We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Oasis in the Mountains”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Three Rivers
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cort Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 11 Three Rivers B&B and Inns
Kenilworth, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An Oasis in the Mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

A very unique place, so different from the norm. We had flown from the East Coast and spent 3 days running around, then drove half a day to Three Rivers. The rushing and stress stopped upon walking down the stone path to Cort Cottage. It's like you've gone to your own private retreat away from it all. Going up the road and seeing Sequoia was the goal, but had the park not been there, I would have been just as happy staying at the cottage for three days, reading a book and doing nothing. The stocked refrigerator and kitchen was one of the nicest things, we had been eating out for days, and just to sit down and have breakfast was nice, and we shopped in town, picked up groceries and made dinner, which was a very nice change. The only reason I would not recommend going here is if it becomes popular, then I may have trouble getting a reservation to go back.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveandlindab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    5
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

After 5 days in Sequoia National Park -- part backpacking, part lodging - we made our way to Cort Cottage. A place to settle before we headed back to "the world". Did we ever strike it rich! We arrived late (after dark) but the pathway to the cottage was lit by walklights.....the cottage was open and ready for us. Elsah (owner) had supplied us with eggs and coffee and fruit and oj and toast for breakfast the next morning. So we were happy!
It was a warm night. We made a quick supper (fully stocked kitchen made it SO nice!) - and ate outside on the deck/porch....not knowing what our surroundings looked like -- but knowing that it was quiet and lovely.
We woke to an incredible view of the Cash Mtn BLM area - trees and birds and foothills.
We loved our stay and tranquility there - SO MUCH- that we asked if we could stay one more night!

I highly recommend the Cort Cottage. If you're expecting "Marriott" style - this isn't for you.
But if you're looking for comfort and tranquility and poetry and beauty and your own "spot in time" -- then I highly recommend the Cort Cottage!

Only a few miles to the entrance to Sequoia Natl Park. We feel lucky to have found it!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mainetravelers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

We stayed at Cort Cottage for two nights during our visit to Sequoia National park and were terrifically impressed with the cottage. The cottage is situated in the town of Three Rivers and located less than 2 miles from Sequoia National Park, which was perfect because you can get to the park entrance in less than 5 minutes. The amenities at the cottage lacked nothing. The cottage itself is designed to provied all of the amenities you would have at home. From the Dish Network cable, library of books and guides to Sequoia, to the book of menus from local restaurants, fully-functioning kitchen and skyline view of the mountains from the cottage living room, there is little more you could ask for as a guest! Upon our arrival, the cottage hostess brought us various breakfast foods for us to prepare breakfast before leaving for the park the next morning. The cottage is also less than a mile or so from great Three Rivers restaurants - whether you like outdoor mexican food with live music, or steak dinner on a patio overlooking the river. The cottage itself is well cared for and well kept. It offers a quiet, calm atmosphere which is perfect after a day of hiking, or other activities in the park. Would definitely recommend giving this jewel a shot!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richter_Belmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lemont, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

Cort Cottage was everything I had hoped for, and more. From the well stocked kitchen to the view out our front window it was wonderful. We were greeted by a flock of wild turkeys on the first day and visits from hummingbirds every morning. I wish we could have stayed longer, but had to travel on. Somedday, we will make it back there.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobber1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

My husband and I recently stayed in Cort cottage for 5 nights. We had our two-and-a-half year old daughter with us, sleeping in her own travel bed in the bedroom. The cottage was ideal for our needs - a perfect mix of privacy, modern comforts, and tranquil location.

From the cottage it's about 20 minutes to the Ash Mountain entrance to Sequoia National Park, and about 1.5 hours to Kings Canyon National Park. The cottage is near the end of a quiet road, with fantastic views from the living room of uninhabited hills.

The cottage has a flatscreen tv, dvd player, and wifi. The kitchen is fully stocked, and we particularly appreciated the small cooler, which we packed with a picnic lunch and took with us on our expeditions every day. Elsah Cort provided breakfast food (baked goods, fresh fruit, and eggs) that was more than enough for the three of us, and we cooked our evening meals in the well-equipped kitchen. Besides breakfast food, coffee, and tea, Elsah had made sure that the freezer was fully stocked with ice, which was very thoughtful. Elsah welcomed us and we chatted in passing, but otherwise we were left alone to fully appreciate the quiet and tranquility of the location.

The cottage has a good selection of reading materials, including children's books, and a variety of guides and maps to the area and the nearby national parks that helped us plan our day trips. The mattress on the bed was very comfortable, the air conditioner was efficient and quiet, and it was a pleasure just to sit around in such a well-appointed and well-designed little house. It was wonderful to come "home" to wifi, tv, home-cooked meals, and all the comforts of civilized life after a day traipsing around the gorgeous wilderness of the mountains.

I think it's important to note that the bathroom is not fully enclosed with floor-to-ceiling walls and door. This was not a problem for us at all, but if you aren't traveling with family, just be aware that you won't have absolute privacy in the bathroom.

I would certainly recommend Cort Cottage to any couple or family of 3 who is visiting Sequoia National Park.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmparkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

This cute little is perfect for a couple getaway or for a small family (one child). Beautiful view of the surrounding mountains and lots of vegetation around. The environment is private and the owner respect that. If you have the intention to visit the National Sequoia Park (AWESOME by the way), this the place to stay since it is only 15 minutes away.

The cottage has everything you need to make your stay enjoyable and pleasant. Ohh yes one more thing... for those like me who are not a big fan of typical B&B where you have breakfast with other and the owner, this is NOT a place like this. At the day of your arrival, Elsah, the owner, will bring you everything you need to prepare yourself your own very good breakfast... perfect!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benny_Kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

My husband and I spent ten days touring Central California. We were scheduled to stay two days at Cort Cottage but we would have liked to stay there much longer. The cottage was very welcoming and comfortable. Our hostess anticipated our every need and exceeded them with many extra special touches. The bed was very comfortable and our sleep was peaceful. The wireless connection worked fine. The cottage is situated on such a lovely property with an unbelievable view of mountains and the serene sound of a nearby creek. We arrived after an abundance of spring rains so everything was a lush green and a cascade was visible on the mountain facing the cottage. The entrance to a large area overseen by the Bureau of Land Management is just a few hundred yards away and we enjoyed walking the area in the mornings and evenings. The property was amazing and wildflowers were everywhere. We had a great time visiting Sequoia National Park during the day but the cottage was so lovely we bypassed eating out and opted for dining out on the deck so we could enjoy the view and the peaceful surroundings. A little wren serenaded us tirelessly and the local turkeys and ravens were very amusing neighbors.

Our stay at Cort Cottage was a feast for the senses and a truly enchanting place.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bluesbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
0.9 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
4.5 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
12.6 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
1.9 mi away
Rio Sierra Riverhouse
Rio Sierra Riverhouse
#3 of 11 in Three Rivers
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cort Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cort Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Cort Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: 44141 Skyline Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9720
Region: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private guest cottage located 4 miles from main entrance to Sequoia National Park. The cottage is fully equipped with kitchen, satellite internet, flat screen television with satellite reception, DVD./CD player, queen bed and fold down futon couch, reading library, air conditioning, outdoor hot tub, and private bath. Breakfast food is included. Biodynamic craniosacral sessions available from host who is also a RN. Special retreat packages for nursing burnout retreat and for writers and artists. Families welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing