We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful!”

Shenandoah River Outfitters, Inc.
Ranked #6 of 12 Outdoor Activities in Luray
Attraction details
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Peaceful!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We took a canoe trip on the flat river section of the Shenandoah and it was beautiful and peaceful. The water was high so no problems hitting bottom. The reflection in the water of the puffy white clouds and green mountains was breathtaking. The water was clear and refreshing! The people who ran the show were very nice and even though there were alot of people trying to get going, they were patient and helpful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherry4boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    24
    4
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL!”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Our group of 21 (adults and teens) did an 8-mile stretch of this river. Lots of fun. Stopped 1/2 way for our bag lunch. Few rapids on our day, with only one tricky spot: Compton's Corner (?). Only a few of us went in, but water was warm so it didn't matter.

Important Notes: Be sure to watch the video BEFORE you go out. Important tips on Kayak control and safely. Rental counter will hold all keys in a bag--great feature. Take a bag lunch and stop before you hit the rapids or you will end up with wet lunch. Look for a rope swing along the left side before the Compton's rapids. Small beach on right side after Compton's has port-a-johns in the woods. Bring dry clothes to wear home.

A bit on the pricey side: just under $100 for my group of 3.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenzi67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great place to kayak, float or canoe”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We went out last Saturday with a group of friends and did the trip between # 11 and #19. The river moves nicely and there are a few fun rapids and some great sightseeing. We saw cranes,eagles, turtles and deer. The water was 78 degrees and really comfortable. You can do the trip in 4 hours but take your time and float a bit and watch the scenery and you will enjoy it more. Take a waterproof watch so you can estimate when you need to get to the take-out location. Bring dry clothes to change into when you get back.
The Shenandoah River Outfitters had a wonderful crew. Easy to get your life jackets, paddles, map of the river and watch their safety video. It was delightful.
Next time, we may stay the weekend and spend the next day at Luray Caverns, in one of the nearby wineries or in the Shenandoah National Park. There are lots of opportunities.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gailmarie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
119 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great time on canoe trip!”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My family rented 3 canoes on a mixed flat and moving water trip on the Shenandoah River. The clerk was very patient in explaining the differences in the trips and in helping our group to select one which which meet out needs. The driver provided instructions while we were driven by bus to the launch point. I appreciated the driver taking the time to demonstrate what to do if the canoe capsized and how to right it. We had a very enjoyable day. The river was clean and clear. We saw turtles,deer and a pair of golden eagles. We took the opportunity to take a break from canoeing and go for a swim. We appreciated the driver's advice when we came to the rough water as my son capsized by was able to use the training to right the canoe. I would suggest additional mile signs to let participants know where they are on the river. I really didn't notice any until we were close to the finish. I would also recommend giving attention to the restroom where the bus picks the participants up to return to their cars.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kiamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun on the Shenandoah River”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We went tubing down the river. $22 tube rental per person and $6 for a cooler tube. The service was friendly and helpful. We gathered at the office and then boarded busses to our different launch points. The river was beautiful and the scenery was fantastic. The water was clear and the rapids were fun. Would definitely do again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shenandoah River Outfitters, Inc. also viewed

 

Been to Shenandoah River Outfitters, Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing