We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little upkeep or maintenance would go a long way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gateway Restaurant and Lodge
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Fortunately we only had to stay one night. We were embarrassed that foreign travelers might think that this place is the best we have to offer. Grounds had discarded items scattered about, room with two beds meant you could not get to the closet without climbing over the bed. The night we were there, there was a band which started about 8PM and ending sometime after 11, so if you were there to rest, that was not an option along with the noisy a/c. The "upgrade" in our room may have been the new pipes which were installed on the interior wall of the shower (they were not in the wall, but in the shower). If you needed to plug in coffee pot, you would have to move out the desk and refrigerator first. Definitely would not recommend. We did try the restaurant, which was another disappointment, overpriced and terrible food and service......

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank napoliNaples_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

I just stayed there for three nights. We were in the cabin with the river view off the big back patio. We caught trout on the river below. We saw a Mother black bear and her two cubs right below our patio. We ate breakfast everyday over the river and had BBQ steaks on the patio one night also. The location is excellent, it's very close to most of the main attractions at Sequia National Park. The owner Glenn is very nice and gave us great advice on where to go. It's not fancy but it's clean and fully equipted. The view out back is great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

It’s a sin.

This hotel is located in such a perfect spot: just a mile or two from the southern entrance of Sequoia National Park, alongside the gorgeous Kaweah River. The problem is that this lodge is old & crappy.

If the owners were to raze this mess and create a cozy and vibrant new “Gateway” to Sequoia National Park, they could have a true gem on their hands. I suppose because of the proximity to the park, they already get plenty of business as it is, so there’s no reason to start over. To give the owners credit, they have mentioned that they’ve shelled out over $100,000 for recent renovations, but I didn’t see it.

I’ll admit that I didn’t stay in the “Honeymoon” cabin which is probably much nicer than the standard room I stayed in. My room just screamed tired, worn-out & dank, with a cramped bathroom and a shoddy air-conditioning unit. I’m not a picky person who expects luxury accommodations whenever I travel (I usually stay at your basic Hampton Inn), but for the price I paid, I was definitely disappointed in the look and feel of the room. Yes, I guess its nearness to the park entrance warrants a higher per night cost than what I would expect for a hotel in this blah condition, but the value was still sorely lacking. Perhaps if they were to throw in a complimentary breakfast, they could boost the perception of their customers closer to feeling as if they were getting their money’s worth.

Maybe the attraction here is the restaurant, which does get higher billing in the establishment’s name. I will admit that I did not eat at the restaurant. It is possible that enjoying a fine meal while overlooking the beautiful babbling waters of the river below would make up for the less-than-satisfying room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank PhlegmMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here 3 nights in June. I have to say, if all you are looking for is a place to sleep at night, it is ok. They have a beautiful spot on the river, but you can only enjoy it if you stay in the riverfront cabin or go to their overpriced restaurant. There is no safe spot to even get down to the river. The view from all the other rooms is of the back of the restaurant, dumpsters, trash cans,overturned outdoor heaters and the dirt parking lot. Our room was pretty dirty and not sure of the renovation they spoke of. Also, at check in you are actually in their bar with inebriated people staring at you. Just not comfortable. Its a shame because it could be so nice if they would just clean it up. I'v got an idea, have the ten employees that were out there smoking all the time do some work when the restaurant isn't busy?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tongad2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I absolutely do not recommend this lodge. It is totally overpriced for what you get. The staff is unfriendly and not a bit helpful. But what really matters is the room itself. They said its all renovated, with new carpets, but it wasn't, it looks very old and lousy.
Bathroom was a mess. Hairs from other people everywhere. Urine spots on the toilet, brown spots on the wall near the toilet. It was a nightmare.
The food in the restaurant nearby is very expensive and not worth the price.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Zinniminni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed at the Gateway March 27 & 28th. Everyone was very nice and welcoming. The rooms had just been redone and was very nice. Has a beautiful dining area along the creek. We were told to make ourselves at home and had a nice stay. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We booked 2 nights and had a terrific time. Everyone went out of there way to see our stay was a great experience. Met the owner Glen, who showed up at our door with a free bottle of champagne. The river was outside our back door with all the sounds of nature. We took our 2 small dogs and they were welcomed. Also, met Glens wife at the Gateway Restaurant. She went out of her way to meet all of our needs. What a great couple. The Gateway Restaurant is fantastic. The ambience is incredible, as well as the food. I give the Lodge and Restaurant 5 STARS*****. Great place to stay to explore the National Park and river. Can't wait to go back. We stayed in cabin 6. It had a dry sauna in room. Nice!

Room Tip: Cabin 6 is honeymoon suite with dry sauna and river at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jack d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelers1954, Owner at Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review. We have spent over $100,000 in room renovations this year, so all our rooms have a fresh new look. If you want to come and have a great time with great food and drinks, this is the place to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
10.2 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,469 reviews
19.4 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
554 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
662 reviews
7 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Restaurant and Lodge

Address: 45978 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Three Rivers
Price Range: £84 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gateway Restaurant and Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodging renovation completed March 2014. The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge is located just 1/4 mile from the Main Entrance to Sequoia National Park on Highway 198. If offers a full service bar and restaurant along with a lodge containing 5 standard rooms, a cozy honeymoon cottage on the river with a dry sauna room and a two bedroom river house that sleeps up to 8 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Gateway Restaurant and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing