We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful natural wonder”
Review of Luray Caverns

Luray Caverns
Ranked #1 of 30 things to do in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The largest cave in the Eastern U.S. where visitors can see such bizarre formations like the "Throne Room", "Giant's Hall", and "Fried Eggs".
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Beautiful natural wonder”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My family and I visited the caverns during the 4th of July weekend. The caverns were beautiful but it was so packed you could barely move. People would be walking and then stop to take pictures and people behind you would bump into you. I started walking fast to get out. The caverns were beautiful and I would have enjoyed them more with smaller crowds. I won't go during a holiday. I would recommend Luray Caverns just don't during the holidays.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank tch912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,040
    1,022
    239
    60
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good, But so rushed”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We were looking forward to this cavern, as the brochure made it look impressive. It is difficult to know where to start. I suppose I should say that this was a very impressive cavern, potentially one of the best. However, having visited many caverns, we both came out feeling rushed, and sure we missed things because of the rushing. We came out thinking we were not welcome, but tolerated. We saw many things, and what we saw was good, but we were unable to enjoy them before we were moved on. I appreciate that the caverns are a business and they want t6o get as many people through as possible, but think about the paying customer. I am sure another five or ten minutes on the tour wouldn't bankrupt the place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pictureseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Box Elder, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Beautiful Well-Lighted Formations - Large Crowds”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We visited these caverns late on a Saturday afternoon. Fortunately there were no long lines when we arrived, but there were still many people who crowded into the caverns. The groups go through in spurts with a guide at each point of interest to shout some interesting facts. Most of the walkways are brick and smooth. The formations are magnificent and beautifully lighted. We felt that our visit was worth the admission fee and are glad we visited Luray Caverns, but our trip to nearby Endless Caverns the next morning was much more personal, less expensive, had a smaller group, a full-time knowledgeable guide, more challenging walkways and stairs but to my wife and me was just as interesting.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lewis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cool Experience”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I was on a bus tour that took us here. I did not know anything about the place beforehand.
It is a very commercial enterprise, and yet, the experience of being in a mile-long cavern was really interesting. There are 67 steps going down so be aware that the steps can be an issue for us old folks. I am tall and had to watch out not to hit my head a few times in the caverns.
Other than that, it was very worthwhile and I would recommend it highly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank fszedlmayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Family fun”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Took my two kids here over the weekend. They had a blast. They enjoy going Thur the cave and taken pictures. They also enjoyed looking at the toys cars and going to the other buildings
I just wish the maze and rope ladder thing was included in the price.

Helpful?
Thank tanchick84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Luray Caverns also viewed

 
Shenandoah Caverns, VA
Shenandoah National Park, VA
 

Been to Luray Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing