We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rio Sierra Riverhouse
Ranked #3 of 11 Three Rivers B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So lovely”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

It's not without its quirks but I can't imagine a lovelier setting for a B&B/hotel.
It's smack on the river and the water is great for swimming especially given the hot weather.We had the trailer and, whilst a little cramped,provided a superb secluded spot to while away our evenings.
Yes some things don't quite work as they should but nothing critical and you'll happily put up with these and just enjoy the location and some of the nice touches that constantly enhance the stay.
Heartily recommended.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    13
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
52
56
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights in the self-catering Hideaway RV, detached from the house with lots of outside space fronting the river. The setting is gorgeous and we spent very little time inside, with our own firepit to sit around each evening. The ground and landscaping requires steady footwork, and there are steep steps down from the road.

The RV is oldish but has everything we needed, and the shower and strange flush toilet worked perfectly. It is pretty small inside but with a comfortable bed - we are used to a small motorhome. There is a hob and microwave but no oven; we used the large gas BBQ outside on 2 nights to cook our meal - the other night we had a great takeaway pizza from the Pizza Factory down the road, which did for lunch the next day as well. Eating out of doors is a great pleasure.

We actually cut short one of our two days in Sequoia to spend the afternoon in the grounds as it was so beautiful. As well as challenging rocky rapids for confident swimmers, there is a lovely large deep still pool below with sandy access for swimming - though this is used by lots of locals as well and may not be very safe for small children and you should watch your belongings. The water was not cold at the end of June. There are lots of outdoor chairs and shady spots, and the owners sell refreshments during the day.

The noise of the river lulled us to sleep but is significantly loud. If aircon was needed, that is extremely noisy, but it is quite cool here on June evenings. Management was very friendly but fires have to be out at 10pm; people do keep early nights and we hardly saw anyone about so there was no opportunity to chat.

The road up to Sequoia NP is extremely slow, steep and winding and it does take an hour minimum to get to the big trees, but they are magnificent and their biology fascinating. The 400-step stiff climb up Moro Rock, challenging at that altitude, gives a stunning panorama. Three Rivers is a very quiet little town but is the nearest place outside the park to stay. We would love to go again.

Room Tip: The self-catering Hideaway is a different experience completely from the rest ot the B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silvertravellers48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We spent just one night here as part of our 19 day road trip and we were very pleased with the room and overall experience.
We stayed in River Studio and it really was a lovely room with the most comfortable bed! We slept so well.
We popped down to the nearby Pizza restaurant and bought takeout pizzas which we ate on our balcony along with sipping one of our Sonoma wines. The grounds were lovely with little seating areas dotted everywhere and lovely lighting. The owner had a fire-pit going and was entertaining a few of the other guests. We had been asked down too but we took advantage of just watching the stars from our own balcony which we hoped didn't seem anti social, as we really aren't!
This is a lovely place and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TASmart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night in Rio Sierra. I wish we could have stayed longer, it was great! We booked via another website and there were was directly nice emailcontact with the owner. We were on honeymoon, and therefore they upgraded our room to the mastersuite while we booked the gardensuite. It was amazing! Also there was a basket with fruit and congrats for us. The room was huge and very cosy. The staff was very friendly and helpfull.
In the evening we sat on the campfire. It was an overall great experience and i would recommend everyone who will go to Sequioa to stay here.
If we will be there another time, I will certainly book a room here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Annekelubbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Do not take the Garden Room. Very small. Only one double bed. Hardly enough room to move around. Only about 50 ft from main highway, very noisy. Lot of noise from above you. If you ever take this place make SURE you get a room overlooking the river, not one facing the road.
Very over priced for their accommodations!

Room Tip: Not on front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
7 Thank JkbKmb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is a magical place; my family spent two incredible nights and three days here and we really felt like we were at a close relatives house. Everything is perfect, from breakfast that we opted for to the cozy house and the fire lit by the river every night. If you're looking for the perfect getaway with the family, this is the place to stay, hands down.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We had three nights here and opted to stay in the hideaway We LOVED it! Such a cute place, super clean and couldn't ask for friendlier welcomes. Barbecues by the river, Campfires, listening to the river, wading in the river. Just idyllic. Thanks Margaret and co!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cazza722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
2.8 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
17.4 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
620 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,314 reviews
16.9 mi away
Best Western Exeter Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Sierra Riverhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Sierra Riverhouse

Property: Rio Sierra Riverhouse
Address: 41997 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Rio Sierra Riverhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio Sierra Riverhouse is a landmark riverfront property in California's Sierra foothills. We're located located 6 miles from Sequoia National Park. Five comfortable rental units are each furnished with refrigerator, coffeemaker, microwave, TV, telephone, and wireless internet access.Outside, guests enjoy access to a scenic river beach and, in summer, the town's locally famous swimming hole, known as Slicky.Pull up a beach chair. Hang out in a cabana.Come Stay on the River. Let Nature Do the Rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Rio Sierra Riverhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Sierra Riverhouse Hotel Three Rivers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing