We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great basic loding right next to Sequoia Nat'l Park”
Review of Buckeye Tree Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Three Rivers
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buckeye Tree Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wash. State
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great basic loding right next to Sequoia Nat'l Park”
Reviewed 16 September 2007

The other reviews explain pretty well. This room was basic. Two beds, table and chairs (a bit wobbly), tv, microwave, and fridge. On first look the chairs and floor are stained but feet remained clean after walking around barefoot or stocking feet for hours. The river out front of the room and the little grassy area are splendid and quiet. The pool was just fine and the resturant next door was average. Staff was very friendly at both places and helpful. The water heater on our building went out the first night and the hotel staff were very appolgetic about it and offered to move us or let us at least shower in another room. It was promptly fixed the next morning when Home Depot opened.

They offered a breakfast basket with a little fruit, muffins, and apple juice. This was nice since Three Rivers is actually 7 miles away. Sequoia is just a few curves up the road. The beds were fine and it was very quiet at night.

A basic room that was just right for two nights stay and a visit to Sequoia.

  • Liked — Right next to the park
  • Disliked — wobbly table and chairs
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NatlParkTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    163
    39
    15
    6
See reviews for
125
189
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2007

Stayed at the Buckeye Tree Lodge for 2 nights in August 2007 in order to see Sequoia National Park (Park entrance less than a mile from the lodge).
It's a small lodge on the outskirts of Three Rivers, just over the 'Pumpkin Hollow Bridge' across the Kaweah River.
The room was quite basic, but comfortable enough. It was on the ground floor with a door at the front to the parking area and road, and one at the back to a little terrace with table and chairs, and a lawn leading down to the big boulders of the Kaweah River. In August the river was shallow and quiet, apparently at other times of year, particularly in Spring, it is a raging torrent.
There's an outdoor pool at the Lodge, with pool towels available from the office.
There's a restaurant next door where I ate both nights. The food was okay - but the views of the river are great and there are hummingbirds on the feeders and birds and animals (we saw a bobcat) coming down to the river to drink.
The Buckeye Tree Lodge is not a luxurious place to stay - but it is ideally situated to visit Sequioa and is not without its charm. (Although the HUGE spider in the bathroom on the second night was less charming)

  • Liked — Its location
  • Disliked — quite basic
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2007

This was a good base location for a long weekend at Sequoia, about six miles past Three Rivers and only a minute from the park gates. Next door is the Gateway Restaurant, but you'll have to drive back into town in you want to visit the market or any other restaurant.

All the rooms overlook the river, and the scenery is splendid. I look forward to heading back in the spring when the river is much stronger. Although it doesn't overlook the river, the pool is refreshing after a long, hot drive up to Three Rivers. The patio and yard area overlooking the river was nice and relaxing--a great place to enjoy a glass of wine.

The rooms are very basic, and what you'd expect from a motel. Our room was clean, the A/C kept the room cool during the 100 degree weather, and they offered free phone service (a nice touch since cell reception was nil). My only complaint was the mattress had a visible dip and waking up with a back ache wasn't too great after spending the day hiking.

Finally, the staff was very nice and friendly. They were always pleasant to deal with, and offered good suggestions on things to do up in Sequoia.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bed
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bluejeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2007

I wasn't sure what to expect, however the staff were very welcoming, and the cabins had just been renovated - we stayed in the Hummingbird cabin, somewhat small but cozy. I loved sitting on the patio in the evening, a very relaxing atmosphere. I would recommend Buckeye to anyone planning on taking a trip to Sequoia.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — a little small, however Buckeye has a few cabins to choose from that are larger
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Vnbuckmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2007

Stayed here over Labor Day weekend 2006. Very close to park. As others reviewers have mentioned, the place could use a facelift, but it was very clean. The small refridgerator and microwave were a nice touch. Allowed us to eat breakfast on the patio looking at the river. Eventhough it was next to the road, Three Rivers is sleepy enough that the road noise wasn't really a problem. Window A/C unit cooled down the room quickly, and was able to shut if off while sleeping and open the windows. I would stay again without hesitation.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcoxpharmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2007

This charming little motel is located near the entrance to Sequoia National Park. All the rooms look out onto a lovely river and beautiful hills. Like other reviews have said, the rooms could do with some up-dating but they are spotlessly clean - the towels were the fluffiest ever!

The people running the place are very friendly and helpful and they also have a beautiful pool which was a bonus.

We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again, if ever in the area.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank mummabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2007

Almost on the doorstep of Sequoia National Park, I don;t think you can get a closer hotel without actually staying in the park itself. Stayed here 2 nights so we could have a whole day at the park.

Stayed on one of the ground floor rooms with patio door that led out onto a nice patio seating area. Amazing views of the river, very refreshing!

Room was nice with a fairly small bathroom. Microwave and TV in room with some drinks, cake and fruit provied for breakfast. Bed comfy and slept well.

Staff very friendly and new owners have taken onboard a group of friendly cats that wander around the grounds!

There is a restarant a very short walk away, but might be an idea to book in advance if it's busy.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
15.0 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
620 reviews
10.1 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,311 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
295 reviews
19.3 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
487 reviews
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckeye Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckeye Tree Lodge

Property: Buckeye Tree Lodge
Address: 46000 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Region: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buckeye Tree Lodge is located 1/4 mile from the entrance to Sequoia National Park in the Sierra Nevada Mountains. With all rooms set along the banks of the Kaweah River, the river views and sounds from each room and balcony are spectacular. The Buckeye's beautiful grounds include a pool, lawn and picnic area next to the River. All rooms have private bathroom, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, super quiet and powerful AC/Heat, free wifi internet and free local and long distance calling. The River House at Buckeye also features a 3 bedroom 2 bathroom rental house with stunning river and mountain views, two elevated decks over the river, a full living room with 60" flat screen, dining room and incredible kitchen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buckeye Tree Hotel Three Rivers
Buckeye Tree Three Rivers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing