We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd Stay Again But....”
Review of Palm Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palm Garden Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Thousand Oaks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2011

A nice property. Pros: Spacious, well maintained grounds and a spacious room. Excellent full breakfast buffet served in a nice setting (with both inside and outside seating). Cons: The room was ready for refurbishing. It was clean and well maintained, but carpet was stained, it needed a paint job, etc. I'd stay again, if only for the spaciousness of the room and for the breakfast. It's still better than the chains. But I hope that the economy picks up (the place was almost empty) so that they have the resources to fix up the tired rooms.

Room Tip: "outside" rooms face parking = convenient access to car. "inside" rooms face po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeSacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickpalm, General Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Dear Mike,
Thanks for seeing the upside to what we have to offer. We have started to repaint in the rooms and repair as much as we can with the resources available. There are so many more things in the works that will of course take some time to accomplish, we appreciate your understanding and patience, and most of all, your continued patronage. You should consider bringing your mountain bike the next time you stay because the local Santa Monica Mountains have some of the best trails in the nation to explore and the scenary is spectacular.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2011

We have stayed at the Palm Garden several times and it continues to be one of our favrorite hotel experiences. The grounds are gargeous, the rooms comfortable and the graciousness of the hotel staff and management,unparalleled. The prices are reasonable, especially given the full breakfast buffet and other little perks the hotel throws in. Friday night we enjoyed a great meal at Eric's restaurant, accompanied by live music (terrific jazz trio). We come here a couple of times a year to visit my aging parents and this is one part of our trips we truly look forward to.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vizualmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickpalm, General Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Is it so nice to have had you back again before the busy holiday season that you must be expecting. You will see some more improvements on your next vist as well. We just trimmed over 100 trees on the property and did some long overdue concrete repairs on the walkways. Next up is the roof over the restaurant and ballrooms all items to keep the outside really outside and keep you all safe from mother nature. We have big plans for going a lot further with more upgrades as soon as possible. The music you loved in Eric's was one of my favorite groups also. They are on the regular rotation of quality musicians that we book in the restaurant every friday night from 7-9pm (with a few holiday exceptions). I hope they are available for the holidays too since everyone needs a calm and pleasurable time to recharge their batteries and with good food and atmosphere, Eric's is the right chioce. We cant wait until we see you back here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Read early reviews, circa 2008-2009, and was initially very apprehensive, but later reviews 2010-2011 were right on the nose! Major turnaround for this property in room quality, pool, grounds (all immaculate)! Room furnishings a little dated (TV, chairs, dresser, cable internet no in room wifi, 1st gen HVAC) but all functional and did not significantly detract from a extremely nice and economical stay! Excellent location for my purposes.

Close to numerous shopping and dinning options. Be sure to check the on property restaurant menu specials (provided in room).

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAB611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickpalm, General Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2011

Thank you so much for your honest opinions and willingness to stay despite reading those earlier reviews. We really try hard to give you exceptional service and a pleasant place to do business, leisure or both. You obvoiusly travel a great deal and are up to speed on all of the services available with new technologies. We are working on some solutions to those issues you brought up and will make the changes as we can to keep up. We hope you get the chance to return over the winter when the weather in DC will be miserable and we will be in the 70's or 80's with that great pool to dip your toes in and sip on a top shelf margarita (or whatever your favorite beverage is) made with love from the bartenders at Eric's restauarnt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

No offense to the area, but it seems to be primarily residential. The hotel seems utilized mainly by business travelers, tourists using it as base to drive from, and local conferences goers. That said, it's a nice place to stay at a good price within an hour of the coast. It is aptly named as it surrounds a courtyard of grass and palm trees at one end and a large pool (8.5 ft deep at one end) and large built in hot tub. The water is crystal clear and checked frequently by staff, who use something besides chlorine for purification (may have been a saltwater pool). Rooms were ample, if not huge with 2 comfy queen beds and free wi-fi. Bathroom, with separate vanity area and hanger area was large and all enclosed behind louvered doors. AC was strong. Free breakfast was included. The hotel also has a bar and grill, that had good food and drinks and seemed patronized by locals as well as guests. Small strip mall nearby had an Indian restaurant, Mexican take-out and a supermarket as well as a few other stores within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louisjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickpalm, General Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

You said it clearly and distinctly, Thousand Oaks is not "the CITY" it is definitely the Burbs. You also said it clearly that there are many conveniences that bring in the people to enjoy a business trip or on the way to / from somewhere that is located close enough to the coast or some great shopping with regional malls and outlets nearby. If you want to get to Malibu, LAX or Burbank airports, Universal Studios, Santa Barbara you can usually get there within an hour.
We hope you return to the area and stay again for some good, friendly service and a nice meal in the restaurant. Oh, by the way, the pool is fresh water and our chief engineer Mike is a whiz at keeping it GIN Clear. He has many years experience in this and uses the same chemicals as everyone else with a heaping additional amount of loving care! See yopu back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Friendly accomodating staff, three (3!) free morning papers, best free breakfast at anyplace we've ever stayed, even the hot tub temp was perfect (hot!). Our son just started college in the area so we'll be back again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickpalm, General Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2011

You must have come in to town to acclimate your Son who is attending our favorite college, CLU. There are so many choices in town to stay and we certainly do appreciate your being one of our family. We will always make accomodations for the families of these students as we appreciate the wholesome atmosphere created by CLU and their dedication to a great education. Remember back to school for your next visit is in October so we look forward to seeing you again then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I cannot rave enough about the hotel staff and the service they have provided me. I have stayed at the hotel on two occasions, planning a third, and each and every time I am just as impressed. The rooms are always spotless, the beds comfortable, and the garden pristine. The hotel even provides a free full American breakfast (an amazing amount of food, including waffles, etc.) Additionally, the staff is professional, considerate, and accommodating - especially Gery. For those of you who like to travel with your pets, finding a good hotel with a pet policy is next to impossible but not at the Palm Garden Hotel. They make getting away so easy, allowing your pet to stay in the room with you at an extremely nominal charge ($30.00 for the entire stay at the time of this review).

If you are planning to stay in the Thousand Oaks area, do yourself a favor and book yourself a room at the Palm Garden Hotel. You will be thrilled!

Room Tip: Contact Gery - He is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danateach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickpalm, General Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2011

Gery is indeed the guest Guru and has his hands on all of the guests needs and requests. We are so glad you were able to experience all of the best we can offer especially the full American Breakfast Buffet. The staff really loves hearing about all of the good experiences too. So many times it is all the negative comments that stay in the forefront of daily discussion. I will take this personally to each team member and thank them for making your experience special. We want everyone to have a similar time and always appreciate the feedback both with praise and in need of improvements. We look forward to your return in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Pros:

Clean - rooms were as clean as you could get them considering age of building interior
Good Breakfast - included freshly scrambled real eggs, potatoes, meats, oatmeal & some fresh fruits.
Pleasant Staff - all staff was very friendly and helpful
Good location - easy on/off Ventura Highway - 101
Amenities - mini fridge in room and supermarket next door
Nice Grounds - landscaping was well thought out & pleasant

Cons
The facility is old and needs updating - no matter how much you clean, if there are cracks in the doors and the fixtures are old you just don't feel as if it is really clean
Bedding needs updating - Bedsheets very thin, blankets/bedspreads showing years of wear

If I go to Thousand Oaks again, I would stay in another hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrickpalm, General Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Thank you for your honest appraisal of our facility. Like a good wine or a comfortable pair of pajamas there comes a point in time where it has reached its peak and then begins to fade and show its age. There are several things as you pointed out that are on the list for upgrades and little by little these will continue to be accomplished. Your overall experience of good service and convenience is a welcome observation too. If you have to stay at a different location next time you are in town please at least come by the restaurant for a terrific happy hour and to say hello. All of our previous guests are always welcome and you never know what you might find shiny and new.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thousand Oaks
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
2 mi away
Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Westlake
Hyatt Regency Westlake
#2 of 4 in Westlake Village
935 reviews
2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Thousand Oaks Ventura County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Hotel

Address: 495 N Ventu Park Rd, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Thousand Oaks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Thousand Oaks
#3 Romantic Hotel in Thousand Oaks
Price Range: £97 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Palm Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Garden Thousand Oaks
Hotel Palm Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing