We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, no frills country dining”

Brookside Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 38 Restaurants in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations
washington, DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint, no frills country dining”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Have dined here 5 times over the last 10 years and it is the same on each visit. A typical quaint country diner, good food, decent price and friendly service. Having said that, there are drawbacks inherent to this type of place. Mainly, limitations on service when demand is high. Everyone wants to eat at a country mountain diner so it can be very busy during tourist season. Go off peak times is your best bet because they have some neat little cabins which I have not stayed in but look nice from the outside.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    100
    34
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blandon, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
173 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not the best dinner we've ever had”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The chicken fingers seemed to be thawed and cooked, as I expected. The soup seemed to have way too much Worcestershire sauce. We were told the pies were baked fresh on premises, but both were still frozen when they arrived at our table (apple and peanut butter). The plates were warm. I would not be in a hurry to return, as there are other, better restaurants in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leetl319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
food-funva, Owner at Brookside Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
I'm sorry our guest seemed disappointed in certain aspects of their dinner. To clarify, yes, we do use a frozen chicken tender product - as do virtually all restaurants - but they are a hugely popular item for those who order them. As with any food item, personal tastes differ from one to the other and I'm sorry the seasoning of the soup was not to their liking. On the subject of our pies, peanut butter pie is our house specialty and is made to be a frozen (cold) product so it isn't gooey and soft. The apple pie may have been cold due to storing, but is not frozen; and both pies are made here at Brookside. The warm dessert plates are a result of the huge volume of business during October weekends, with insufficient cooling time for the constant washing and quick reuse of plates. It is an unfortunate but sometimes unavoidable factor of serving many visitors in a short period of time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Plata, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great home cooking!”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Our large group had a great experience at Brookside. We ate here for dinner and liked it so much... we went back for breakfast! I am typically not a buffet person but I was pleasantly surprised with the taste and quality of the food. Some of my favorites: stuffed peppers, fried chicken, sausage gravy/biscuits, perfectly cooked bacon and a great salad bar.
Clean restaurant with great food & service!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Tobacco, Maryland
1 review
“Great food & excellent service”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

What a great restaurant that we happened to stumble upon and thank goodness we did. We had a group of 22 people that were pretty hungry and not sure where we were going to be able to find somewhere to accomodate us. They had no hesitation when I asked if they were able to wait on us right away. Most of us ordered the hot buffet. It was a very nice assortment. I really loved the stuffed peppers! I heard others also speak very highly of the fried chicken. There was a good variety of cakes and pies as well. Tammy, our server, was amazing. We were so pleasantly pleased that we went back for breakfast the next day...for several reasons, they were able to accomodate our large group, fast service, very friendly staff and great food. This is an annual trip for our group, so we have agreed that will be go back next year for sure. A great find!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth City, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
145 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Quick stop Had the buffet best items was probably the salad great choices. Fried chicken was very moist & tasty. chichen pot pie was some of the best

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Brookside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing