We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to get away.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Luray
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

There were many activities planned for our stay. The activity directors were organized, friendly and helpful. I was disappointed that the wi- fi didn't work at our cabins. The bath houses were closed for periodic cleaning. By the evenings another cleaning was needed.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sml44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JellystoneM, Public Relations Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Luray, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our camp-resort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the activities to be fun and well organized. We are currently working on expanding our WiFi coverage throughout the park, and improving our cleaning procedures for our bath houses. We hope to see you again soon, and please "like" us on Facebook for updates and specials.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

849 - 855 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed in a cabin and were very comfortable. Our children and granddaughter were in their camper. The only complaints we heard were the "leveling" problems on almost every site, and having to pay extra for firewood.

Room Tip: This was a camp site, not a motel. Quiet enforced from 11 pm to 7 am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sunshine29464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JellystoneM, Public Relations Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Luray, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our camp-resort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our cabins. We are constantly upgrading areas of the park, including leveling out sites to make them more comfortable, thank you for your patience with us on that. We hope to see you again soon, and please make sure to "like" us on Facebook for updates and specials.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

It's a great location. We stayed there twice, and it's a nice campground. The only problem is that bathrooms are not clean, and you have to take your trash to dumpster. Where at other campsites it gets picked up. Also the kiddy pool has concrete not foam like most of the kiddie pools. My son fell and scraped his back pretty bad. What's nice is the big meadow in the middle of the campground. Overall will not go back cos we stayed there twice already but if you haven't visited the caverns yet it's a nice campground to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Anyarubiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JellystoneM, Public Relations Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Luray, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our camp-resort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays at our campground, but are sad to hear you won't be returning to the area. We would like you to know that trash pick-up is included in the 2015 season, and we hope you will be able to make a visit back to see the new improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have been visiting another Jellystone for a few years, but this was our first time at Camp Luray. Our kids (ages 4, 7 & 10) had a BLAST! The pools and "sprayground" were their favorites. Hubs' favorite was the fishing pond (surprisingly full of bass, catfish, & other fishies). We stayed in a Deluxe Tent Site which comes with a wooden pavillion with water & electric attached. HOW CONVENIENT!!! The spot for our tent was nice & flat, hardly any rocks, and backed up to the woods. Lots of walking to the attractions - but, what would camping be without a little "hiking" too? ;-)

PROS: Staff was SUPER friendly! Ranger John made us feel like we'd been coming there for years. SO much to do, we didn't even have time for any of the crafts, games. The pools were AWESOME! The pool with the umbrella goes from 2 1/2 feet to 4 feet deep - PERFECT for all three of my kids & their different swimming abilities. Did I mention there was a fishing pond? AND pedal boats? AND mini-golf? AND a playground? AND laser tag? AND ga-ga ball? AND jumping pillows? AND HUGE open field? AND horseshoes, basketball, volleyball...... AND these are all included!!! The store was fully stocked with everything you might need (including beer!) and the prices were reasonable.

CONS: (and these are just a few nit-picky things - Ranger John said to tell what could be improved, so we are...) Trash pick-up would have been nice. At other Jellystones, you just put your trash out at the edge of your site & a ranger drives around periodically during the day & picks it up & takes it to the dumpster. At Luray, we had to walk our garbage down to the dumpsters ourselves. Also, the pools do not have lifeguards. Not usually a big deal since we WATCH our children when we are at a pool - but when there are three kids going in three different directions, it would be a comfort to know someone trained was also keeping an eye on them. And the last "con" would be the bath-houses. NO, they were NOT dirty. But, after visiting other Jellystones, it's hard to not compare the standard Luray bathhouses to the *newer* private-ish-bathhouse-trailer-setup that Hagerstown has.

As far as complaints that I've read in other "reviews" - the only flies that we saw were near food. Um... hello... you're OUTSIDE... that's gonna happen, people. And as for the pools, yes, they were a bit chilly - but on those 85-90 degree days, that was refreshing! And yes, they were clean - no scum to be found (we were looking...).

So, there you have it... we LOVED Jellystone Luray & are already planning multiple trips for the future. We will be introducing more friends & family to Camp Luray (maybe as soon as the fall!?!?!) & can't wait to come back! Our kids almost had us talked into extending our trip... they did not want to leave! :-D

Room Tip: Make sure you realize which sites & cabins face the west. All of the cabins surrounding the ope...
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank JamieBeth_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JellystoneM, Public Relations Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Luray, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our camp-resort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your first time at our campground and that your kids had a blast! Ranger John will be so glad to hear that he left an impression on your stay. We would like you to know that trash pick-up is going to be included in the 2015 season. We will take into consideration what you said about having lifeguards at the pool, as safety is always a priority for us. We hope to see you again soon, and please make sure to "like" us on Facebook for updates and specials.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

This is a real fun place for sure. Lots to do and all included in the steep price. Our site was nice enough. They have a good area for popups which we liked. Tough being lumped in with rv's and need a little more than tent sites. They were close together though. The facilities were clean and functional. Many amenities closed by 8, too early for a pool and slide to close in summer time. The one thing I'd warn against would be the weekend clientele. We've traveled all over the US and when Saturday hit at yogis we ran into some real winners for patrons. This is not the fault of the resort, just a product of location and the type of place it is and the people it can attract. Just an FYI.
As for any reports of flies, sure we saw flies a few times when food was out (it's the woods) but when the food was gone, so were the flies. Not an issue.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank HappyNEEBinNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JellystoneM, Public Relations Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Luray, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our camp-resort. We are happy to hear that you think our campground is fun and the facilities are clean. We currently limit pool hours for safety and cleaning purposes. We may consider extended hours in the future on a limited basis. We are sorry that the weekend clientele wasn't to your liking. We hope to see you again soon, and please make sure to "like" us on Facebook for updates and specials.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

As always, we had a very enjoyable stay in Luray! Our family has been coming to Jellystone in Luray for several years. We love it here!

I would like to make one comment/request though...PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE make a path to the bathhouse. It was very difficult to get over there "when nature called" due to no path or marked cut through! We do not cut through other families camp sites, we find that incredibly rude. It would be wonderful for you guys to make a mid-way path through to the restroom. We stayed right in the middle of the row, in the middle of the W/E/S section on Cindy Bear Lane from 7/24-7/28. Either way you decide to go is equal distance to the bathhouse. So I ask that you take this into consideration and make a clearly marked, mid-way, lighted cut through to make this a much more enjoyable stay for all. Thank you so much. The Roby Family

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Erica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JellystoneM, Public Relations Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Luray, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2014

Erica, thank you for taking the time to review our camp-resort. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay and thank you for your continued patronage to our campground. Unfortunately, with the sites that are in the middle of a row, we cannot build extra pathways without disturbing surrounding campsites. We understand your frustration regarding this issue, and thank you for bringing it to our attention. We hope to see you again soon, and please "like" us on Facebook for updates and specials.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The camp nice, however; extremely overpriced for what it really is. I stayed at a red carpet campsite, and yes, they are nicer than the regular ones, but are way too small, and close to eachother. Also, I believe that since they have such a high price, they should have trash pick up and cleaner pool areas. The public restroom and laundry area was absolutely disgusting every single time I went in, and the pools were terrible super cold water and dirty. Staff are not very nice either. Hard to work with.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fppand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JellystoneM, Public Relations Manager at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Luray, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our camp-resort. We are happy you think the campground is nice. We are sorry you felt cramped in our red carpet campsite, and we do have trash pickup available. We have undergone extensive training this season on pool cleaning and hope to continuously keep it up to great standards. We will review our cleaning procedures after seeing your comments about the bath houses and laundry area. We are sorry we let you down, and we hope we will have you back again and get a second chance to impress you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
4.1 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,004 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
4.0 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
136 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
15.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Luray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort Luray

Address: 2250 US Hwy 211 East, Luray, VA
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Luray
Price Range: £28 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-friendly private campground close to Shenandoah National Park and Luray Caverns. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yogi Bear Jellystone Park Hotel Luray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing