We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Visit - Nice Change of Pace”
Review of Palm Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palm Garden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Thousand Oaks
Certificate of Excellence
Uxbridge, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Relaxing Visit - Nice Change of Pace”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I don't usually stay at hotels like this (normally stay at larger chain hotels), but was pleasantly surprised. The inner courtyard is nice and there was a good outdoor seating area where I relaxed in the nice evening weather one night with a friend. The breakfast was good with cheerful staff helping keep everything refilled. I asked a lot of questions of the hotel reception and got a good restaurant recommendation in Malibu. The pub that was attached had good food (tried the blackened fish taco...) and the wait staff was very nice. My only strong recommendation is to ask for a courtyard room as anything that faced the highway would likely be loud based on the constant traffic. If you are OK with the walkout style rooms as opposed to internal with hallways then I think you will like this little gem.

Room Tip: Definitely courtyard. Don't stay on the highway facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDM-CEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGardenManager, Front Office Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear PDM-CEO,

Firstly, I want to thank you for taking the time to submit a review through TripAdvisor.com. We take the experience of our guests in the highest regard and we focus on personal attention to make sure your stay is flawless.
It looks like you asked the right questions and we are always happy to help. I am glad you enjoyed our beautiful courtyard grounds and Brendan's food as well. I do agree an upgrade to our Courtyard rooms does allow our guests to experience the serenity of our property.
On behalf of The Palm Garden Hotel and Brendan’s Irish Pub, thank you again for staying with us while visiting Thousand Oaks. We sincerely hope to see you in the future. Have a wonderful day!!

Respectfully,

Michael Reardon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    128
    44
    26
    29
See reviews for
135
96
35
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Great value for the area. Rooms are not luxury. But, clean & comfy. Really good hot breakfast included. The grounds are 'woodsy' which give a resort-like feel. I didn't use the pool/spa/work-out room this time, but looks nice. I'll definitely come back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGardenManager, Front Office Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Wes B,

Firstly, I want to thank you for taking the time to submit a review through TripAdvisor.com. We take the experience of our guests in the highest regard and we focus on personal attention to make sure your stay is flawless.
I'm glad to hear you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed all our hotel has to offer. I sincerely hope you are able to enjoy our pool area during your next visit and get to enjoy our poolside service provided by Brendans.
On behalf of The Palm Garden Hotel and Brendan’s Irish Pub, thank you again for staying with us while visiting Thousand Oaks. We sincerely hope to see you in the future. Have a wonderful day!!

Respectfully,

Michael Reardon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This was our second stay at the Palm Gardens -- and what a difference from our last visit. While the grounds are lovely and well kept up, the room was infested with ants, the wrong sheets were on the bed and kept coming off in the night, the AC was very loud, clicking on and off waking us several times. The room was worn, and there were several extension cords snaking haphazardly around the edges of the room. Most of the problems seemed the result of either poor housekeeping training or supervision, and with a little effort could be fixed.

Room Tip: Try the Hampton Inn across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackconly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGardenManager, Front Office Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Jackconly,

Firstly, I want to thank you for taking the time to submit a review through TripAdvisor.com. We take the experience of our guests in the highest regard and we focus on personal attention to make sure your stay is flawless.
I am saddened to hear your most recent stay with us was not as enjoyable as your last. I sincerely apologize for the conditions of the room and assure you every available measure has been taken to correct those flaws.
On behalf of The Palm Garden Hotel and Brendan’s Irish Pub, thank you again for staying with us while visiting Thousand Oaks. We sincerely hope to see you in the future. Have a wonderful day!!

Respectfully,

Michael Reardon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Amy & Emma are absolutely amazing! They go above and beyond to make u feel welcome & at home! N the hotel grounds are to die for! The rooms r so cute n have a great set up! I will b staying at this hotel only! I highly recommend you do too!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGardenManager, Front Office Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Auva,

Firstly, I want to thank you for taking the time to submit a review through TripAdvisor.com. We take the experience of our guests in the highest regard and we focus on personal attention to make sure your stay is flawless.
It is a great reflection on our hotel when someone has such kind words as yours. We will make sure to pass on the glowing review of our staff's efforts and reward them appropriately.
On behalf of The Palm Garden Hotel and Brendan’s Irish Pub, thank you again for staying with us while visiting Thousand Oaks. We sincerely hope to see you in the future. Have a wonderful day!!

Respectfully,

Michael Reardon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

I have mixed feelings about our stay. It started out wonderfully. It's a very nice location, right of the freeway, Starbucks and grocery store next door. Brendan's Irish pub does amazing food and has great service. The hotel is more like a motel but with free parking, breakfast included, fridge in the room. The rooms are nothing exceptional but more than adequate. The grounds are simply wonderful with a heated pool and spa, lots of seatingspace (with heating at night). The gym is free of charge and has quite a few workout machines. It's about a 45 minute drive into Los Angeles and just 15 minutes from the Camarillo outlets if you want to do some outlet shopping.
My mixed feelings stem from the last night at this hotel. We arrived at our hotelroom to find the door wide open and lights on inside. We immediately checked and thank goodness all our things were still there and nothing was missing. At reception they thought it was probably housekeeping who had left the door open by accident. Since we came back at 11 pm this means the door of our room with all of our stuff in there (including our camera gear and laptop since we had just photographed a destination elopement on Curacao) had been open for hours on end.
We received sincere apologies from the front desk and a $5 Starbucks gift card. Nothing was missing so we didn't want to kick up a storm but I do feel other measures should have been taken in this case since it freaked us out big time.
Had this not happened, I would have loved to return to this place but now, I really won't. I highly value my belongings being safe in a locked hotelroom and here I'd never be sure of this again. Unfortunately.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Anouschkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGardenManager, Front Office Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Anouschkar,

Firstly, I want to thank you for taking the time to submit a review through TripAdvisor.com. We take the experience of our guests in the highest regard and we focus on personal attention to make sure your stay is flawless.

I would like to apologize that your door was left open in your absence. We do pride ourselves on the safety and security of our guests and that is unacceptable. Our Director of Facilities and myself are investigating the mishap to ensure it does not happen again. I am thankful none of your belongings were out of place and that you enjoyed the majority of your stay.

On behalf of The Palm Garden Hotel and Brendan’s Irish Pub, thank you again for staying with us while visiting Thousand Oaks. We sincerely hope to see you in the future. Have a wonderful day!!

Respectfully,

Michael Reardon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wailuku, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed for 5 days at the beginning of November 2013 to attend a wedding in nearby Calabasas. As a former Californian I felt right at home with the landscaping and layout of the property. It has a very lovely pool and hot tub. My husband really enjoyed the breakfast that was included in the price .... particularly the fried potatoes. I enjoyed eating breakfast on the patio, watching the hummingbirds and catching some sun. The room was very comfortable. The bathroom isn't huge but everything worked. The bed was very comfortable. The wireless was reliable with a good signal. It's right off of the 101 freeway but it's not noisy. There is a conveniently located Ralph's grocery store across the parking lot. Even though this hotel is technically in Ventura County it was an easy drive to Santa Monica and Hollywood. There is a huge upscale shopping mall (The Oaks) within a 5 minute drive. We will definitely stay here again when we visit the LA area.

Room Tip: We were on the "outer side" near the parking space which was convenient, but I think it wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGardenManager, Front Office Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Patricia233,

Firstly, I want to thank you for taking the time to submit a review through TripAdvisor.com. We take the experience of our guests in the highest regard and we focus on personal attention to make sure your stay is flawless.
I would like to say congratulations to your wedding party and we are glad you stayed with us. It is always an honor to hear a momentous occasion was accompanied with a wonderful stay. On behalf of The Palm Garden Hotel and Brendan’s Irish Pub, thank you again for staying with us while visiting Thousand Oaks. We sincerely hope to see you in the future. Have a wonderful day!!

Respectfully,

Michael Reardon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Our family of 4 stayed here for 2 nights in August 2013. The room was adequate size for us but not large. The room looked like it had been renovated in the past few years and was in good shape with everything functioning. The quality of furnishing was on par with a newer La Quinta. The room layout was the old motel style with sink part of the room at the back wall with the tub shower & toilet next to the sink behind a door. However, the rooms are not the type that one would want to stay in other than to sleep. It is the beautiful grounds that make this hotel. The grounds look as good as the pictures on the hotel website. First rate

Pool and spa were clean and well landscaped. There are even gazebo type sun shelters with high quality patio furniture spread around the pool. We spent a relaxing afternoon around the pool visiting with our LA area friends followed by a nice dinner at Brendans. In fact we had 3 great meals at Brendans during our short stay.

Our room came with hot breakfast which was satisfactory but not great. Eggs, bacon, sausage, a little fruit, etc. Best part was the breakfast room was right next to the pool so we could eat in the pool area and enjoy the morning sun.

Since our friends were coming from Camarillo and Sherman Oaks to see us at the hotel, this location was perfect for our stay. We were able to stay out of the valley and LA basin rat race which suited us just fine. We will stay here again on our next trip to So Cal even if we have to brave the traffic to go into LA.

Room Tip: We choose a room next to the pool so we could sit out on the expansive lawn chairs during the day. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy35394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmGardenManager, Front Office Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Happy35394,

Firstly, I want to thank you for taking the time to submit a review through TripAdvisor.com. We take the experience of our guests in the highest regard and we focus on personal attention to make sure your stay is flawless.
I am happy to see you had an overall enjoyable experience with us and value our location. I have made note of your desire for more from our rooms. We pride ourselves on providing the best stay imaginable, that includes our rooms and amenities. On behalf of The Palm Garden Hotel and Brendan’s Irish Pub, thank you again for staying with us while visiting Thousand Oaks. We sincerely hope to see you in the future. Have a wonderful day!!

Respectfully,

Michael Reardon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thousand Oaks
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Thousand Oaks Inn
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Thousand Oaks Ventura County
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Westlake
Hyatt Regency Westlake
#2 of 4 in Westlake Village
846 reviews
6.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Westlake Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Hotel

Property: Palm Garden Hotel
Address: 495 N Ventu Park Rd, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Thousand Oaks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Thousand Oaks
#3 Romantic Hotel in Thousand Oaks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Palm Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Garden Thousand Oaks
Hotel Palm Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing