We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, perfect nook at the base of the mountains”
Review of Buckeye Tree Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Three Rivers
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buckeye Tree Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing, perfect nook at the base of the mountains”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for only one night, in the Blossom cabin, on the way to Sequoia National Park. It was a great location, great atmosphere. Quiet, relaxing, and a little garden next to river with a tree swing was icing on the cake. It's on my list of places to return to.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChewyMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    158
    38
    15
    6
See reviews for
119
183
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Not a better location exists in Three Rivers. The location is perfect especially if planning on going to the park. The view and walk out to the river is the best there is. We wished we could of stayed longer so we could spend more time at the Lodge. We would go to the park during the day and return late in the day. There is much to do and see at the park. The restaurant next door to the Lodge is not cheap but it is convenient. Be sure to get the discount coupon in the office for the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My wife and I just spent a week in Las Vegas (I had a 3 day convention to attend) and we stayed in a 2 bedroom suite at one of our Hilton Grand Vacation Club timeshares (Elara) which was very nice and weren't expecting anything quite as nice but we were pleasantly surprised! We booked 2 nights in room #1 and while the property shows some wear and tear it was clean, the young lady at the front desk was most accommodating and I actually could walk the 1/4 mile to the entrance of Sequoia National Park! The little fridge and microwave were added bonuses and we were able to cook our meals right there. The river view was spectacular and my wife enjoyed the 2 days there more than the week in Las Vegas! Having Dish TV was super! The only negative thing I can thing of was the bathroom fan was noisy and came on whenever you turned on the light but there was a night light so it really wasn't that big a deal. Would I stay there again? You betcha but for a week instead of a couple days.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cwbw2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

As mentioned before, Buckeye is not the most up to date place in terms of decor but it is situated right next to the Sequioa national park and has a river running right past your room at the back. I was so pleased we booked a night here. There is one restaurant right next to the lodge and quiet a few on the drive down the road. I would not recommend staying here without the use of a car though!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sirtravellotLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I have stayed at the Buckeye Tree Lodge twice. Even though the rooms are dated, they are clean enough. The supreme attraction is the hotel is right on the river. There is a charcoal grill available (restaurants in town are mediocre) and several sycamore trees shade the yard. Each morning I woke up, ground my own in room coffee (grinder and coffee supplied) and sat under the tree listening to the birds wake up as the sun rose. If you are a bird watcher this is a wonderful place! Orioles, finches, flycatchers, hawks... amazing.
We stayed 4 nights. Beds were always made, but the room was not vacuumed or coffee beans resupplied unless I left a little note. Once I figured that out, I had no problem getting the room cleaned.

Room Tip: There are kitchenettes available across the road; however, I love being next to the river and just b...
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycle bins are available in every room. Environmentally friendly tips are posted.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank birdlover2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed 4 nights and had a wonderful time. The room had fresh coffee beans that we ground ourselves. It opened onto a back lawn that overlooked the river, which was accessible via a short path. We sipped our coffee and bird-watched every morning. Between the sound of the river and the songs of the birds, it was idyllic. Orioles, finches, hummingbirds, hawks, and herons, there was always lots of bird activity. There was also a community grill on the lawn, so we barbequed several times, as the local restaurant fare does not always justify the price.

Room Tip: Some rooms have kitchenettes and some overlook the river.
See more room tips
Green Features: They recycle and suggest energy saving practices. We came early in the season, so the sliding doors were always open.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joel f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay here, despite the rainy / snowy weather in the national park.

We had a standard queen room, which to my surprise had a small kitchenette, table and chairs. The room was clean and came with adequate utensils and crockery. There is also a couple or chairs outside, so you can enjoy the river and mountain view.

The motel is right on the river, and overlooks vacant land and mountains. It is also a 5 minute drive to the national park. You can also take a 10 minute drive into Three Rivers for groceries and restaurants.

The owners were onsite and were very helpful in giving us tips on the local area. I think they may live on the property.

One night we did have some tenants above us, and could hear them walking around in the early morning, which woke us up. So I would request a room upstairs if you can.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AussieBatGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
10.1 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,275 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
15.0 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
19.3 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
21.3 mi away
Best Western Exeter Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckeye Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckeye Tree Lodge

Property: Buckeye Tree Lodge
Address: 46000 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Region: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buckeye Tree Lodge is located 1/4 mile from the entrance to Sequoia National Park in the Sierra Nevada Mountains. With all rooms set along the banks of the Kaweah River, the river views and sounds from each room and balcony are spectacular. The Buckeye's beautiful grounds include a pool, lawn and picnic area next to the River. All rooms have private bathroom, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, super quiet and powerful AC/Heat, free wifi internet and free local and long distance calling. The River House at Buckeye also features a 3 bedroom 2 bathroom rental house with stunning river and mountain views, two elevated decks over the river, a full living room with 60" flat screen, dining room and incredible kitchen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buckeye Tree Hotel Three Rivers
Buckeye Tree Three Rivers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing