We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what you see.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The room I stayed in was not clean and comfortable. Everything is dated, worn or broken. There were bugs...alive and dead, spider and web. The mattress is old and uncomfortable, two small pillows for a king bed, torn decorative pillow on the bed with stuffing coming out. Two old worn bath towels with frayed edges and no bath mat. There are large gaps under the door and around the wall air conditioner. The porch looks out to weeds and a gravel embankment. Unfortunately, it was a holiday weekend and everything was sold out. It was expensive for such poor quality.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank BlueysRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
There are newer reviews for Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Well located to Sequoia NP and a great place if you just want a place to sleep. Do not expect much, though it was clean. The place is an older motel, which they have made some upgrades. The bed is cheap hotel bed: if one person turns over, the other person feels it. The staff were kind to turn on the air conditioning prior to arrival. With single panel windows for the hotel room and 90+ degrees outside, it was necessary.

At the registration desk, they did have menus from the local restaurants along with Park information.

They do have a pool, though we did not use it, it looks like it is well maintained.

Breakfast was included, which was simple: waffles (expect a line to wait to make them), cereal, hard boiled eggs, muffins, coffee, and juice. Nothing outstanding, but did the trick. The breakfast room was small, so expect to wait for a table, sit outside, or bring it back to your room. My biggest complaint is they used all non-recycleable Styrofoam plates, bowls, and cups along with disposable plastic dinning utensils for breakfast. In an age that is sensitive to the environmental waste and an establishment supporting the National park, I would expect more environmentally conscience decisions.

With that the soap, shampoo, and conditioners offered in the rooms were organic. I would give them that! :-)

Room Tip: We had room 39, which was on the second floor at the end. It was excluded from the other rooms. Bath...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah999999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Looking for an Okay place to stay that is 6 miles to Sequoia Park. The place is older. Okay kept. Good price compared to those further away. Takes pets. Clean. We had two bedrooms, neither remote worked and not many channels. But, we weren't there to watch tv.Good air conditioner. Nice area to get out and walk. Area of a small park out front with cooking grills and tables. The pool and hot tub, however, were very dirty. I would not get in, when you can see dirt and mold around the edge and can't see through the water. The breakfast said buffet on line. No, it is coffee and Danish. So for a place to sleep, shower and go on, I would say yes. To stay a few days, no.

Room Tip: ask to see room and sit on beds first before taking a room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darmar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The busy holiday weekend was the only reason we stayed here as the other hotels were all booked. We would not stay here again. The first night we could only receive 2 channels on the old-style TV (TNT & CNN only!) My husband re-programmed it himself, resulting in only 11 mostly lame channels (still no ABC or NBC.) So do not believe their claim that they have cable TV when they don’t even offer all the major networks. The shower curtain was disgusting and the water temperature kept changing based on usage from other rooms. Getting scalded and then frozen is tortuous and completely unacceptable. The breakfast offerings were average but the coffee was horrible. For some reason, the bar soap and plastic cups were not replenished daily. The internet connection wasn’t the best but it was acceptable. On the positive side, the bed was comfortable, the room was spacious and fairly clean (but please clean off the cobwebs from the bathroom window so it is possible to see outside), and it had fridge & microwave & coffee pot (a broken one but was promptly replaced when I requested.) Three Rivers is further from the National Park than I thought, due to slow-going winding curvy roads. Definitely try to stay inside the park if at all possible (which it wasn’t for us.)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

"Our stay was" Excellent" still remember like it was yesterday newly weds". We have grown thru the years and continuing to move forward". Being up in the mountains and enclosed in our spacious room. Weather was perfect and the ambience". Swimming pool was great".

Room Tip: "Being up in the hills not everything is at your convenience". The basics food, rest rooms...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Genuine516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

PROS:
rooms were clean and nice size
pet friendly (15$ per night)
close to sequoia national park
TV has about 15 channels
laundry on site

CONS:
wifi didn't work at all
rooms look like they need renovation
receptionist had a bit of an attitude at times
water pressure in shower sucked (if you have long hair, it takes FOREVER to wash your hair)
window in bathroom looked like it had paint splattered on it on the outside

overall the room was good enough to sleep in, but if you need internet to do research, forget about it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kloup91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Why I don’t like this place:

1. The room phone does not work. I use my cell phone to call the office; three times but nobody answers.

2. Only 3 out of 5 lights work. I offer to replace the light bulb if they can give me some. They ignore my help.

3. Water leaks from the room above, they just come and clean the floor, no carpet cleaning, not even offer to switch the room for me.

4. The mattress was so OLD and LUMPY. It must be more than 20 years old.

5. The breakfast includes boiled eggs but they only bring out a dozen at a time for 20 guesses at least in the room. They are gone fast since each person takes 2 eggs. We have to wait for 15 minutes for another batch but we are not quick enough to get in line, eggs are gone again so we leave. I think they intentionally bring the eggs out slowly and a dozen egg at a time because I witness this every day I stay there.

6. We move to Comfort Inn, one mile closer to the park for the same room rate. I would recommend this hotel over WHL due to its cleanliness and hot breakfast served with plenty of eggs, sausages and bacons.

With all these negatives, I would highly commend the attitude and the service rendered by the lady who serves breakfast. She is very kind and works hard.

Room Tip: Western Holiday Lodge, 6 mile from the park, $74.99/night. There is a new Comfort Inn, 5 miles from...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vnhacbao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
0.5 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
3.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
307 reviews
14.7 mi away
Best Western Exeter Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
629 reviews
21.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 14 in Visalia
208 reviews
16.5 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers

Address: 40105 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Region: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range: £58 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers Hotel Three Rivers
Western Holiday Lodge 3 Rivers
Western Holiday Three Rivers
Western Holiday Hotel Three Rivers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing