We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value and Nice Place to Stay”
Review of Palm Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palm Garden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Thousand Oaks
Certificate of Excellence
Wailuku, Hawaii
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Value and Nice Place to Stay”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed for 5 days at the beginning of November 2013 to attend a wedding in nearby Calabasas. As a former Californian I felt right at home with the landscaping and layout of the property. It has a very lovely pool and hot tub. My husband really enjoyed the breakfast that was included in the price .... particularly the fried potatoes. I enjoyed eating breakfast on the patio, watching the hummingbirds and catching some sun. The room was very comfortable. The bathroom isn't huge but everything worked. The bed was very comfortable. The wireless was reliable with a good signal. It's right off of the 101 freeway but it's not noisy. There is a conveniently located Ralph's grocery store across the parking lot. Even though this hotel is technically in Ventura County it was an easy drive to Santa Monica and Hollywood. There is a huge upscale shopping mall (The Oaks) within a 5 minute drive. We will definitely stay here again when we visit the LA area.

Room Tip: We were on the "outer side" near the parking space which was convenient, but I think it wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGardenManager, Front Office Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Patricia233,

Firstly, I want to thank you for taking the time to submit a review through TripAdvisor.com. We take the experience of our guests in the highest regard and we focus on personal attention to make sure your stay is flawless.
I would like to say congratulations to your wedding party and we are glad you stayed with us. It is always an honor to hear a momentous occasion was accompanied with a wonderful stay. On behalf of The Palm Garden Hotel and Brendan’s Irish Pub, thank you again for staying with us while visiting Thousand Oaks. We sincerely hope to see you in the future. Have a wonderful day!!

Respectfully,

Michael Reardon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    128
    43
    26
    29
See reviews for
133
92
35
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Our family of 4 stayed here for 2 nights in August 2013. The room was adequate size for us but not large. The room looked like it had been renovated in the past few years and was in good shape with everything functioning. The quality of furnishing was on par with a newer La Quinta. The room layout was the old motel style with sink part of the room at the back wall with the tub shower & toilet next to the sink behind a door. However, the rooms are not the type that one would want to stay in other than to sleep. It is the beautiful grounds that make this hotel. The grounds look as good as the pictures on the hotel website. First rate

Pool and spa were clean and well landscaped. There are even gazebo type sun shelters with high quality patio furniture spread around the pool. We spent a relaxing afternoon around the pool visiting with our LA area friends followed by a nice dinner at Brendans. In fact we had 3 great meals at Brendans during our short stay.

Our room came with hot breakfast which was satisfactory but not great. Eggs, bacon, sausage, a little fruit, etc. Best part was the breakfast room was right next to the pool so we could eat in the pool area and enjoy the morning sun.

Since our friends were coming from Camarillo and Sherman Oaks to see us at the hotel, this location was perfect for our stay. We were able to stay out of the valley and LA basin rat race which suited us just fine. We will stay here again on our next trip to So Cal even if we have to brave the traffic to go into LA.

Room Tip: We choose a room next to the pool so we could sit out on the expansive lawn chairs during the day. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy35394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGardenManager, Front Office Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Happy35394,

Firstly, I want to thank you for taking the time to submit a review through TripAdvisor.com. We take the experience of our guests in the highest regard and we focus on personal attention to make sure your stay is flawless.
I am happy to see you had an overall enjoyable experience with us and value our location. I have made note of your desire for more from our rooms. We pride ourselves on providing the best stay imaginable, that includes our rooms and amenities. On behalf of The Palm Garden Hotel and Brendan’s Irish Pub, thank you again for staying with us while visiting Thousand Oaks. We sincerely hope to see you in the future. Have a wonderful day!!

Respectfully,

Michael Reardon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This is an cheap, old, broken-down MOTEL that is trying to somehow market itself as a resort hotel. Don't get suckered in. Our usual property in Westlake Village (an inn we unreservedly recommend) was booked, so we took a chance on the Palm Garden in Thousand Oaks. Never again! We arrived late on a busy weekend or otherwise would have turned around and never checked in. The first room they gave us on the ground floor was, quite frankly, battered from decades of use - the sink didn't work - so they moved us upstairs. This is a MOTEL - so you sleep (or at least try to) with your head just inches away from a window as the noisy partiers leave the HUGE bar on the property after closing time - and then only a few hours later as the young kids get up and start all the noise at the pool. To add insult to injury, both clothing and an iPod disappeared from our room during our stay - and the staff did nothing to follow up with our concerns.

Room Tip: If you absolutely have no other options and are forced to stay at the Palm Garden, be sure to bring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PSC206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGardenManager, Front Office Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear PSC206,

Firstly, I want to thank you for taking the time to submit a review through TripAdvisor.com. We take the experience of our guests in the highest regard and we focus on personal attention to make sure your stay is flawless.
I do wish to apologize for an unsatisfactory stay with us. I take pride in the strides we have made as a hotel and take all comments and concerns to heart. I would like to personally look into the absence of your belongings. Please contact the hotel at your earliest convenience as I would like to offer my sincere condolences for the issues you experienced while staying with us. On behalf of The Palm Garden Hotel and Brendan’s Irish Pub, thank you again for staying with us while visiting Thousand Oaks. We sincerely hope to see you in the future. Have a wonderful day!!

Respectfully,

Michael Reardon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I have stayed here for a little while in between apartments. It is very clean, very safe and very quiet. The rates are also reasonable. All of the staff are very friendly and helpful. Very convenient room service or food at Brendan's Irish Pub. Would highly recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: I need a handicap room with easy shower access. The room I have here is excellent for my needs....e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGardenManager, Front Office Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Mary H,

Firstly, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on TripAdvisor.com. I am glad to hear that you felt safe and enjoyed the atmosphere here at The Palm Garden Hotel. We appreciate the kinds words and sincerely hope to see you in the future.
On behalf of The Palm Garden Hotel and Brendan’s Irish Pub, thank you again for staying with us while visiting Thousand Oaks. Have a wonderful day!!

Respectfully,

Michael Reardon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My family and I just returned from a trip from the Venutra County area , we stayed 4nights at the Palm Garden Hotel and loved it. We had a great over sized standard 2 bed set up, which was perfect for our family & very roomy. The accomodations were large, comfortable and so very very clean. The staff was very pleasant and helpful in offering up golfing and dining choices within the local area. Also offering us suttle services. My only dissapointment was the wedding going on, got a little loud however the staff was quick to make that right & got to relax the rest of the trip NO problems. Now with that said, I still would highly recommendation this hotel for both family weddings or even a weekday business trip. Thanks again Palm Garden....

Room Tip: If not interested in the wedding chatter, during the time of ur stay. Ask if they would place you aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGardenManager, Front Office Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Rob F,
Firstly, I want to thank you for taking the time to submit a review through TripAdvisor.com. It is positive reviews such as yours that let us know what we're doing right at The Palm Garden Hotel.
We take the experience of our guests in the highest regard and we focus on personal attention to make sure your stay is flawless. I am happy to hear the family enjoyed the complimentary shuttle service and our convenient location.
On behalf of The Palm Garden Hotel and Brendan’s Irish Pub, thank you again for staying with us while visiting Thousand Oaks. We sincerely hope to see you in the future. Have a wonderful day!!

Respectfully,

Michael Reardon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I attended a family wedding at Palm Garden Hotel and eveything was great. Clean rooms, happy helpful staff, salt water pool, well kept beautiful property. It was very nice to have everyone stay at the location of the wedding, not worries about driving. From the perfect gazebo for the outdoor wedding to the lovely reception room and dance floor, everything was a pleasant experience. If you are searching for the perfect wedding venue you should take a look at Palm Garden.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VK1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGardenManager, Front Office Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear VK1970,
Firstly, I want to thank you for taking the time to submit a review through TripAdvisor.com. It is through words such as yours that our management team can create new and more rewarding experiences for all guests of The Palm Garden Hotel.

We take the experience of our guests in the highest regard and we focus on personal attention to make sure your stay is flawless. It is refreshing to hear your stay was "perfect". We are always looking to improve, and your kinds word reassure our efforts. On behalf of The Palm Garden Hotel and Brendan’s Irish Pub, thank you again for staying with us while visiting Thousand Oaks. We sincerely hope to see you in the future. Have a wonderful day!!

Respectfully,

Michael Reardon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bar Harbor, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I just stayed at this hotel for a wedding! I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone! You have everything you need, the staff was very professional and catered to everything we needed. Could not ask for better service! The GM and Catering management were amazing and were there to assist with anything! And as a huge plus, the beds are super comfortable, haven't slept that good in a long time! Great location for a wedding!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGardenManager, Front Office Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Leanne K,
Firstly, I want to thank you for taking the time to submit a review through TripAdvisor.com.

We take the experience of our guests in the highest regard and we focus on personal attention to make sure your stay is flawless. We appreciate all the kinds words. Both the General Manager and our sales manager are glad to hear their hard work was very much appreciated. On behalf of The Palm Garden Hotel and Brendan’s Irish Pub, thank you again for staying with us while visiting Thousand Oaks. We sincerely hope to see you in the future. Have a wonderful day!!

Respectfully,

Michael Reardon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thousand Oaks
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Westlake
Hyatt Regency Westlake
#2 of 4 in Westlake Village
826 reviews
6.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Westlake Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Hotel

Property: Palm Garden Hotel
Address: 495 N Ventu Park Rd, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Thousand Oaks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Thousand Oaks
#3 Romantic Hotel in Thousand Oaks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Palm Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Garden Thousand Oaks
Hotel Palm Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing