We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better days behind it”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
J & M Italian Specialty
Ranked #43 of 110 Restaurants in Saugus
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Saugus, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better days behind it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Have gotten take out at this establishment for many years and through several owner changes. Last few times I visited the steak subs were not up to the quality I was used to from this place. The pizza also took a turn got the worse over the past year or so. Have not been back in at least 4 months and will not visit again. Have heard the place is up for sale and the current owner wants to sell rice balls only.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rfbjr781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saugus, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
210 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Although J&M makes very good sandwiches, I do love their pizza. Being somebody who used to own a pizza place, I'm pretty fussy when it comes to good pizza. If you are in the area, you must try the J&M pizza.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saugus, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Every once in a while, we order from J&M. I'm now a vegetarian, but, before I used to order their Italian sub (still miss it) and my husband would usually get their steak bomb with egg. We've never been disappointed!!!! The pizza is excellent- I highly recommend the baked potato pizza or the buffalo pizza (ask for blue cheese on the side). Their cheese pizza is ok, but, the specialty pizza is to die for!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bmwmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham, MA USA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great subs and salads”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Always good food. I especially love their cheesesteak sub - they also have pizza and calzone but I'm hooked on their subs.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jean293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not consistent or maybe they're cutting back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

The chicken salad on pita bread is an amazing sandwich which I pick up for my husband and I to share. It's alway been more than we can eat.
I ordered one today and was surprised that it was ready for me so quickly. I've never minded waiting the 20 minutes while they bake the pita bread that I rave about.
I opened the sandwich before I got home; the bread was cold and it was less than the oppulant size I stop at J & M for.
I called my husband to suggest he pick up something else for dinner before he got home.
Maybe it was made by a new employee. It was sparce compared to past sandwiches.
I noticed J & M's web site states, "Our bread is baked fresh everyday in Boston's North End". Maybe the pita bread is no longer baked to order.
The chicken salad was the usual excellent quality but no reason to make the stop anymore.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carol v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed J & M Italian Specialty also viewed

 

Been to J & M Italian Specialty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing