We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to worry”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Luray Caverns Motel East
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Our golf group of 8 stayed here. The poor reviews way outnumbered the good. I am very picky and have to say the room was very nice. There is new management and there is evidence they are making great progress in turning their reputation around. The room was clean with new carpeting and big fully towels. I said I was picky so here are my minor complaints: The faucet in the sink area was new, but in the shower was quite dated. Maybe chrome polish and elbow grease would correct without replacement. They have a new ice maching in common area, however, the old nasty one remains. Should be removed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. For golfers: The course was very open, greens fast and in great condition. The course also has new management. Only complaint on this course is the bunkers, which they are correcting one by one. Also very friendly staff. It has good drainage, as we played in quite a downpour and could still drive on the course.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for Luray Caverns Motel East
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2012

This Motel was inexpensive. It was very clean and to our surprise so Quiet!! Every year for our anniversary we go South. This year we picked Virginia and found Luray Caverns Motel East. We were able to sleep soundly unlike some of the other places we stayed in the past. It is such a pleasure to have all the comforts of home as well as nice people to deal with upon your arrival and departure. The view from our room was just breathtaking to wake up to in the morning!!! We highly recomend this Motel to everyone and lpan on returning in the near future!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I went on a weekend getaway to Luray Caverns. We stayed at Luray Caverns Motel East. We were very pleased with the motel!! The room was very nice. Very very clean. The motel staff was very friendly and very accommodating. I would recommend staying here!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This was a really interesting place to stay. Yes, you walk into part of the bathroom but the room and bathroom were clean. the towels were fine. The bed was comfortable and the view was great. Yes there was fog so in the morning you could not see the mountains but it was quiet and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Washington_DCGrace97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Our group of golfers again decended upon Luray Caverns, Motel East for our annual golf marathon weekend. As stated in last year's review, this is nothing more than a place to lay your head after 36 holes of golf has completely wore you down. Our room # 37 smelled horrible when we opened the door. We turned the air conditioner on full blast and that seemed to dehumidify the room and made it liveable. The bathroom was extremely small and the wallpaper was peeling in several spots. The towels for the shower were not much bigger than a hand towel and very thread bare, I mean really bad.
The staff was very nice though as usual. They are the best part of the place.

This place again served the purpose of a place to crash after a long day on the links but I would not reccommend as a vacation spot with family or enemies for that matter.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluewatergolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I can honestly say this is one of the worst hotels I have stayed in. The place smells awful. I was fooled by some nice reviews - don't make the same mistake. If we had not been so tired from driving we would have checked out immediately. The place is dark and you walk into part of the bathroom when you open the door. The scenery off the back balcony was nice - but the balcony was covered in some black goo. I didn't even think about sitting in those chairs. The coffee maker was broken also.I mentioned this to the women at checkout and she said there is nothing she can do about any complaints. The Luray Caverns are worth seeing - but get back on the road and keep driving.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ferntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

we had the large cabin with the king bed and we loved it it was nice and very private ! staff was extremly nice ! the other cabins were very cute as well would be a perfect spot to stop for a couple or with kids !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yokel318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.5 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
993 reviews
3.1 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
1.9 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
0.6 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
49 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luray Caverns Motel East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luray Caverns Motel East

Address: 831 W Main St, Luray, VA 22835-1032
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Price Range: £54 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Luray Caverns Motel East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luray Caverns Motel East Hotel Luray
Luray Caverns Hotel East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing