We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riverside Delight”
Review of Buckeye Tree Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Three Rivers
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buckeye Tree Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 27 July 2007

Almost on the doorstep of Sequoia National Park, I don;t think you can get a closer hotel without actually staying in the park itself. Stayed here 2 nights so we could have a whole day at the park.

Stayed on one of the ground floor rooms with patio door that led out onto a nice patio seating area. Amazing views of the river, very refreshing!

Room was nice with a fairly small bathroom. Microwave and TV in room with some drinks, cake and fruit provied for breakfast. Bed comfy and slept well.

Staff very friendly and new owners have taken onboard a group of friendly cats that wander around the grounds!

There is a restarant a very short walk away, but might be an idea to book in advance if it's busy.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2007

This lodge proved to be in a great location for family fun. We met friends here for a weekend. The kids loved scrambling over the boulders in the creek behind the lodge. We also had a fun barbecue, although the insects later forced most of us inside.

The rooms themselves are small and dated, but they are clean and the staff is attentive. We had ants and the staff took care of the problem while we were out touring the park. We had the kitchenette which was fully stocked with pans, dishes and silverware.

A small breakfast basket is provided with juice, fruit and muffins. The pool was great, clean and the water temperature was fine. Beautiful scenery behind the lodge.

Surprisingly for such a remote location there is internet access.

Overall, a fun place to stay although perhaps a bit pricey during the summer season.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ramped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2007

My family and I absolutely loved the Buckeye. Yes, it is old and lots of things around the motel show age BUT it is right on a wonderful mountain river chock full of huge boulders and nice pools (I wish I had taken my fly rod with me) which you can see from the shared deck outside your room, and the motel and steam have some of the best views of the Sierras you could ask for. (For my money, the views in the area of the motel are much better than the Cedar Lodge, which is a very difficult to get to National Park hotel in the park, but please don't miss the drive down to Cedar Canyon--it's a bit of a hairy drive, but it's a MUST SEE.)

Now back to the motel...I was sorry to read the reviews about the cigarette smoke and the noisy neighbors. We just kept the noisy air conditioner on and slept like babies. The pool is small but very nice. The water is warm and relaxing. The Buckeye is also as close as you are going to get to the Park. And as others have said, the women at the front desk are all extremely pleasant and helpful.

One tip: in this reviewers opinion, 3 rivers is a culinary desert. We got 2 recommendations for places to eat and they were both totally unsatisfactory. In fact, they were back to back the 2 worst restaurants we ate in during our 3 week California vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimhBroadway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2007

We stayed in the King Suite for two days and did not want to leave, it had a fridge, microwave, VCR, full size tub, and a porch that wrapped around the end of the hotel. The hotel gave us so much privacy and amazing views of the river and mts. The pool area was private and very quiet (don't forget your suit when you go and bring appropriate shoes to walk around the river/rocks).

The hotel was so relaxing that we never even went to Sequoia National Park which is a few blocks away from the hotel.

We did go to dinner next door at the Gateway on our final night - the resturant was right over the river with an amazing view, the food was okay and a bit expensive - but we were on vacation and loved the atmosphere of the resturant.

The hotel was very clean and maintained and we had everything we could of possibly needed there (plus it was so much more convenient than camping and the staff was so nice and helpful).

We would recommend bringing your own food and beverages as the selection is limited in Three Rivers and we did not have to go out to get anything! Sleeping by the sound of the rushing river was so relaxing!!!

Stayed: June 2007
3  Thank Vacation33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2007

The staff at this hotel were friendly and accommodating. The room was clean but extremely simple. The bathroom was small, especially the sink, which had no room for toiletries. The shower stall was also small and a tall man would have trouble fitting into it. Fixtures were old and laminate in the bathroom was peeling. The hotel rooms need a major facelift in every way.

It did have a microwave and small refrigerator, but take note - bring food and supplies from home; there isn't a decent market in the small town of Three Rivers (but there is one that will do in a pinch about a 15 minute drive from the hotel on Highway 198). There is only one restaurant near the hotel which is outrageously overpriced for below-average food.

The best things about this hotel is its proximity to Sequoia National Park and the gorgeous river that runs behind the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2007

The Good: The hotel is very close to the south entrance of the park. It is also right next to a wonderful river that adds to an awesome view of beautiful hills from the hotel window and balcony. When the river is full, you can hear it roar which combined with the fresh air makes for a relaxing experience. The lady that mans the front desk (Victoria) in the evening is very nice and adds to the overall experience as well as the friendly and free roaming cats that live on the property. The refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and TV were nice to have. The rate for a king bed was very reasonable.
The Tolerable: The bathrooms are very small with the toilet snuggled neatly between the wall and the sink making for an interesting experience when your business involves numbers higher than 1. The place is clean but definitely showing signs of age. Sometimes the box springs in the bed were louder than the birds outside. It had a feeling of indoor camping. Hair dryer not supplied by the hotel – all you get are 2 dispensers in the shower for shampoo and body soap. The walls are thin and you can hear everyone else moving and knocking about in their rooms. The “breakfast basket” is okay but not breakfast. With so many good bakeries in town – see Wee Three Bakery – they could have used it as a nice way to advertise the local eateries.
The Ugly: Smokers. The rooms share a community balcony and the cigarette smoke seems to find its way directly into your window. On our second night some human chimneys checked into the room next to us and we were forced to close all the windows and run the air conditioner. Needless to say we felt cheated of being able to experience the river and fresh air – the only reason why one would stay there in the first place. The management only restricts smoking in the rooms but the shared balconies and picnic area overlooking the river seem to be the designated smoking areas. We left early since we were unable to open any windows and enjoy the clean fresh air without being inundated by everyone’s cigarette smoke. My advice is to stay away if you don’t smoke.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JoeSquid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2007

We were planning to spend a couple of nights at a Lodge in Sequoia Park but decided at the last minute to add an extra night along the way. I called and booked a night at the Buckeye Tree as a one night stopover and am I glad I did. What a great little secret this place is. Don't expect the Hilton, this is more like staying at your friends mountain cabin. A bit old but the room was clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly and we especially liked Henry their seventeen year old tabby mascot. My favorite moment was opening the front door to our room and looking out the window on the other side to see a wild river rushing by only a few yards away. The sound of the river echoed off the beautiful canyon walls located on the rivers far side. We went next door to the Gateway restaurant and had a nice dinner sitting on the riverside deck, what a view. The next morning we went three miles back to the small town of Three Rivers for breakfast at The Hummingbird Restaurant. This place has an omlet the size of a small VW, you won't leave hungry . The Buckeye is the only motel located directly on the river in this area. I don't know what I enjoyed more, laying in bed at night listening to the river crashing over the boulders as it raced down the canyon or sitting on the deck outside my room with my morning cup of coffee, watching horses and an old longhorn steer grazing on the hills across from our room. Oh well, they are both great memories. I'll be back Henry.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ragsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
15.0 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
644 reviews
10.1 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,429 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
311 reviews
19.3 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
535 reviews
21.3 mi away
Best Western Exeter Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckeye Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckeye Tree Lodge

Address: 46000 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Region: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range: £58 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buckeye Tree Lodge is located 1/4 mile from the entrance to Sequoia National Park in the Sierra Nevada Mountains. With all rooms set along the banks of the Kaweah River, the river views and sounds from each room and balcony are spectacular. The Buckeye's beautiful grounds include a pool, lawn and picnic area next to the River. All rooms have private bathroom, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, super quiet and powerful AC/Heat, free wifi internet and free local and long distance calling. The River House at Buckeye also features a 3 bedroom 2 bathroom rental house with stunning river and mountain views, two elevated decks over the river, a full living room with 60" flat screen, dining room and incredible kitchen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buckeye Tree Hotel Three Rivers
Buckeye Tree Three Rivers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing