We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“enjoyable time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Saugus (Logan Airport)
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Saugus
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“enjoyable time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

This hotel was very comfortable,staff very friendly and helpful and the shuttle drivers were great. They made it easy to get around as you cant do much walking from this hotel, nor van you cross the highway.The shuttle runs from 4am to1230 am so you can see all of Boston that you want!They also provide an amazing breakfast with something for everyone!!!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and didnt hear any outside noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momma99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressSaugus, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Saugus (Logan Airport), responded to this review, 15 March 2012
We are very glad that you had a great stay with us. Our staff does try and help with everything they can especially our shuttle drivers. Taking our shuttle is the easiest way to see Boston without driving around town and worrying about parking. We are also glad you enjoyed our hot breakfast buffet!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    219
    86
    59
    49
See reviews for
142
180
49
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Saugus Ma on the night before our early morning flight from Logan Airport. The park and fly deal is great. We paid $129 to stay one night and park our car in the covered garage for 6nights. Nice to not have to worry about digging the car out of the snow upon return. The free shuttle to and from the airport (about 15mins) was great. No need to bring your winter coat (we were headed to the Caribbean) as the shuttle is heated. Free pastry / coffee available in the lobby. The hotel was clean and quiet. We live in RI, approx 1 hour from Logan. This allowed us to not have to worry about the weather/ driving conditions and we got to sleep an extra hour! Of course, it was much greater deal when this was a days inn and charged $89 for the same...but still worth it. Tip: take the front desk phone number with you, call when you land. They will be there promptly!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDQ0564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressSaugus, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Saugus (Logan Airport), responded to this review, 15 March 2012
We are very glad that you had an enjoyable stay. Our park and fly deals are the best so you don’t have to worry about driving to the airport and it’s really easy to get breakfast before you go as well. Also, the garage is a big help in the winter months when it snows so you don’t have clean your car off or dig it out. We do our best to be at the airport to pick up as soon as possible so guests can get to their rooms or cars faster on their return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We booked on this hotel on Priority Points, we had been staying in the White Mountains and thought we'd spent our last day in Boston before the flight back to the UK.
They are quite clear on the website that it isn't on Logan Airport, but I still think referring to it that way is a little misleading. The reason we booked is for the free parking and shuttles to and from Logan Airport and the airport T.

Upon check in we were told, like a previous reviewer, that the King booked was not available and would two queens be acceptable.

We asked about transfers to and from the T at the airport, and about the timings for the journey by car to the airport the following day. You book a time for transfer in to the Logan T, and then transfer back to the hotel is on request by phone, we were told there were courtesy phones at the T and it would take 10 minutes from phone call to collection. There didn't appear to be a courtesy phone and when we located a pay phone we were told 25 minutes for collection. It didn't matter as we had allowed plenty of time but there are no facilities at the T and if we had left things to the last minute we would have had no choice but to take a cab. The traffic was also very busy on the way back to the hotel and the trip back took 25 minutes. Regarding driving to the airport we were told between 10 and 20 minutes depending on traffic, a point to note is that they didn't mention that the Chelsea Bridge is closed at the moment, if like us you are new to the area and don't know you are going to have to cross the bridge you just end up at a bridge closed sign! We had to stop at an office and ask how to get to the airport. I would expect reception staff from a hotel that runs a shuttle and would be regularly asked for directions to impart this type of information.

The room was adequate, beds were comfy, pillows awful and lumpy. There is a coffee machine but only decaf coffee was provided. The sink being in the room itself was a little odd, but the shower was good, hot and powerful. Heating worked fine. Overall it was very dim and just didn't feel nice compared to other Holiday Inns. We also found a bullet (!!) on the floor so it definitely hadn't had a thorough clean. Our room faced the highway, but noise wasn't an issue.

Breakfast was thoroughly redeemed by some decent coffee and hot cinnamon rolls which were lovely. The breakfast area itself is also very nice.

The foyer also has a good selection of local area information, including free maps.

In summary I regularly stay in Holiday Inns throughout the UK and Europe and this one is just lacking something, but when I looked at the price being charged it is also very cheap so that has to be balanced against my comments.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressSaugus, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Saugus (Logan Airport), responded to this review, 13 February 2012
We are very sorry that you had a problem getting in touch with the hotel from the train. Unfortunately Massport Authority has taken all courtesy phones out of the airport and the train station for security purposes. Also, we are very sorry that the room type you chose wasn't available. But at least you got enjoy our breakfast in the morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

I base all of my reviews on what I expect from that chain. I will not review a Motel 6 and base my expectations on a four-star hotel.

This was my first stay at this property. I don’t understand any of the complaints in previous reviews.

Parking: Free parking. Finding a spot can be an issue if the hotel is busy. The night I was there, I got the last open spot and that was only at 8pm

Check-in: Fast, friendly and easy!

Getting the type of room I request: No! I reserved a king and was given two fulls.

The Room: A typical Holiday Inn Express

Heads up! The sink is not in the bathroom. It is in the hotel room space. You walk in, there is the closet and then the sink. The sink is nice size and well lit, but if you are sharing your room, you cannot use the sink and not disturb the person with you.

Bed: Just OK. They say their pillows are soft and firm but they all seem the same to me, which is not good. They are all too thick.

TV: Disappointing. It is an old tube TV. That is not the issue. The lack of channels was the problem. Less than 30 channels. That is ridiculous today.

Bathroom: Very small. Average lighting. Shower/tub combo. Adjustable shower head and a curved shower curtain

Room Cleanliness: Clean,

Temperature control: I did not use it.

Outside sound: Minimal! I had an adjourning room so I heard the people next door but it was not that bad. Of course you hear the occasional door closing out in the hallway. (If you are reading this review you have stayed in a hotel before. Help cut down on slamming doors by slowly closing your door and not letting it slam shut)

Lighting: My pet peeve in hotels is lack of lighting. The light in the room was more than adequate.

Work Space: Nice desk and office chair with a lamp.

Internet: FREE - wireless. It was hard to access at night but easy to access in the morning.

Restaurants: Typical, free HIE breakfast. Very nice and large area to eat that was well maintained.

Gym: Small with three recumbent type machines.

Pool: Yes, small and outdoors

Elevators: Two and they are fast.

Location: Very convenient on a major road. Easy to get too. Lots of stores and restaurants nearby.

Would I stay here again? Yes at the right rate.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelGuyNY64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressSaugus, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Saugus (Logan Airport), responded to this review, 6 February 2012
We are glad that you did enjoy most aspects of your stay. Parking, our parking can get full sometimes but we do have additional parking in the garage next door. Next with check in our front desk staff wants to make it as easy as possible for the guest. With the TV we are actually in the process of putting in newer TVs in all the rooms most of them have it we are just finishing the last of them up. Also with the channels we are looking into another package that has more channels as well. The issue about your room type we are very sorry that you did not get the king bed you requested. You should have been notified at check in that the room type you requested could not be fulfilled. But we are glad you did enjoy our complimentary hot continental breakfast hopefully you were able to enjoy our new addition of pancakes. Hopefully if you stay with us again these changes will be done and make your stay more enjoyable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duxbury, Vermont
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

We stayed here, because we needed a place to leave our car while on a week's vacation. They had the best value for stay-and-park packages of any hotel I found. We ended up staying the night before our flight and the night we arrived. Parking was free in their contracted garage in front of the hotel.

This hotel was much nicer in the inside than it first appears from the outside. The lobby and dining room areas are decorated with comfortable contemporary style furniture. There was a good variety of pastries, cereals and fruits for breakfast. I loved the pancake machine.

The staff can best be described as efficient. They took our wake-up call. They scheduled us on the first shuttle to the airport. They got us checked in quickly. When we went into the room, it was obviously not cleaned up. The bed was crumpled and there were used towels on the sink. They immediately gave us another room.

Although it's right on Route 1, the traffic noise did not seem to be bothersome.

My biggest criticism would be that calling it's location "Logan" is a bit misleading. It takes about 20 minutes to get to the airport. But for the price and the value, it's worth the ride. I'd stay here again if I needed to park my car somewhere safe.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Route 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puchochot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressSaugus, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Saugus (Logan Airport), responded to this review, 6 February 2012
We were very glad that you got to enjoy our park and fly packages it is a good value and saves you from driving to the airport. We are also very happy that you did get to enjoy our new addition of breakfast. Also, we are only 8 miles away from the airport but it does seem like a long time depending on the traffic flow in the mornings. But we are very sorry that the first room you were checked into was not clean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, ON
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

Hotel was ok, fairly close to Logan, lots of amenities around. Walking to restaurants, etc. was not good. No sidewalks. One thing I didnt like was that the exit off the highway was very tight to get on and off. It was like a race track trying to merge with traffic. The hotel employees were friendly. The room was nice. They upgraded me so that was a nice surprise! Parking was not great, but sufficient. Breakfast buffett was poor. It was a good stay. Price was cheap.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank putzboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressSaugus, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Saugus (Logan Airport), responded to this review, 6 February 2012
We are very sorry that our breakfast buffet was poor we try to keep it as appetizing as possible with the numerous choices we have. Sometimes the highways around here can be confusing and sort of like a race track if you're not from the area. But we are glad you liked our prices it is much cheaper than staying in downtown Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

I never thought I would be writting this; I always check the reviews of others stay before booking a hotel.
BEWARE BED BUGS and more bugs! The hotel is infested. I was awaken by bites at 2:30 am. I washed myself down with a disinfect and changed beds. if you don't want to be attacked in your sleep, choose a different hotel. I was bitten and now my finger is swollen tight with pus oozing from it.

Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank song a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressSaugus, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Saugus (Logan Airport), responded to this review, 6 January 2012
We are very sorry that this had happened to you. Our hotel is checked regularly for bed bugs and the rooms especially are cleaned thoroughly everyday by our housekeeping staff. This is done to prevent and make sure that these issues do not happen. We unfortunately do not know what bit you and are very sorry that had happened you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saugus hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugus
0.2 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Boston - Logan
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Boston Logan International Airport
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Revere
Quality Inn Revere
#4 of 5 in Revere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
2.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Boston Logan Airport
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Saugus (Logan Airport)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Saugus (Logan Airport)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Saugus (Logan Airport)
Address: 999 Broadway, Saugus, MA 01906
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Saugus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Saugus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Saugus (Logan Airport) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're invited to our contemporary accommodations in Saugus, just 11 miles north of Boston and Logan International Airport. Our hotel's free 24-hour shuttle to Logan Airport and the airport train station makes us the perfect pick for travelers, and our convenient location allows patrons easy access to all that Saugus has to offer. Our hotel's location allows guests to head south to nearby Boston to see the Red Sox at Fenway Park as well as the local attractions of Salem's Witch City. Corporate travelers find convenience and comfort in Saugus, MA since our hotel is just an 11 mile drive from Boston and the Hynes Convention Centers and Peabody office parks. Complimentary Shuttle Info: Guests arriving in Boston via Logan Airport can use our hotel's complimentary 24-hour shuttle service by calling our front desk to be picked up or dropped off at Logan Airport or the Airport Train Station, half hour departures from 4:00am-8:30am on the hour after that. Reservations are required. Whether business or pleasure brings you to Saugus, our hotel's amenities can satisfy your needs. Free internet access keeps you connected, and our Express Start breakfast, complete with signature cinnamon rolls, makes a great start to the day. Guests can enjoy our outdoor pool, or work up a sweat in our fitness center, as well. Free parking available (during your stay). Look to us for genuine value! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Saugus (Logan Airport) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Saugus (Logan Airport) Hotel Saugus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing