We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Our Family”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Buckeye Tree Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Three Rivers
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buckeye Tree Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great for Our Family”
Reviewed 2 July 2008

The owners are incredibly gracious and accomodating. The roaring river lulled us to sleep every night. The landscaping is lovely from the buckeye trees to the blooming cactus. The pool is refreshing. The rooms are not fancy but they are clean and comfortable. And Sequoia National Forest is literally around the first bend. We enjoyed our stay very much and would highly recommend this lodge.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FormerBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    156
    38
    15
    6
See reviews for
113
178
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
München
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2008

Wonderful location! Rooms o.k., clean, not too small. The view is worth every cent! We had one of the groundfloor rooms, just some steps away from the river. BBQ place is on the motel ground. Breakfast basket is fruit and muffin, we brought our own stuff(did the shopping in Visalia), coffeemaker in the room. You can hear the river day and night, we loved it! Friendly staff! Had a delicious dinner atGateway Restaurant next door, expensive, but worth the price.

  • Liked — location, view, atmosphere
  • Disliked — no cell phone use possible
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carinma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2008

We stayed at the Buckeye's sister property, the Sequoia Village Inn, right across the street. The people there (for both properties) are great--they're even sending back the toothbrush we left behind.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbtraveler20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2008

We stayed at the Buckeye Tree lodge for two nights on the first stage of a round trip - LA - Sequioa - Yosemite - SF - LA.
We were absolutely mesmerized by the view from our balcony upon arrival. And it got better! The sunrise over the mountain across on the other side of the river was an experience never to be forgotten. We had breakfast on the balcony overlooking the river. Quite idyllic!
The reception lady was very friendly. The room was spacious and clean. The furnishings were a bit worse for wear. For that we had a mini-kitchen (microwave, fridge and coffeemaker) and the bed was huge and very comfortable. We had the end room on the landing so it was very private and also lighter than the others due to an extra window. The bathroom was also fairly large.
We were on the upper floor and had a balcony. The rooms on the ground floor had access to the garden and their garden furniture was considerably better. If I went again I would consider a downstairs room. The breakfast consisted of a muffin or pastry and a piece of fruit and we made our own coffee. It kept body and soul together but for the ensuing days we bought some muffins and extra fruit in the village. We had dinner once at the next door restaurant. The food was ok but expensive. And the place filled up very quickly so it's better to get there early. The lodge is within walking distance of the park entrance.
We would recommend this place to anyone, it's worth staying there just for the location.

  • Liked — wonderful location, views, comfortable bed
  • Disliked — furnishing a bit shabby, meagre breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank englishladyGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasília
Level Contributor
194 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2008

Almost at the entrance of Sequoia NP, the location is very convenient. Very good room and very friendly and helpful staff. The room has a small fridge, is spacious, clean and cozy. Parking has enough places for the guests, but often some spaces are ocuppied by not educated costumers of the restaurant across the street. A good experience overall and I suppose that is a perfect place for families. Beware: actualy there are bears: I saw a female with two cubs! Try to arrive before night: the road is very narrow and has a lot of curves. Check the hours of front desk, since they don't operate 24 hs but leave the key of the room for you.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Averbuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, Ca
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2007

This is an annual trip for us to Three Rivers and as always the Buckeye Tree Lodge goes above and beyond to ensure we have a great time. The rooms may not be high class but they are comfy and clean. The owners go out of their way to make us have a great time since there are about 20 of us per trip. The Gateway next door is a great place to eat any meal or hang out in their newly refurbished bar.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CariBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuma, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2007

Falcon is like a miniature custom home for guests to stay in. It's gorgeous inside and out. Surrounded by the foothills of the Sequoia National Park it's like a fantasy retreat. The granite countertops, faux painting and incredible wood furniture make this little gem a must for any traveler. It's a home away from home! The staff are courteous and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The Falcon is one of a number of little bungalows on the hillside right below the park, making the entire property great for park travelers. I recommend it to anyone looking for an extraordinary traveling experience! Thanks Buckeye!

  • Liked — That it felt like a home, not a hotel room.
  • Disliked — That I had to leave it!
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cinderellaucd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
10.1 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,226 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
15.0 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
284 reviews
19.3 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
461 reviews
21.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Exeter Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckeye Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckeye Tree Lodge

Property: Buckeye Tree Lodge
Address: 46000 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Region: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buckeye Tree Lodge is located 1/4 mile from the entrance to Sequoia National Park in the Sierra Nevada Mountains. With all rooms set along the banks of the Kaweah River, the river views and sounds from each room and balcony are spectacular. The Buckeye's beautiful grounds include a pool, lawn and picnic area next to the River. All rooms have private bathroom, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, super quiet and powerful AC/Heat, free wifi internet and free local and long distance calling. The River House at Buckeye also features a 3 bedroom 2 bathroom rental house with stunning river and mountain views, two elevated decks over the river, a full living room with 60" flat screen, dining room and incredible kitchen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buckeye Tree Hotel Three Rivers
Buckeye Tree Three Rivers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing