recommend that guests contact the hotel directly after making your reservation to notify the hotel of your special requests or needs.

At the BEST WESTERN PLUS Thousand Oaks Inn, whenever we have availability, we will always offer Priceline guests a COMPLIMENTARY UPGRADE at check-in to accommodate their needs and requests. Unfortunately, often times we are quite busy and will have no rooms available to upgrade. In some of these circumstances, we will offer an upgrade to the guest for the rate difference. (But, this means that we will have to do some fancy maneuvering of other guests to make this upgrade possible, so it cannot be complimentary.)

It appears that you were unaware of the reservation that was made on your behalf by Priceline.com, and unfortunately, you came on a night that we were busy. We do understand your frustration and sympathize with your Priceline.com experience. We do not want to discourage anyone from using Priceline.com, but we do encourage you to ALWAYS call the hotel to confirmation your Priceline.com reservation, room type, requests, etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

My husband and I liked BW Plus Thousand Oaks Inn so much because it is very near the Highway, has a very nice appearance inside and out, very clean room, very nice and friendly employees, walking distance to malls, pharmacies, restaurants, banks, golf course, gas station etc. We recommend it highly. Thumbs up ;)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank friend301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

This place is constantly been renovated. Beds are extremely comfy the decor is getting better and its always clean. Friendly, helpful staff and for the price you can't go wrong! The only small detail is wifi can be extremely slow. I have my own tether so keep that in mind.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Daniel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thousand Oaks
2.0 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thousand Oaks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Agoura Hills
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Westlake
Hyatt Regency Westlake
#2 of 4 in Westlake Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Thousand Oaks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Thousand Oaks Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Thousand Oaks Inn
Address: 75 W Thousand Oaks Blvd, Thousand Oaks, CA 91360-4416
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Thousand Oaks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Thousand Oaks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Thousand Oaks
#4 Family Hotel in Thousand Oaks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Thousand Oaks Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the scenic Conejo Valley at the base of the inspiring Santa Monica Mountain range, travelers will discover a full-service hotel that is convenient, comfortable, and affordable. The Thousand Oaks Inn is surrounded by local shopping malls, movie theaters, public golf course, and a variety of restaurants and local attractions. When you enter the lobby, our friendly and caring staff will happily assist you in making your visit to the Conejo Valley more enjoyable and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Thousand Oaks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Hotel Thousand Oaks
Best Western Plus 1000 Oaks Inn
Best Western Thousand Oaks
Thousand Oaks Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing