We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican for the Middle of Nowhere”
Review of Rancho Viejo

Rancho Viejo
Ranked #13 of 39 Restaurants in Luray
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Alexandria, VA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Mexican for the Middle of Nowhere”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere is not as bad as some previous reviews suggest and the food is good. I ordered a white cheese and chorizo dip as an appetizer which was excellent and followed that with some steak soft tacos which were very good and well seasoned. The rest of the family enjoyed their food, but everybody had a hard time eating the huge portions. The service was fine, although we got the lady who is hard of hearing which made communication a little difficult, but everything came out as it was ordered, and very quickly. I was surprised. Rancho Viejo is definitely a place I would go back to and should be fine for anybody that enjoys Mexican food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MtVernonMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    69
    36
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Stopped there after hiking, and it was worth the stop. The food was excellent the white sauce that comes with the chips is unreal and you will want to order more then one. Great value and fast service!! This was Mexican done right!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tasha9914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food in VA”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Best Mexican food we've had in VA, and we will return again. Also, the margaritas are "generous" to say the least. Extremely friendly staff make it a warm and inviting place to dine.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DCskippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sewell, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good value, good food.”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stopped into this place within the past year traveling through Luray at the Caverns. Place was fairly busy but was seated right away and service was good. Appears to be an old converted McDonalds but has been updated inside looks pretty good and clean. Chips and Salsa were very good and the queso was excellent. I had Fajitas and it was enough for two people i was completely full and could not finish it all, very tasty. My wifes dish was very good as well. Neither of us had room for dessert. Prices ave very reasonable and they give you a lot to eat. I would definitely go back was some of the better Mexican food that we've had.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We came here because my friend wanted some guacamole and we weren't disappointed. The guacamole was fresh and best of all, it was free. The salsa was also really good and free as well. The food was decent for the price, we ordered the beef/chickent/shrimp fajitas for 2 people, and costs us only $15.99.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank elainequang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rancho Viejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing