We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rio Sierra Riverhouse
Ranked #2 of 11 Three Rivers B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed there for one night only, but it was really great. Amazing location beside the river, friendly people, lovely room. And it´s close to the National Park. Would definitely stay there again (and for more than one day).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T0m_H_at
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Rio Sierra Riverhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

I'm really thrown off by all these great reviews. I kept thinking, "did all these people stay at the same place?" I found the Rio Sierra to be friendly but strange and dirty. We stayed 2 nights in the Panorama Room, which is literally a big room containing a kitchen and beds - you walk in to a kitchen, then take a few steps down to the sleeping area.

The room felt like your parent's Tahoe cabin, where they dump all the old furniture they no longer want. There was no closet, but I noticed they hung a few hangers off of the shelf. No main light. At night we had to go around turning on lamps to get enough light. They had clip lamps above the railings above the beds. And then there was a chandelier inside a glass box. And the bathroom.... it seemed like it was done by a non-professional.

The weird decor wasn't as bad as the dirtiness. There was dust allover the kitchen cabinets, where the glassware and dishes were kept. The blinds were super dusty and dirty. I found hairs on my comforter. There were stains on the chair cushions. The worst part was the bathroom. The shower head was covered with white stuff. The grout was nasty. There was dirt stuck in the corner of the bathroom floor. The weirdest (and gross) part was a stuffed animal on top of the toilet. Not everyone closes the lid after when flushing- ugh. I wonder if they wash the stuffed animal after every guest.

The one thing that Rio Sierra has going for it, is their customer service. I found it very easy to make a reservation. When the room I wanted became available, Margaret emailed me and we were able to change rooms. The gentlemen that helped us when we arrived was a little weird but nice. He helped us bring our bags in and then went on to explain how everything functioned in the room, as well as showing us a map of Sequoia Natl Forest and a few hikes. It was kind of a lot of info to give someone checking in at 10p, after a long drive - but he genuinely seemed like he wanted to help.

I really hope the owners are able to getting the cleanliness issue fixed and declutter the rooms. This motel has a great location and lots of potential.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kms2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarsRio, Owner at Rio Sierra Riverhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

We are so sorry that our usually first-rate housekeeping missed the mark so badly for these guests.
We will leave to others to decide on the style points raised by this review. But we will take every one of the cleaning notes to heart, as we work constantly to deliver fresh clean rooms every day to every guest. Thanks for taking the time to write!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

stayed in this really quirky and original retreat and enjoyed every minute of it. It is a great location for Sequoia National Park and a great get away from it all location. The room and bed were very comfortable.

The staff were very helpful and we used the river beach which was just lovely after a 5 hour drive from Palm Springs and I swam in the creek. At night we set out by the wood burning brazier and enjoyed the peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmcgrann54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This is a wonderful spot on the river ! Mars is a delightful host, who sees to your every whim....We stayed in the River Studio with the windows open at night to hear the roar of the river. Bonfires on the beach ....nice ! The sandwich store down the road makes yummy food with a fantastic coffee shop next doors. We will definitely stay here again..

Room Tip: River Studio is private and cozy! Silly me they don't have a fitness center...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank randyesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We spent 2 nights at Rio Sierra fm 8/16-18/13. The park is very accessible to and from the riverhouse. It is very quiet and tucked away from the park crowd. We swim at the river pools and hang out on the beach most afternoons to beat the heat. Mars and her crews were very welcoming and friendly. BBQ and bonfire met great people, a family (Pam and Ian) traveling from UK another from Germany. Note to self: get the room with kitchen for future. Reimer's ice cream is yummy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Such a beautiful spot on the river. The Riverhouse is amazing - everything you could possibly need. Utterly charming hosts (Thanks Mars, Chuck and Tom). Totally relaxing two days spent on the river, very close to Sequoia National Park. Handy amenities in town. Large room with comfy bed, shower, fridge, coffee maker, A/C, balcony/deck with incredible views, the best swimming spot! There can be no better place for relaxing and doing nothing. We stayed here in August 2013 as part of our honemoon road trip - we couldn't have chosen better. Any advice? yep - just go - you won't be disappointed. Tim & Claire, UK.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 400Tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We booked the Wildwood rv for our two night stay towards the end of a three week road trip around the south west. Arriving in the afternoon after a long, hot drive from Las Vegas, the setting was incredibly peaceful, and the river absolutely amazing for swimming! The grounds have been thoughtfully laid out, with lots of seating areas and fire pits dotted around. The rv is in a secluded setting on the river, with beautiful views upstream, and while very small inside, has everything you need for a couple of nights. Some people may find it a little cramped, but we were perfectly happy to rough it for a couple of nights after the noise and crowds of Vegas, and tended to sit outside in the evenings relaxing by the fire with a cold beer. We used the barbeque one evening, having stocked up with supplies from the local supermarket, and would definitely recommend the breakfast picnic that can be ordered on arrival- we took it up into the park to enjoy before we set off on a hike. Owner very helpful and friendly. Wifi available in some areas of the property. Loved this place mainly for the unique river setting, beautiful swimming, and get away from it all feel. Recommended!

Room Tip: rv is small but fun
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MissR23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
2.8 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
14.2 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,396 reviews
17.4 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
307 reviews
16.9 mi away
Best Western Exeter Inn & Suites
20.8 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Sierra Riverhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Sierra Riverhouse

Address: 41997 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Three Rivers
Price Range: £155 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rio Sierra Riverhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio Sierra Riverhouse is a landmark riverfront property in California's Sierra foothills. We're located located 6 miles from Sequoia National Park. Five comfortable rental units are each furnished with refrigerator, coffeemaker, microwave, TV, telephone, and wireless internet access.Outside, guests enjoy access to a scenic river beach and, in summer, the town's locally famous swimming hole, known as Slicky.Pull up a beach chair. Hang out in a cabana.Come Stay on the River. Let Nature Do the Rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Rio Sierra Riverhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Sierra Riverhouse Hotel Three Rivers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing