We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to kayak, float or canoe”

Shenandoah River Outfitters, Inc.
Ranked #6 of 12 Outdoor Activities in Luray
Attraction details
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great place to kayak, float or canoe”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We went out last Saturday with a group of friends and did the trip between # 11 and #19. The river moves nicely and there are a few fun rapids and some great sightseeing. We saw cranes,eagles, turtles and deer. The water was 78 degrees and really comfortable. You can do the trip in 4 hours but take your time and float a bit and watch the scenery and you will enjoy it more. Take a waterproof watch so you can estimate when you need to get to the take-out location. Bring dry clothes to change into when you get back.
The Shenandoah River Outfitters had a wonderful crew. Easy to get your life jackets, paddles, map of the river and watch their safety video. It was delightful.
Next time, we may stay the weekend and spend the next day at Luray Caverns, in one of the nearby wineries or in the Shenandoah National Park. There are lots of opportunities.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gailmarie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    24
    4
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
119 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great time on canoe trip!”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My family rented 3 canoes on a mixed flat and moving water trip on the Shenandoah River. The clerk was very patient in explaining the differences in the trips and in helping our group to select one which which meet out needs. The driver provided instructions while we were driven by bus to the launch point. I appreciated the driver taking the time to demonstrate what to do if the canoe capsized and how to right it. We had a very enjoyable day. The river was clean and clear. We saw turtles,deer and a pair of golden eagles. We took the opportunity to take a break from canoeing and go for a swim. We appreciated the driver's advice when we came to the rough water as my son capsized by was able to use the training to right the canoe. I would suggest additional mile signs to let participants know where they are on the river. I really didn't notice any until we were close to the finish. I would also recommend giving attention to the restroom where the bus picks the participants up to return to their cars.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kiamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun on the Shenandoah River”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We went tubing down the river. $22 tube rental per person and $6 for a cooler tube. The service was friendly and helpful. We gathered at the office and then boarded busses to our different launch points. The river was beautiful and the scenery was fantastic. The water was clear and the rapids were fun. Would definitely do again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“tubing down the river”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Great Trip. The check in was fast, the bus ride to the drop off point was fun, staff were friendly and happy. The river was clean and clear, the ride was relaxing and the rapids were great fun! would recommend this for sure!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tjred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
864 reviews
241 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“A beautiful way to see this BEAUTIFUL river!”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have always loved being in the Shenandoah valley and seeing the river and decided to trying kayaking on it recently. We were fortunate to get GREAT weather day, not too hot nor cold. The water level was perfect to not get stuck on rocks or anything. Water temp was also very nice for getting in.

The Shenandoah River Outfitters staff were GREAT too! Very hospitable and answered questions we called about prior to getting there, as well as being very informative while checking in. The process to check-in and pay went VERY smooth and is efficient and quick. Just a 10min video of what to do/not to do on the water and you're all set!

The 3 kayaks we got were very well-maintained and we enjoyed our 8 mile journey on the river.

They offer decent, clean facilities at their place to use, clean yourself up, etc. They also sell any accessories you might need (and for a good price), like water shoes.

Take advantage of their mid-week special of $30 per kayak... it's a GREAT deal! Just be there by 11AM to get in on it!

We took a 13 y/o with us and he had no problems with navigating the water. This was his first trip and he did quite well.

We look forward to doing it again - SOON!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shenandoah River Outfitters, Inc. also viewed

 

Been to Shenandoah River Outfitters, Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing