We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Hotel Charm”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Luray Caverns Motel West
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Old Hotel Charm”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The location was great for biking in the GW National Forest to Camp Roosevelt and back, and the rooms were reminiscent of yesteryear. While some might fault the amenities as not being up to that of chain hotels in urban areas, the property had a nice pool, kitchen, sunroom/dining area, a quiet room and nice views of the mountains.

Since our Pomeranian is well behaved, they allowed us to bring our dog, wihich was great.

We really enjoyed our stay, and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The suite in the middle used to be the office and manager's residence. It did not cost that much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BruceMoosedotCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    5
    7
    5
    10
See reviews for
8
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I'll make my review simple:

Pros: very close to the Caverns, clean, good price, quiet and nice views of the mountains, close to Walmart if you needed something like I did, as my son got a little sick (not from the motel, ha ha), WiFi worked ok, beds comfortable, employees were nice.

Cons: the pool at the West location was dirty, no extras (like a fridge or microwave), a little old-fashioned but that maybe ok for you, the WiFi did go out for a short time, the room smelled a little musty and the West location is not near the office, meaning you have to drive to get to the check-in desk.

I would probably go back. If you're looking for just a basic, inexpensive room to sleep, chill out, watch TV, and shower, this is for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I see the mixed reviews of this place and probably fall somewhere in the middle. This hotel is definitely dated and/or 'Vintage' if you like. If you're looking for posh, plush and spotless, keep driving, but if you're looking for a place with a beautiful view of the Blue Ridge Mountains and is extremely close to the Caverns, this might be your bag. Cindy, from the front office, is a sweetheart and is full of suggestions for eateries around the area. She also looked out for us with regards to making sure we didn't shack up next to a large group of firefighters. It was really more her recommendation, as I can't imagine they'd make a ruckus and if anything I'd feel safer if a fire broke out, but... whatever. That aside, there is free wifi...I didn't seem to have a problem with it as other people apparently have, but...maybe it had something to do with proximity. The one notable issue I did have with the place which made this feel a bit more National Lampoons Vacation was the shower head. I'm unsure if this is just how they used to be or what, but the nozzleheadesque thing that sprayed a rough stream of water, made it feel a bit more like what I'd imagine water torture to be like. I had to throw a wash cloth over the top of it to lessen the blow. I can laugh about it now, but I think i may have sustained bruises.

If and when we make it back that way, we might like to try Motel East. Same hotel group, different feel...old colonial housing verses brick and mortar apparently.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

If you want a 5-star, drive to DC. This place is a step back into time. Small rooms, tile bath, antique furniture and small beds. However, it is updated beautifully, super clean and you cannot beat the views. My husband and I have traveled the world, Marriott Skymiles, Delta Skymiles, Hilton.. and so on. This was a nice change of pace. We will always stay at Luray Caverns Motel West when visiting the area.

Room Tip: Ask for Rm 114 in West Motel. Super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PKM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Rooms were old, outdated, smelled musty. 1st room I checked into air conditioner was broken, they moved us to another room....2nd room had spiderwebs with spiders in them and hairs on bathroom sink and bed sheets! Gross! And free wifi? It was out of order this night! Location great and staff friendly but that's it! Best western had a room for $10 more! Wish we had been there!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meiljack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Luray hotels

Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This is a wonderful place to kick back. The motel is quite old but well maintained and "patched" in a very quaint way. The rooms and grounds were very clean, the staff very helpful and courteous. The view was wonderful and the picnic tables and available charcoal grill an added nice touch. We enjoyed the pool every day and the proximity to all the cavern attractions and downtown Luray made it a wonderful experience all together. Would love to come back and take advantage of one of the stand alone cabins next time.

Room Tip: Many room options to choose from including stand alone cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank zidekfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

After going on this site I was very skeptical about staying here. The room was already booked and no research was done on it before hand so I just winged it. I am glad I just went anyway. The rooms were very clean. The bathroom, very clean. The beds clean and comfortable. I def will go back here. The view was breath taking and it was very quiet. We couldn't hear the neighbors, and my son got to see things that we would have never seen had we listened to the negative reviews I had read beforehand. Please go and make your own opinion before listening to others. You will not regret the stay and we are even planning to go in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Happytravler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
1.1 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
935 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Intown Luray
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
130 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
30 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luray Caverns Motel West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luray Caverns Motel West

Property: Luray Caverns Motel West
Address: 1001 Highway 211 East, PO Box 748, Luray, VA 22835
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Luray Caverns Motel West Hotel Luray
Luray Caverns Hotel West
Luray Caverns Motel East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing