We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Oasis”
Review of Palm Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palm Garden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Thousand Oaks
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unexpected Oasis”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

In Thousand Oaks working at a local tennis tournament. The tournament selected the hotel, and although quite grateful for a room, I was not particularly hopeful. Wow, what a surprise! I would definitely not only come back, but highly recommend to others. Value for dollar cannot be beat here. Incredibly friendly, accommodating staff. Great pool with whirlpool and a large chess game area, and full breakfast included. Established property which has received comfy updated refurbishment. Piano played in the lobby, which had a nice chess table and opened into a great Irish Pub, "Brendan's", with a nice game room and great happy hour midweek. Although a stone's throw from the highway, our room was very quiet, and surprisingly clean. We had a microwave for heating up a late dinner, and although not needed, also an in-room coffee maker. I say this because of the inclusive full breakfast, and also the Starbucks right across the parking lot. Also across the lot is a fabulous Indian Restaurant, Saffron's, a Ralph's grocery, a gas station, a sushi restaruant and a Taco Bell for on-the-run fast food. There is a Walgreen's just across the street. Great week for us, largely due to resting so well and being so comfortable in this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the highway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vic4tennis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGardenManager, Front Office Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Vic4tennis2,
Firstly, I want to thank you for taking the time to submit a review through TripAdvisor.com. It is through words such as yours that our management team can create new and more rewarding experiences for all guests of The Palm Garden Hotel.

We take the experience of our guests in the highest regard and we focus on personal attention to make sure your stay is flawless. It is wonderful to hear we exceeded your expectations with our rooms, amenities and location. It is an honor for our staff to hear you speak so highly of the hotel. On behalf of The Palm Garden Hotel and Brendan’s Irish Pub, thank you again for staying with us while visiting Thousand Oaks. We sincerely hope to see you in the future. Have a wonderful day!!

Respectfully,

Michael Reardon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    128
    41
    26
    29
See reviews for
130
91
35
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

So I was skeptical about booking this hotel without knowing anything. I read reviews from here and decided to go for it. I was traveling with a family of 4 for 10 days so I needed something affordable and safe. I was pleased when we arrived to this cute hidden gem. It is conveniently located next to a small shopping center so u can buy groceries and last minute items at Ralph's. our room was really clean and staff was helpful. My kids loved the pool, my toddler had a section where he could stand in the pool. Most hotels pools are 3 ft but this one started super shallow and went to 8 ft. They also have a great breakfast area, warm food items not just cereal. The mall is close by, it is a gorgeous mall btw. It's about 45 min to downtown LA bc of traffic, sometimes an hour. We mostly went to the malibu beaches which is 20 min away with beautiful scenic routes. They have a gym, mini golf, and a business center for printing and computer use. The free wifi on all the property was also a plus. Book it, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the courtyards are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGardenManager, Front Office Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Mel C ,
Firstly, I want to thank you for taking the time to submit a review through TripAdvisor.com. It is through words such as yours that our management team can create new and more rewarding experiences for all guests of The Palm Garden Hotel.

We take the experience of our guests in the highest regard and we focus on personal attention to make sure your stay is flawless. I am joyed to hear you had a great stay with us, and that your children were able to enjoy the 1 1/2 ft section of our pool. On behalf of The Palm Garden Hotel and Brendan’s Irish Pub, thank you again for staying with us while visiting Thousand Oaks. We sincerely hope to see you in the future. Have a wonderful day!!

Respectfully,

Michael Reardon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder City, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

While the rooms (particularly the bathrooms) were a bit dingy and outdated, the mattress more than atoned for any deficiencies. The small fridge was perfect for snacks and leftovers, and the bedding was first rate. While Palm Garden isn't necessarily a top choice at the price point for someone who is going to spend all of their time in the room, it is fantastic for anyone traveling with kids. The pool area was clean and well-appointed; plenty of comfortable seats create a relaxed atmosphere to enjoy a snack or beverage. There is a nice artificial turf putting green in the courtyard, and the hotel has loaner putters and golf balls for those who need them (am I the only one who keeps a putter in the car trunk?). There is also a little rec room with a pool table and adequately provisioned gym. If they invested in a room renovation, this place would be a good deal at another $100 a night more.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGardenManager, Front Office Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear JC D ,
Firstly, I want to thank you for taking the time to submit a review through TripAdvisor.com. It is through words such as yours that our management team can create new and more rewarding experiences for all guests of The Palm Garden Hotel.

We take the experience of our guests in the highest regard and we focus on personal attention to make sure your stay is flawless. I'm happy to hear that you found our property and amenities to be first rate. As for the rooms, we have renovated much of our inventory and will finish room renovations early next year. We truly hope you are able to enjoy a fully renovated room during your next stay with us. On behalf of The Palm Garden Hotel and Brendan’s Irish Pub, thank you again for staying with us while visiting Thousand Oaks. Have a wonderful day!!

Respectfully,

Michael Reardon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Immediately when walked into the lobby the staff was friendly and helpful and upgraded our room when they found out it was my wifes birthday and threw in a couple of free drinks from Brendans, the restaurant next door, Delicious! This is now our new home away from home!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGardenManager, Front Office Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Scott A,
Firstly, I want to thank you for taking the time to submit a review through TripAdvisor.com. It is through words such as yours that our management team can create new and more rewarding experiences for all guests of The Palm Garden Hotel.

We take the experience of our guests in the highest regard and we focus on personal attention to make sure your stay is flawless. When availability allows, we are happy to provide guests a surprise upgrade for special events such as birthdays and weddings. I am happy to see we were able to do just that for you and your wife during her birthday getaway. On behalf of The Palm Garden Hotel and Brendan’s Irish Pub, thank you again for staying with us while visiting Thousand Oaks. We sincerely hope to see you in the future. Have a wonderful day!!

Respectfully,

Michael Reardon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

i will be contacting the management to find out how i can buy their bedding, it was amazing, especially after a long day. rooms were good, we could hear the neighbours through the adjoining door but after everyone went to sleep it was surprisingly quiet. nice grounds very well kept. would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGardenManager, Front Office Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Terri,
Firstly, I want to thank you for taking the time to submit a review through TripAdvisor.com. It is through words such as yours that our management team can create new and more rewarding experiences for all guests of The Palm Garden Hotel.

We take the experience of our guests in the highest regard and we focus on personal attention to make sure your stay is flawless. I am excited to hear you enjoyed our comfortable beds so much. We pride ourselves on the comfort our rooms provide. On behalf of The Palm Garden Hotel and Brendan’s Irish Pub, thank you again for staying with us while visiting Thousand Oaks. We sincerely hope to see you in the future. Have a wonderful day!!

Respectfully,

Michael Reardon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury Park, California
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Stayed at Palm Graden the night of St. Pattys Day this year. Great prices, beautiful pool area, and newly renovated rooms. The staff was great too! Had a blast at Brendans Irish Pub, which is located right next door. Highly recommend this hotel if you are in the Thousand Oaks area.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TaylorR527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGardenManager, Front Office Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear TaylorR527, Firstly, I want to thank you for taking the time to submit a review through TripAdvisor.com. It is through words such as yours that our management team can create new and more rewarding experiences for all guests of The Palm Garden Hotel.

We take the experience of our guests in the highest regard and we focus on personal attention to make sure your stay is flawless. I am glad to hear you enjoyed St. Patty's day with us and look forward to seeing you next year. On behalf of The Palm Garden Hotel and Brendan’s Irish Pub, Slainte and thank you again for staying with us while visiting Thousand Oaks. Have a wonderful day!!

Respectfully,

Michael Reardon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

This is my 6th stay, and with its amazing greenery, pool, newly renovated rooms, free wifi, and free hot breakfast, you're not going to find a better value for your dollar than the Palm Garden... Amazing staff and very well maintained. Highly recommend!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGardenManager, Front Office Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Firstly, I want to thank you for taking the time to submit a review through TripAdvisor.com. It is through words such as yours that our management team can create new and more rewarding experiences for all guests of The Palm Garden Hotel.

We take the experience of our guests in the highest regard and we focus on personal attention to make sure your stay is flawless. I am very happy to hear that you have stayed with us on several occasions and enjoyed your stay each time. Our goal is to provide consistently friendly service and it is rewarding to see we are meeting our expectations. On behalf of The Palm Garden Hotel and Brendan’s Irish Pub, thank you again for staying with us while visiting Thousand Oaks. We sincerely hope to see you in the future. Have a wonderful day!!

Respectfully,

Michael Reardon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thousand Oaks
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Westlake
Hyatt Regency Westlake
#2 of 4 in Westlake Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
6.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Westlake Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Hotel

Property: Palm Garden Hotel
Address: 495 N Ventu Park Rd, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Thousand Oaks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Thousand Oaks
#3 Romantic Hotel in Thousand Oaks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Palm Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Garden Thousand Oaks
Hotel Palm Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing