We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but a little expensive for what you get”

Brookside Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 43 Restaurants in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped her while on vacation for lunch. Maybe we were charged dinner prices? Our family enjoyed the food, especially the chips..they were yummy! The kids meals & burgers are reasonably priced for what you get, but some of the food is expensive. I got a ham & cheese crossiant with fries, for $6.95 I expected it to be bigger or maybe more fries. My hubby got the Steakburger for $8.95. A 5oz. hamburger plate is pretty much the same thing except its 1 ounce smaller and on a regular bun versus texas toast....for $4 more we would've expected more. We should have all just gotten simple burgers.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
food-funva, Owner at Brookside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Susan, I'm glad you enjoyed the food and sorry that you found it expensive. We feel our prices are very reasonable especially when you make a comparison to prepackaged fast food offerings. We have not had any major price increases for a long time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice little place for a quaint breakfast, lunch or dinner! They have choice of menu or buffet at affordable prices! We enjoy this special treat!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Grami-TT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
food-funva, Owner at Brookside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for taking time to share your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The chili and mashed potatoes were great; tasty pie was made inhouse, prices reasonable, service fine, beer selection ho-hum but really sad to see the two peacocks, only one thing to climb on and a small house for such big birds. They need to get out and be able to fly and walk about, and peck, and go down to the stream. Having grown up around peacocks, this broke our hearts.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank anxious2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
food-funva, Owner at Brookside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Having peacocks in and around a residential property is substantially different than at a commercial location. Our birds have an ample 30 foot diameter 20 foot high enclosure with a small house to provide some seclusion from visitors. If loose, they would be destructive to autos and at risk from predators as well as the overactive, under supervised children.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

This restaurant offers a buffet or from the menu. Everything is fresh, ample portions, friendly service, reasonable prices. We went on a Thursday evening and had a fairly full dining room. Check the hours, they open Thursday but not sure what day they close.

Thank noreen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
food-funva, Owner at Brookside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Thanks so much for your comments. We're glad you found us. Until mid-June we are serving Thursday & Friday, Noon - 8 pm; Sat & Sun, 9 am - 8 pm; PLUS Monday Memorial Day, 9 am - 6 pm. Check our website and Facebook for extended Summer hours starting soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

Breakfast all day, what's not to love? Buckwheat pancakes? Oh yes. and the biscuits were divine. Hot coffee in huge cups and the waitress was very funny and accommodating. Reasonable prices and delicious food.

Thank PS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
food-funva, Owner at Brookside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

We're thrilled you enjoyed your breakfast and time with us. Breakfast is never just for mornings: sleeping late is just too important.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Brookside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing