We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“History from the comfort of your car.”

Saratoga National Historical Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Site of the historic 1777 Battles of Saratoga, which represented the first significant victory for the rebels in the American Revolution. Today, the 3,200-acre park is a popular tourism and recreation site and a wildlife conservation area.
Ballston Lake, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“History from the comfort of your car.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This weekend we took my mom (who is wheelchair bound) for
the drive through the Saratoga Battlefield. For $5, this 9 mile drive through the historic sites was informative and interesting. Be sure to get the guide sheet from the Visitor Center and read it as you see each spot. Otherwise it just looks like fields. You can really imagine the difficult conditions for the colonial soldiers. For $3, you can take your bike. Lots of safe, flat riding with a few hills. Helmet required!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Foxl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    53
    15
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Ton Of Revolutionary History”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was really amazing. This park is for everyone. You can walk, bike, hike, snowshoe, cross-country ski, ride horseback or drive through this National Park. $3 on foot or $5 per car. Ticket is good for 7 days. Seasonal passes are available. There is a Visitor Center with a gift shop at the west entrance where you can buy the tickets. We drove through the park and got out at each stop, ten in all. There is the reconstructed Neilson Cabin on the southern Patriot encampment. There is also the British encampment on the northern side. The walls of each redoubt on each side are marked by red or blue topped post. They have period canons. There is the famous Boot Monument where Benedict Arnold was shot in the leg. Also Barber's wheat field.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank burtatmikes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Make your visit complete!”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stopped here on our annual national parks trip- this time to the East Coast. We always buy the national parks recreation passport which allows you to get into all of the national parks for a full year for one price. If you are visiting multiple national parks you should look into it because it will save you money, often paying for itself after only two or three stops.

This battle is listed as one of the ten most significant battles in the history of the world. I am not a battle buff or a battle historian per say but I definitely enjoyed visiting this park. They have a nice interpretive museum that has places for children to try on the uniforms and “pick a side” and try out a pup tent. The museum explained the battle and its relation to other Forts like Fort Stanwix in the battles of the revolutionary war. There is a 9 mile park loop which we took getting out at some of the stops to read the signs and look at the land- I can see why they would pick here to stay camped out as the views were expansive. At the last stop we had a picnic lunch at the picnic benches and enjoyed the peaceful but somber place. We were pulling our camper and had no issues navigating the park or finding camping.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank eclipsethecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
187 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park!”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

There isn't much more I can add to the other reviews of this beautiful park but I do want to add, especially for those of us traveling with kids, to make sure you bring a picnic lunch. Visitors may want to plan on bringing food or stopping in Stillwater to pick up some picnic foods and drinks, so that you can enjoy a good part of a day here as there are no food services offered. I always travel with a cooler with snacks and water and there was a small market in nearby Schulyerville (where the Saratoga Monument is) where I picked up some bread and sandwich fixings. There were a few picnic tables on the outside patio area of the visitor center. This is a great place to bike as there is paved, one way roads with a bike lane and slow speeds are enforced for cars. I think the road was 10 miles one way. The scenery is spectacular, especially in the fall. The Saratoga Monument is about 8 minutes away in a nearby town, ask the rangers at the park for a map.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mrmisrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Scenic Historical Park”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My wife and I visited this park which was larger than it appeared. We first stopped at the visitor center where the staff and volunteers were friendly and welcoming to educate. The interpretive center was loaded with background and a great introduction to the park. The road led through the park where there were many stops that featured short trails. There were signs that pointed out the areas of interest at each stop which gave an excellent depiction of the battles that took place. Apart from the history, this park is beautiful with amazing opportunities to view wildlife as well. If the temperature was not so cold and windy, we would have stayed longer. Give yourself a good 3-4 hours to stop at each stop and walk each trail, especially if you enjoy reading every sign and marker. We visited for about 3 hours total, including the visitor center, and could have spent another 2 hours with all of the trails.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saratoga National Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to Saratoga National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing